Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Far Better Book than The Black Swan
Satyajit Das's dry sense of humour might not be to everyone's couple of tea and I guess that explains the diametrically opposing views on this book. However, to me no other book demonstrates Mark Twain's famous quote on history is particularly true for the last 30 years of derivatives trading. As someone who has worked in finance for 14 years I can assure the more...
Published on 31 Jan. 2011 by DP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Not.At.All.Easy
If you're accustomed to Michael Lewis level forays into the financial world like this reader was, you're in for a shock. I suppose I'm not the aimed-for audience. But unless this was first offered to Oxford's University Press who passed, I'm not sure many are.

The topic and insights gained by Das are most certainly interesting. However, the book is...
Published on 23 Jan. 2012 by Aaron Dev


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Far Better Book than The Black Swan, 31 Jan. 2011
Satyajit Das's dry sense of humour might not be to everyone's couple of tea and I guess that explains the diametrically opposing views on this book. However, to me no other book demonstrates Mark Twain's famous quote on history is particularly true for the last 30 years of derivatives trading. As someone who has worked in finance for 14 years I can assure the more critical reviewers that the "fictional" stories in the book are not exaggerations. If you're looking for something more academic than Lewis' "Liar's Poker", more entertaining than Tett's "Fool's Gold" and more readable than Taleb's "Fooled by Randomness", this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Not.At.All.Easy, 23 Jan. 2012
If you're accustomed to Michael Lewis level forays into the financial world like this reader was, you're in for a shock. I suppose I'm not the aimed-for audience. But unless this was first offered to Oxford's University Press who passed, I'm not sure many are.

The topic and insights gained by Das are most certainly interesting. However, the book is distinctly different than say, Liar's Poker overview style. Just picking up the book and flicking through it shows that its nearly instructive where Lewis aims more for entertainment/information (like a less political Michael Moore).

This reader sought this book after seeing Das interviewed as part of the cast in the 2010 film 'Inside Job' on the financial crisis. In this film, Das speaks with clarity, conciseness and cogency. In this book, however, he seems stuck in back-office jargon with a writing style which leaves one wanting. This reader is staying with it for pursuit of more knowledge. But such obdurate energies could probably be better spent on taking the various concepts and researching separately in one's own time.

At best, a flip of the coin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good Cook's tour of the subject, 7 May 2011
Mr. Das knows his stuff and is fully believable when he claims to have been present at most Derivative developments from the 1980s on.
I was involved in the area too - as a follower, not as an innovator, and it all rings true.

It gets a little boring in the very last few chapters as the differences between the products become smaller - variations on a theme. It may well be that derivatives have largely run their course and that this book essentially says it all. Ignoring this small criticism, whether or not there are further major developments to come, this book will be of particular interest to College students mulling whether or not to pursue studies in Financial Theory, Financial Engineering, Financial Economics or the like.

It is well written, giving the flavour of the deals as well as the technical details. Mr Das has done a service to the industry. I'm glad I bought it and it's few books I'd say that about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A daunting and very interesting book on market practices, 4 July 2010
An interesting and scary world of financial creativity, and how decisions are made with other peoples money.

Who would have thought that buying and selling could be so complex.

It all seems to come back to what the financiers want to earn for themselves.

I suppose most of us want to be rich, but at what cost.

A glossary of the acronyms would be handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 July 2014
Superb book. Definitely recommended. Peels away the exoticness of financial geeks and quants on the one hand and shows how investors get taken for ride every time and still do not learn. Kudos to Mr Das, I learnt more about derivatives from this book rather than from any other serious literature on the subject.

Shepherd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traders, Guns and Money: Knowns and Unknowns in the Dazzling World of Derivatives (Financial Times Series) (Kindle Edition)
I found it a competent, sober, and honest view of the current trends in human folly (2010-2014). Even fairly complicated financial concepts are presented in an approachable way. I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but quite technical!, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very detailed and a great read for anyone working in investment arena who wishes to get a better understanding for the world of derivatives. It's technical, maybe a bit too drawn out at times and I think requires a basic understanding of derivative instruments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traders, Guns and Money, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read, as it was commonly known within the industry about the fiddling and lies it beggars belief that the world politicians had any knowledge of it. Suspect it was a case of the three monkeys, hear no evil, see no evil and speak no evil (against the banking system who pay us handsomely). The corrupt politicians I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative book., 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought on a recommendation. Happy with my purchase. Informative and straightforward to read. Would recommend this book to others also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I did not know that !!, 9 Jan. 2012
As a person of average intelect who just likes reading anything interesting, but at the moment anything to do with how finance works, this is a very good read.

It is written not just for Financial wizz kids, but tries to explain the intracies of Derivatives etc. for all.

A bit heavy in places, but if you are willing, a satifying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews