Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars59
3.3 out of 5 stars
Size: 32GB|Colour Name: BLACK|Change
Price:£298.10+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2013
Pros:
Full Microsoft Office 2013 (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), removable keyboards (just snap on), full size USB port takes almost any windows USB device (USB keys, hard drives, mice, DVD drives). The unit has brilliant speed and battery life, Skydrive access. True multitasking check some of the youtube videos out there.

Its syncs up perfectly with your free Microsoft account (outlook.com, live.com) email, skydrive files allowing switching between laptop, PC and Surface RT keeping all your edits.

It comes with a MICRO HDMI connector I have the VGA adapter and it outputs perfectly to projectors, VGA screens plus you can also output to HDMI direct. It has a full size USB slot and you can attach almost any device, USB stick, external hard drive, CD rom drive to it and it works. This is a real neat feature. I loaded it up with movies standard AVI / MPEG format on the 64GB Micro SD card and it worked flawlessly had the kids entertained on the plane for 2 hours. This was really handy; it's a far more flexible tablet than any other on the market. Plus the battery life is brilliant.

Onenote is brilliant for college students note taking.

Windows 8.1 RT is on the way with full Outlook 2013 and offline skydrive access.

Cons:
The factory software image is old so when you get the device you have to update all the MS patches since production this includes the Preview version of Office. This needs a decent enough internet connection and a lot of initial patience some reviewers that complained just did not give the updates enough time. The 8.1 update should fix that issue.

I do not understand those that criticise the RT without using it, get it you will not be disappointed.

Post 8.1 update November 2013:

After 8.1 update I have to say the Surface RT is even better than ever. 2 big issues sorted; full offline skydrive access and outlook 2013.
However the biggest improvement is in the speed and stability of the device plus the tweaking of the app store and the help tips.
The mail client is unrecognizable and is much better so much so that I prefer it than outlook in touch mode.
Also the USB network card from microsoft works with RT 8.1 meaning I can leave my laptop home.
Ignore the Microsoft haters this is a brilliant tablet made better by RT 8.1.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
This is an excellent machine and one that I can't recommend highly enough. It sets up in minutes with the minimum of fuss. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Probably one of the best Tablets i have seen and worked on. Very very easy to use and is pretty good on games too!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I didn't get my Surface on Amazon . . . it was £269 including a keyboard at PC World. I have other tablets and my phone is a Galaxy Note. This just seemed like something that fills a hole. It is restricted in terms of app . . . hence the 4 stars, and the keyboard is a bit flaky (although it works fine and is a decent size)

No repositioning of the american keys (yes Apple I did notice that), no problems with compatibility with my Office Packages. Generally just a good quality product for a good price.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Surface is a good name: it's all surface with no depth and once you scratch ythat surface you find out how problematic this thing is.

The good: great screen, good to have USB and SD slots (SD slot may be hidden but it is there).Windows 8 takes getting used to but has some great features (e.g. multiple user accounts) and some of the fucntions and systems are cool. However it really really really fails hard in being neither able to run proper windows and install programmes or be a dedicated tablet with healthy ecosystem of apps that work and aren't hobbled.

The top things that really really suck:

No POP mail (nope: no webmail - forced into using windows mail solutions), poor app availability - very few good apps (unlike android or iPad). And not able to install proper windows programmes (that's pro only). So while it has pretty good Word/Excel/Powerpoint there's no option to extend these with say endnote for referencing or acrobat pro, plus they're still 'demo' versions.

The acrobat programme/app is FAR worse and less featured than either android or iOS versions - just a PDF reader no options to amend anything.

Dropbox integration is APPALLING nigh-on unusable (especially compared to how easy and intuitive it is on iOS and very good on Android).

No decent browsers - you're stuck with IE and that's it. No firefox, no Chrome, none of my sync'd bookmarks etc.

The browser is fixed to desktop mode/version of sites - all our other tablets ran panopto video feeds except this one - which while a microsoft product doesn't support microsoft's own silverlight, nor serve you a mobile version.

No flash either - there's a white-list of sites but no flash video working, and with issues of not getting mobile versions of sites no real workarounds.

The introduction screens and video are actually WRONG for windows 8 functions that aren't functions on RT or the surface (like corners etc) the gestures once you get the hang of them are good but really counter-intuitive and little/no help.

Will be good value when half price as they get dumped on the market (most contemporary news reposrts suggest these are discontinued already and have high return rates and low sales). The pro version is promising.

The fabric keyboard has no tactility at all - really not good to type on.

Very heavy too.

I liked using it for a bit and it seemed good for writing office documents and that's about it really - as a tablet it sucked.

In sum: Either buy a laptop or buy a proper tablet (Nexus, Galaxy or iPad) or wait for the pro version. I had one of these as a review/work item and am SO glad I've been able to swap it for an iPad mini (which I love for all its superb apps) and also like Android. Windows 8 seems excellent but RT is an appalling featureless botch. Given 2 stars as it's not terrible but definitely NOT recommended.
44 comments|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
I bought this to use for presentations along with the VGA adaptor. Well the VGA adaptor works about a fifth of the time and it falls out of the slot all the time. But the unit itself is the worst computer I have ever used. On websites with drop down menus you cannot get into the drop down sub categories, you cannot download any software other than from the windows app store - and the windows app store is dreadful. My surface rt has also had constant problems with the power on button at times meaning you cannot even get it to turn on without pumping the power button continuously. I have an iPad as well which I am not fond of but it is ten times better than this. I have only listed a few of the problems here it really is full of bugs and is the least flexible of any computer I have owned.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
The pre-owned tablet was delivered in a short time and was exactly what was expected. My Mum was very pleased with her present. It was in full working order and complete with the charger. I would buy a pre-owned item from Amazon again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
It's compact, yet has a whole load of features including office (one of the main reasons I chose it) therefore I can do my work on the go. also an be updated to windows 8.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Bought this tablet for training and it works fine, the latest version of windows takes some getting used to, but the tablet itself is very good and of a good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I bought this product, thinking it would be good replacement for my netbook, having 2nd thoughts a lot is not supported on it such as Microsoft Silverlight for watching movies, the printer driver was not compatible even downloaded from manufactures website, Tried downloading from The App store very limited and frustrating still waiting for a reply back from Microsoft spending 300 quid on this was not happy and still not happy. Make sure you find out what you want to run on it and if it's compatible only to find out later it's not, my fingers and wallet got burnt
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)