Customer Reviews


858 Reviews
5 star:
 (470)
4 star:
 (260)
3 star:
 (75)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
I tend to buy books by authors I know and trust to deliver a good read. I knew absolutely nothing about this author, but the book was free, the genre one I enjoy so what did I have to lose?
I'm very glad I did. The style owes much to Stuart Macbride whose quirky humour is always fun to read. It was always going to be difficult to write a detective novel on Rebus...
Published on 10 Sept. 2012 by Mrs Jacqueline M Dubery

versus
136 of 142 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate opening chapter
I see that all the one star reviews are complaining about the opening chapter. I must admit that I initially decided not to get this book after reading the opening in the "Look Inside" feature.

Still, as it was free, and had a number of positive reviews, I decided to take a chance. In fact the opening chapter feels completely out of step with the rest of the...
Published on 1 Aug. 2012 by EGR


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
Mrs Jacqueline M Dubery "Jay" (Leicester, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I tend to buy books by authors I know and trust to deliver a good read. I knew absolutely nothing about this author, but the book was free, the genre one I enjoy so what did I have to lose?
I'm very glad I did. The style owes much to Stuart Macbride whose quirky humour is always fun to read. It was always going to be difficult to write a detective novel on Rebus patch, but James Oswald has managed to bring a different view of Edinburgh to the reader through his Inspector Mclean creation. The main character is beautifully crafted. In fact characterisation throughout is excellent, and the many stranded plot is skillfully weaved together to a climax that delivers the goods. I did not find the opening gory, a little graphic perhaps but it did the job of pulling the reader in, and tied in perfectly with the plot climax.
Overall the book was thoroughly enjoyable, and of a standard that sent me looking for more from this author. I was therefore very surprised to discover that James Oswald was unpublished. I'm glad he had the faith in his writing to publish himself, and did not lose heart. I enjoyed this enough to look for other novels by this author, and be prepared to pay for them. This was a very good read. I look forward to the next Inspector Mclean story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 142 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate opening chapter, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
EGR "EGR" (Kefalonia, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I see that all the one star reviews are complaining about the opening chapter. I must admit that I initially decided not to get this book after reading the opening in the "Look Inside" feature.

Still, as it was free, and had a number of positive reviews, I decided to take a chance. In fact the opening chapter feels completely out of step with the rest of the book, which is a fairly decent detective novel. Some reviewers have complained of supernatural elements in the story, but they are written subtly enough that you can choose to treat them as real or imaginary, as suits. (John Locke does a similar thing in some of his excellent Donovan Creed and Emmett Love stories - although that's not to imply that James Oswald is in a class with John Locke!).

So, a decent read, which would have been better with a less graphic opening. Good enough that I'm going to take a chance and pay for the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written crime thriller, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended to me and as it was free I downloaded it. The opening is shocking. There's no getting away from that. Was it a ploy to draw the reader in? I don't know. What I do know is this is a well written crime novel and no more gory than other crime novels I've read.

I like James Oswalds style, it's fast paced and easy to read which keeps the plot moving along nicely. I never felt bogged down with unnecessary padding.

Inspector Mclean is an interesting and complex character and his collegues are well rounded and believable.

I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series and hope that Mr Oswald will give Inspector Mclean many more cases to solve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and well written, 15 Mar. 2012
Natural causes starts off with a shocking scene which grabs your attention. The story then develops into a most enjoyable crime novel, with a hint of horror/fantasy. The characters are interesting and the main character likeable. The story is set in Edinburgh with lots of wee references to the city. I for one am very much looking forward to the next in this series. I would certainly recommend this book - I was gripped from the beginning and couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 26 May 2012
By 
M. King (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can understand the author selling this for free to get his name out there but still can't overcome the nagging feeling that I've cheated somebody out of some well earned wages in getting this great book for nothing.

Basically its a very good Edinburgh based crime story with some very overt supernatural strings in the background.

The chief protagonist Inspector McLean is a well drawn and likeable character who feels like a real person and does pretty much what you'd expect a real person to do in his circumstances. No stupid or illogical acts here just to drive the plot along.

There are hints to a significant back-story of which I'm sure we'll hear more in future books -- and James can charge for those if they are anywhere near as good as this one.

The nearest thing I can compare this to tonally, at a stretch , is the John Connolly "Charlie Parker" stories , so I'm safe in saying that, if you like those stories you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling read, 23 Sept. 2012
Thoroughly enjoyed this book (despite the graphic start) - innovative mix of detective story with just a subtle hint of the supernatural. Normally refuse to pay more than 20p for a kindle book (mean, me?? :-)) but actually spent proper money to buy the 2nd in the McLean series after reading this one. Can't wait for number 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want more!!!, 18 May 2012
By 
K. Langley "Bookwormkathy" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I want more! The charaters are very believeable and the writing had me hooked from page 1. A very gory start to the story but it takes off very quickly with plenty of twists and turns. Set in Edinburgh, which is a city i have yet to visit, James Oswald describes the city in a way that i could almost say i knew where he was. I hope that this is the start of a long series of books. More please Mr Oswald!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gruesome but compulsive reading, 8 April 2012
I was concerned at the first chapter that I would not be able to stay the course, it was somewhat disturbing to say the least. I am happy to have stuck with it and really enjoyed the development of the characters and the turns in the story. The body count is very high, the descriptions graphic but it kept me fully engrossed - a real page clicker!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really gripping, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
Me (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike other reviewers I can't say I found the opening chapter excessive - it was gory, slightly disturbing but written in a stark way that simply told the story of a horrible murder that underpins the rest of the book.

What followed after was one of the most enjoyable detective stories I've read in quite a while. I liked the characters and the plot developed seamlessly. As a free download you really can't go wrong with this and I'm delighted to have been introduced to an author new to me.

I'm on Amazon right now for the purpose of buying the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a compelling story., 10 Jun. 2012
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was free. Incredible! I'd have paid for it and been more than happy. Comparisons with Rebus are inevitable. I'm a big Rankin fan and it can be difficult reading similar tales by a different author. But this stands the test. The narrative flows off the page. The settings are real, the people are credible and Inspector McLean doesn't have so much baggage that he's weighed down by his angst. But he has enough history to make him a compelling character. I wanted to know more about him and James Oswald doesn't do an immediate 'reveal' it's like an onion, it comes in layers. The plot is excellent. It's a complex and compelling mix of the ordinary with a twist of the supernatural. But it's all totally plausible, with richly detailed locations and some detailed descriptions of the crime scenes. There are numerous disparate strands to the plot as it snakes its way forward. Each could be a stand alone tale but it's all brought together. I really liked the way the ever so genteel Morningside set are portrayed; all their airs and graces hiding a dark underbelly. Without doubt, one of my best reads this year. Thanks Mr Oswald; a real belter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews