Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Always, Amazing.
Up to season 5 House was known as focusing a lot on the comical witticisms of House as he insulted his colleagues and his boss. This particular season takes a more serious turn, and although there does exist the comedy that it's famous for, there is a more serious aura around the entire season and its characters as all is not well in the land of Dr. Gregory House. For a...
Published on 14 May 2009 by Caleb Williams

versus
45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another part season release, beware only 9 episodes on this release!!!
As with Season 3, the release for this season will be in 2 parts, 4.0 and probably 4.5, with 9 episodes on this release with 11 on the next, why they've started releasing them this way is beyond me, the only reason that I can think of is due to the extra money they'll get for doing it this way.

Personally I've a mind to buy seasons 1 and 2 and be done with it,...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by Dazman


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Always, Amazing., 14 May 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Up to season 5 House was known as focusing a lot on the comical witticisms of House as he insulted his colleagues and his boss. This particular season takes a more serious turn, and although there does exist the comedy that it's famous for, there is a more serious aura around the entire season and its characters as all is not well in the land of Dr. Gregory House. For a medical drama, House is pretty special as it retains a very formulaic style of storytelling and wholly stays away from soap opera dramatics; instead replacing them with casual love stories, complex medical cases and an even more complex main star.

Just when we think we know House, the show takes another massive turn and shows us a completely different side to him that we never thought existed. Season 5 seeks on exposing a new emotional side to House. At the end of season 4 we saw the end to Wilsons girlfriend, Amber and what we are lead to believe to be the friendship of House and Wilson. Season 5 opens with our worst fears, Wilson quits and tells House that they can no longer be friends and in order for Wilson to be truly happy, he must have House out of his life.

In comes a private investigator hired by House to spy on Wilson in his new life and also his team. The split doesn't last for long and House & Wilson end up back to their old tricks of childish friendship antics. Chase & Cameron gain a more prominent role in this season as their relationship is explored in more detail as Cameron struggles with the possibility of a permanent relationship as she still can't let go of the memories of her husband who died a few years prior to their relationship. This presents a higher purpose for them still remaining in the opening title sequence and hopefully, this increased prominence will mean they become a stronger part of the team in season 6.

Thirteen is also forced to struggle with the fact that she has Huntington's disease, and to a certain point takes it very badly. Foreman also gains a bit more purpose in this season and develops a relationship with Thirteen, but I felt like this relationship was only brought into the picture to avoid having to fire him as even now his presence just seems pointless. Taub and Kutner are their usual selves with nothing really important happening to them other than House torturing Taub over his affair. There are quite a few delightful surprises that take place during the season, some are more important than others, but they're all designed to keep us watching to the next episode.

As with every TV show, the finale is always the most special episode that will keep you wanting more up to when the next season starts. House is no exception to that rule and although most TV shows may create a cliff-hanger to keep you wanting more, they would also wrap a few stories up so they don't have to be revisited. House very rarely does that. Instead it gives us riveting cliff-hangers that makes us question the true brilliance of what we have seen, yet if you're not a fan of the primary cliff-hanger, there's also a few other stories that you will want to know what happened next. This is a truly brilliant season that exposes a more emotional and loveable side to House that have only briefly been explored in previous seasons. There is one massive shocker that most reading this review will have probably heard about by now, but it's just an overall great season and worthy of any House fans DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another part season release, beware only 9 episodes on this release!!!, 7 Aug 2011
As with Season 3, the release for this season will be in 2 parts, 4.0 and probably 4.5, with 9 episodes on this release with 11 on the next, why they've started releasing them this way is beyond me, the only reason that I can think of is due to the extra money they'll get for doing it this way.

Personally I've a mind to buy seasons 1 and 2 and be done with it, as and when or if they ever get around to releasing a complete season 3 and complete season 4 then I'll pick those up then, buying them as half seasons is a waste of packaging, time, money and the environment, if you want to waste all of these then buy this boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic tv, 6 May 2007
This is a fantastic tv series, with 39 'mini-movies' in crystal clear b&w. As with most tv series some of the episodes are absolute classics and some are mearly above average but when Amazon are charging (at the time of writing this review) 8.97 for the set you'd be mad to pass this up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST THE LEGENDARY TV SERIES OF MR H ON DVD!!!, 25 Feb 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was looking for this WONDERFUL series on DVD for a while & now it's here! FORGET that these episodes are 50+ YEARS OLD and revel in TV of the highest order that will appeal to buyers of other intelligent sci-fi shows like the TWILIGHT ZONE (60s & 1985 series) and JOHNNY STACCATO (not on DVD officially anywhere, why not??). If you think pre 1965 B&W shows are flat & boring you're mistaken!

(Updated Apr 08) This first series has some great episodes, all introduced by cheeky comments by Mr H himself. Many future name guest stars inc John Cassavettes (Johnny Staccato) and Charles Bronson. Some of the episodes later in the set deviate from the mystery & suspense style & are a little disappointing, a few stories do not tie up very well leaving you stranded. Also 2 actors appear as different characters in different episodes very close to their first appearance, making credibility a little stretched if you watch one a day as I did! Some scenarios may initially look a bit dull to the modern viewer, but with any quality old show, it doesn't take long to see it for the quality it is!

Picture quality is fine for the age. The sound can be a bit poor due to the fact nowadays everything must be silent background with no hiss. This heavy-handed restoration mars mainly the intros though a few shows have poor distorted sound, but the best there is left. Most viewers with small TV speakers wouldn't notice, those of us with 15" speakers hear everything!

Will be buying all the series as they are released one per year. It'll take a long time: there are 7 series of the shorter format, then 3 seasons of the longer "Alfred Hitchcock Hour".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The day's not over yet, 1 May 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In most sci-fi shows, time travel is usually just a one-off deal that never has any lasting repercussions. But it forms the centerpiece of "Eureka Season 4.0," in which a single jaunt back in time causes sweeping changes for the citizens of Eureka -- it sounds like a cheap way of shaking things up, but the focus on what time travel has changed is pretty interesting.

Carter (Colin Ferguson) is out jogging on Founder's Day when he suddenly goes back in time to the year 1947, along with Allison (Salli Richardson-Whitfield), Jo (Erica Cerra), Henry (Joe Morton) and Fargo (Neil Grayston). With the assistance of scientist Trevor Grant (James Callis), and are able to get back to present-day Eureka.

But... some things have changed. Jo is the security chief of Global Dynamics and never dated Zane, Kevin is not autistic, Andy the robot is Carter's new deputy, Henry is married to a woman he doesn't know, and Fargo is now the director of Global Dynamics. Oh yes, and Grant has come forward in time with them.

As they try to adjust to this new timeline, they have to deal with mysterious power surges, a zombie-style rage infection, a super-oxygen infestation, random teleportation (from 1947!), stalkerish A.I.s, people turning into stone statues, and hallucinations of people from the past. And Dr. Grant starts discovering that the future isn't all it's cracked up to be.

I was starting to lose faith in "Eureka" after the disappointing Season 3.5, which was basically a bunch of standalone episodes. And while "time travel ripples" sounds like a cheap way of shaking things up, it actually works quite well here -- the writers spend the entire season exploring the repercussions of time travel.

It sounds kind of grim, but there are some fun moments keeping it light -- particularly a cute Wall-E-esque robot, or Carter throwing the despised Fargo a ravening horde. The one real disappointment is the Eureka crossover -- it's not really BAD, but Claudia Donovan's visit is kinda anticlimactic because... she doesn't do anything except ogle the machinery and make out with Fargo.

Colin Ferguson continues to be charmingly down-to-earth, even as Carter gets enmeshed in a very tense love triangle with Grant and Allison. Also fun: the writers take some clever pokes at Carter's role in the show ("Hello, I'm Sheriff Carter! I'm going to save the day with my everyman logic! Ha ha ha!").

But all the characters get some solid development -- Jo is in turmoil over the loss of Zane, Allison becomes even more of a fierce mama bear now that her son is normal, and Henry starts falling in love with the wife he doesn't even know (although this happens a bit too fast). Oh, and Sheriff Andy is back as Deputy Andy, reciting bad poetry and suffering massive damage.

"Eureka Season 4.0" pumps some new life into this quirky sci-fi show, and rearranges some of the key players. Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a peculiar season, 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: House Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5 is straight up weird. It's rich with hints and clues that not all is well with House, and the season finale ends on the mini-mother of all cliff hangers. Season 6 opening episode is going to be unmissable. American tv shows always end a season with a cliff hanger, but so often they're appallingly slapdash. Not so with House. From about mid way through the season, it's subtly hinted at that there is something profoundly amiss, and it culminates in a dark and surprising final few scenes.

Anyway, back to the beginning. At the start of the series, Amber is gone, and so is Wilson. In his place there's a private detective, Lucas (played wonderfully by Michael Weston) who is sardonic and clever (actually a match for House) and, apparently, is being given his own spin off series. That's officially Good News.

Chase, Cameron and Cuddy get more of a look in than they did in season 4 - it's no longer incongruous that their names are in the opening credits... although, Cameron and Chase are largely spent fine-tuning and/or imploding their relationship. Season 5 also introduces a relationship between 2 more of the main cast... and the violent loss of another. Apparently in the States it was widely touted as a "Very Special Episode", with ramifications that would ripple throughout the rest of the season. They set up a bit of a red herring leading up to it, so it is a genuine shock but, somehow, that whole storyline is a little unsatisfying. That being said, House's situation is possibly predicated on it, so maybe there are huge, House-shaped ripples we've yet to fully see.

The team still solve the unsolveable, House still offends anyone with ears (and, indeed, someone without), and it's still fiercely clever and frequently funny. The entire season feels a lot more chaotic than the others - almost as if they wrote much of it on the fly, but it's no poorer for that. It's still House, it's still wonderful, and it deserves no less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over fifty years old and aged beautifully, 31 May 2007
This is way before my time but when a programme is this good it matters not. I used to watch this sometime in the 1980's with my Dad and it was one of my favourite programmes at the time but it wasn't this series, it was a later one because I can remember it being in colour, but anyway the presentation and music (very uplifting for something so dark) was exactly the same as this. Although I can't really remember all of the stories from those colour episodes, there was one in particular that involved somebody accidentally being buried alive after a plan went wrong and it put me off ever wanting to be buried when I die.

I love the way this series is presented by Alfred Hitchcock, he was a national treasure and I particularly like his witty remarks before and after each episode I really hope they release every series of this on DVD, it would be a tragedy if it wasn't. At the time of writing, this as to be one of the best value for money DVD boxsets ever at (at the time of writing) just under 9. There are 39 episodes at roughly 23 minutes each and a good variety of stories all with some kind of twist at the end. I don't think that this is as well known as say for example The Twilight Zone (another classic that as aged beautifully) or to younger people like myself, but if you like that and anything similar, then even at over fifty years old (and as I have already mentioned this is way before my time) I would recommend this classic programme to anyone.

One last comment is that I am sorry to say to the person asking that there aren't any subtitles on this particular series which is wrong, as I think that they should be on all DVD's as standard but I am not sure about series 2 and whether they will be on the remaining series (if they are ever released), so fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COvert Affairs, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cam across this by accident, catching an episode on tv, and decided to take a chance on the dvd. This is a really entertaining series following the story of Annie, a young CIA operative who speaks several languages fluently. As the story develops we realise that Annie was recruited for reasons other than her language skills, and this sub-plot underlines sseveral of the episodes. Piper Perabo is excellent as Annie, along with some really good regulars such as Peter Gallagher, Anne Dudek (who is shamefully under-used) and Sendhil Ramamurthy from Heroes. Apart from the spy plots, it is interesting to see how the agents struggle with leading such secretive, double lives and the effects the job has on relationships. There are also some fantastic guest stars including Oded Fyer appearing regularly as a Mossad agent who develops a really amusing and interesting relationship with Annie and will hopefully continue to appear, Eric La Salle from ER, and another ex-Hero Santiago Cabrera who I hope will return (quite honestly he could turn up reading a telephone directory and I'd tune in!!). This is a well-scripted, well produced, fun, fast-paced series which has clearly had some money spent on it. I have even been able to watch it with my 11 & 13 year old who love it. I can thoroughly recommend it and we are all eager now for season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great season, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this season more than the first. From the very first episode it's quite exciting and you quickly get drawn into the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Good To Last, 11 April 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Conviction was a television drama on NBC that debuted as a mid-season replacement in 2006. The cast included Stephanie March following her Law & Order: Special Victims Unit role as Alexandra Cabot. In 'Conviction' She returns to New York City and becomes a Bureau Chief ADA supervising a group of young assistant district attorneys. Other cast members include Eric Balfour,Anson Mount, Jordan Bridges, Julianne Nicholson, Milena Govich, and J. August Richards.

" Conviction deals with characters' back stories and personal lives.
Anson Mount as Jim Steele
Jim Steele is the Deputy Bureau Chief ADA whose best friend, Mike Randolph, is murdered by drug dealers in the pilot episode of Conviction. Jim is strong-willed and determined to avenge his friend's death.
Eric Balfour as Brian Peluso
Brian Peluso is a laid-back and irresponsible ADA that seems to be heavily into partying but is very invested in his clients.
J. August Richards as Billy Desmond
Billy Desmond is smart, politically motivated, and hasn't lost a case during his three years at the DA's office.
Milena Govich as Jessica Rossi
Jessica Rossi is a young ADA who comes from a poor family. In the pilot episode, she is shown fighting with her brother after he asks her for a loan
Julianne Nicholson as Christina Finn
Christina Finn is an inexperienced ADA who has been with the DA's office for two years. She is particularly nervous about her first case.
Jordan Bridges as Nick Potter
Nick Potter is a new and inexperienced ADA. He graduated in the middle of his class from New York University (NYU) Law School, and he comes from an "old money" family of prominence. In the pilot episode, he leaves his high-paying job at a private law firm for a position at the Manhattan District Attorney's office." Wiki

I found this series to be strong and insightful. Unfortunately, it was not renewed for a second season.

Recommended. prisrob 04-10-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday Night Lights - Season 3 [DVD]
Friday Night Lights - Season 3 [DVD] by Blue Deckert (DVD - 2013)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews