Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book stilled the collywobbles., 22 Jan 2010
By 
J. E. Garrett "bookwormess" (Hereford U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had just taken my son out of school out of desperation and to keep him safe (extreme bullying and severe injuries) and was terrified of the thought of going it alone. This book calmed me down and helped me to realise that children (and adults) are learning sponges when not stifled by a rigid educational system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Holt, buy this!, 3 Aug 2010
By 
R. Graceson (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Holt is obviously known all over the home education/homeschooling world but should be required reading for all parents, in my opinion.

I didn't personally get on with How Children Learn or How Children Fail and was disappointed after getting rave reviews on both. I took a chance and got this and it is fantastic. Highly readable, it all makes sense - a great one to hand out to friends and relatives if they are giving you any grief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 6 Aug 2010
I got this book alongside Terri Dowty's excellent "Free Range Education". Although this book is targeted at the American market, a lot of the information provided here is relevant to the situation in England. I particularly like the "FAQ" section in it in which the authors tackle very amply the sort of questions and doubts frequently expressed by those who don't support homeschooling and those who aren't sure of the homeschooling approach. After reading this book, I am more certain than ever that taking my child out of school (and a state school at that) is probably one of the very best things I've done for her. Read this book and make up your own mind, but don't say you've not been warned... it could change your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really inspiring book, 27 Feb 2013
I think that everyone should read this book, it has many insipiring and practical remarks, even for those who keep children in public schools. It is worth imaging and making a decision how our next generation is being "educated" and how we want it to see the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must have book, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
absolutely excellent.reassuring creating confidence answering questions.this book has everything we wanted to know regarding our choice for our children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Lovely book for those considering home educating or have chosen to electively home ed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very interested in taking my 10 year old son out of the public schooling system so this book is proving to be very helpful. However please note that this book is very american based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. S. Parades (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My first book about home education.
Made me sure that my doughter is not gonna to go to public school :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews