Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last one with Blackwood
The Fargos last adventure came out what seems like scant seconds before this one and was awful compared to the first two offerings by the collaborative Cussler and Blackwood. Their fourth outing has a new co-author and goes some way to repairing the damage of the third novel. It's the usual stuff we'd expect from the Indiana and Marion team of Sam and Remi whose ability...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by travelswithadiplomat

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun.. but leaves me concerned
As usual Clive Cussler serves up another fun well paced action packed thrill ride. The Fargo's for me have always seemed more of a link from Young Adult to the adult books, even with that comparison this book is a great fun book, Clive always has easy to read characters, and outrageous plots that take you well away from reality, and that's the beauty of these books,...
Published on 10 Sept. 2012 by Parm


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun.. but leaves me concerned, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As usual Clive Cussler serves up another fun well paced action packed thrill ride. The Fargo's for me have always seemed more of a link from Young Adult to the adult books, even with that comparison this book is a great fun book, Clive always has easy to read characters, and outrageous plots that take you well away from reality, and that's the beauty of these books, something that perfect for reading by the pool to remove you from the hum drum of life. Those who try to nit pick because the book is simplistic in its formula need to remember its supposed to be a fun read not an in-depth historical account. Cussler has always been the master at these books.
My concern is the constant stream of ghost writers, Its clear from the style that Clive still has some serious input because the formula is there. But the wow factor seems to be leaking away from the story / Plot. So this was fun but for the future more Clive less ghost for me.

Description
Husband-and-wife team Sam and Remi Fargo are intrigued when an archaeologist friend requests their help excavating a top secret historical site. What they find will set them on a hunt for a prize greater than they could ever imagine. The clues point to the hidden tomb of Attila the Hun, the High King who was reportedly buried with a vast fortune of gold and jewels and plunder . . . a bounty that has never been found. As they follow the trail through Hungary, Italy, France, Russia, and Kazakhstan--a trail that they discover leads them not to one tomb, but five--the Fargos will find themselves pitted against a thieving group of amateur treasure hunters, a cunning Russian businessman, and a ruthless Hungarian who claims direct descent from Attila himself . . . and will stop at nothing to claim the tombs' riches as his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointing read, 5 April 2013
By 
M. Fisher (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tombs (Hardcover)
I can't believe all the high review scores this book received.

Boring, repetitive, shallow, as tense as a loose rubber band. The Fargos showed no depth to their characters (if they have any), and came across as Mr & Mrs Indiana Jones with no scruples about killing. The "baddie" was pathetic - his only answer to everything was to ring a business associate, give up half his share of the treasure, and sit there waiting. The locations of the treasures were ridiculously easily revealed, especially the last one - a walk in the Catacombs, and 5 minutes later "I've found it". Really??

Are we really supposed to believe that a random taxi driver would turn out to speak perfect English, have relatives or contacts in all walks of life, and put together armed breaking, entering and surveillance teams (with a spot of road building thrown in)?

Are we really supposed to believe that when Remi was kidnapped the only place they could think of to take her was the only place in the world her husband could think to go to - the kidnapper's house?

There was no tension at all; even the final shoot-out was "bad guys break in, get shot, someone else breaks in, gets shot, etc". And how come Selma and her young assistants suddenly turn from researchers into gun-toting sharpshooters who knock off the bad guys without showing any emotion at all?

That probably says it all - there was a total lack of emotion or connection with any of the characters. Lazy and sloppy. Mr Cussler has spread himself too thinly and quality suffers (hence my reason to stop reading the Isaac Bell series). It feels like he gives the other writer an outline and his name on the front cover, then leaves it at that. Also his appearance in the story yet again (white haired man, beard, "CC" or "Mr C") was kind of funny the first couple of times but umpteen books later, is just a tad self-indulgent.

I am genuinely surprised at so many high marks. Judge these books against his early non-collaborative works, then think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative Historical Yarn That Would Have Worked a Lot Better for Dirk and Al, 30 Sept. 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tombs (Paperback)
"or the material they had was sufficient for all the work to be done--indeed too much." -- Exodus 36:7 (NKJV)

Unless you are an Attila the Hun fan (which I sincerely doubt), The Tombs will teach you some new history lessons. You'll visit places you probably haven't been or read about. That aspect of the book reminds me a bit of the television show "The Amazing Race." You are quickly in and out in most cases.

There's a complex plot involving a search for a huge treasure that is developed in such a way that you'll probably anticipate much of what happens. If you don't mind, then read the book.

In the best Cussler books, the villains are imaginative, dark, and frightening. Not here. So that's one missing element from what would make this a better thriller.

The more serious problem is that if you are like me you'll have a hard time imagining that Sam and Remi Fargo can do the kinds of things that Dirk Pitt and Al Giordino routinely do in the best of the Dirk Pitt books. In many cases, Sam and Remi seem to get the results more easily and Dirk and Al often do. I just don't think so.

If you do decide to read the book, stick with it. The second half is generally better than the first half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but weak and quite annoying, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tombs (Hardcover)
The fourth book in the Fargo series, featuring millionaire treasure-hunters Sam and Remi Fargo, sees the adventurous couple on the trail of Attila the Hun, chasing around the world following a variety of clues, with unscrupulous opponents on their heels. A new co-author joins Cussler, which I had hoped would make a change to some of the earlier books' shortfalls, but that's not really the case.

The fundamental idea for the story is a good one, though there are some details which seem to be glossed over as if the reader is not expected to notice - plausible character motivation being one, but the execution is poor. The style of the narrative is very basic and doesn't lend any depth to the characters - there's no thought or emotion from them, and in several points it feels like a cold description of events or even a children's novel in the way it depicts what's happening.

There are some pretty fundamental plot-holes, and I found this quite distracting, chief among them an issue with the timeline of events which suggests that historical characters knew their own futures. A lot seemed rushed, with problems being solved instantly and searches that in reality would take months being completed in an afternoon.

The most annoying thing about this book though was the characters - two multi-millionaires just don't work as main characters, as money seems to solve too many of their problems, chartering planes, replacing equipment etc. One new character also has the amazing ability to do absolutely anything at the drop of a hat despite being just a random they picked up on the journey. None of the main characters had any flaws or weaknesses and this just made for a dull and ultimately predictable adventure.

Overall, although I found it entertaining and at least didn't feel bogged down at any point, the Fargo series still disappoints. It's definitely the weakest of the Cussler brands and the new author couldn't pull it up to the standard of Cussler's original novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars undemanding read,, 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Parkin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another "Hart to Hart" Fargo adventure. This time the couple are looking for the tomb of Attila. They find half a dozen in as many countries,in as many weeks, all unlooted and stuffed with treasure . All seem to require a half-hour's digging to uncover.

Some quibbles. P101 has the Fargos discussing a site with Hungarian archaeologists in inches and feet. Most Europeans are only familiar with the metric system. P.153" it looked as though it belonged a few miles to the east on the Adriatic" This is Como some 100 miles inland.
P.161 major culinary confusion. "they ordered risotto alla Milanese...as their pasta course" This is a rice dish.
"There is a local delicacy called sabbiosa, which is a plum cake soaked in Guinness". This is northern Italy and Irish stout breweries are somewhat thin on the ground. The dessert is a sponge cake with absolutely no plums.

P.212 Dining in Romania "rosol, a stewed duck-and-vegetable dish " At its basics this is chicken soup with noodles and is Polish.

P.238 has the Silk Road running through India, which it never did.

P.281 "When he had ridden the subway in Los Angeles, there would often be pairs of sheriff's deputies stopping people with "didn't forget to get your ticket, did you?" After a dozen trips there and frequent subway use, I have never seen this.

P.315 referring to a young local guide/driver "What does he speak? Kazakh and a little Russian." Russian is spoken by 95% of Kazakhstan's population, so he is exceptional.

P,320. they give their driver, Nurin several thousand Tenge to buy an extensive picture list of items for them.
5,000 are only worth $33 so things musts be really cheap in Kazakhstan.

Enjoyable tongue-in-cheek adventure nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars How disappointing., 31 Dec. 2012
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tombs (Paperback)
There was I panting, yet again, for a Cussler hot off the press- and 2 days early to boot. I own every Clive cussler ever written including the non fiction ones, but what on earth possessed him with this one, I have no idea. - it is not the typical Cussler. It is a hastily thrown together, "lets repeat everything" in a slightly different format, several times over in case we forget where the current dig is/was etc. will be. I was bored by page 5 and this does no justice to Sam and Remi either, two of my newer favourite characters, even they appeared bored by the non plot - please please Mr Cussler, I am one of your most avid fans but either proof-read yourself or lose Thomas Perry. He is letting you down badly and, in verification in case I had absorbed too many meds (on prescribed medication only) I passed it to a neighbour and fellow Cussler fan; it was back within a day, same long face - what happened he groaned?

I am very very critical and can only remember giving one star to anyone. If this had been written entirely by a new author it would have got a 2 for effort. There is none. Waste of time. I am really sorry Mr Cussler, but you are worthy of so much more. Dirk would be hiding in shame! Get you own pen back out and stop relying on co-writers with no or little talent. Read "The Devil's Cauldron" for a real action packed thriller in your old vein. I apologise for this tough review but we need you back at the inkpot or keys. PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last one with Blackwood, 14 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Tombs (Paperback)
The Fargos last adventure came out what seems like scant seconds before this one and was awful compared to the first two offerings by the collaborative Cussler and Blackwood. Their fourth outing has a new co-author and goes some way to repairing the damage of the third novel. It's the usual stuff we'd expect from the Indiana and Marion team of Sam and Remi whose ability to race through mansions avoiding gun-toting baddies is matched only by Lara Croft.
The premise, this time, is the search for the five hidden treasure caches of the long-dead Attila the Hun. The Fargos very own Scooby-Doo Wilma-esque genius sidekick, Selma, gets an active look in, and we get more of a bio on her. This time the baddies are less murderous, more intellectual adversaries as the trading superstar, Arpad Bako, a man who believes himself a direct descendant of Attila, has his own group of grave robbers on the trail. The Fargos get embroiled when Albrecht Fischer is kidnapped. Their rescue of him and subsequent runs ins with Sergei Poliakoff and Etienne Le Clerc mean the usual Cussler adventurism we've all come to expect and love.
I was hoping for better than the preceding novel, wanted something similar to the first two. With this one, we've almost got it. I am not sure how long this husband-wife adventurer-philanthropists will last - probably not as long as the excellent Isaac Bell series, but they are OK for Cussler fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Continuity gone, 9 Nov. 2012
I think I own everything Cussler has written. I do like the Fargo adventures, but this is a let down. First the continutiy from the other books, such as Selma only calling the Mr & Mrs Fargo is gone....so is the personality of the Fargo support staff. The ending was such nonsense because so much was missing. If there has to a joint venture in these books at least keep the continuity or explain in the story why it changed.

Still like Cussler, but have been let down this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 29 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Tombs: FARGO Adventures #4 (Kindle Edition)
Clive Cussler and Bernard Cornwell are my favourite authors. Come on Clive you can do better than this, No matter how fictional, I do like the stories I read to be believable. This was written for a teenage? audience. It had no plot to speak off, just a succession of events. As for the end, I know the goodies should win but how half a dozen supposedly normal people can win a gun battle against multiple dozens of trained thugs with the result that all the goodies survive (including the dog) and all the baddies die (admittedly with Coastguard help) is stretching even my imagination. I will not mention Remi's earlier rescue which was totally unbelievable. Back to Dirk Pitt and the old Clive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cussler's worst yet., 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tombs: FARGO Adventures #4 (Kindle Edition)
Just about the worst Cussler I've read. Until now was an avid fan with >30 books in my collection. Very simplistic: find a clue, do 10 mins research which pinpoints Atilla's next treasure site, go dig up the treasure which also has the next clue....repeat 5 times until book is complete. I did find the final 2 chapters exciting, but they seemed to be "plonked on" at the end, maybe Clive realised the rest of the book was such a turkey it needed a good ending?
Overall very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tombs: FARGO Adventures #4
£5.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews