Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, Mr Bond. I expect you to BUY!
This box set is incredible value for money. I already owned all the Connery DVDs as well as OHMSS and most of the Brosnans. When I decided to complete my Bond DVD collection I realised that it would be cheaper to just buy this box set and give my duplicates away rather than buy the individual titles I was missing. For the price, you get all the 20 Bond titles (exactly the...
Published on 4 Aug 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great blu-ray marred by cropped picture
Picture is in most respects superior to the original DVD. However the aspect ratio has been reduced. As a result some of the sides of the frame have been lost. All the extras from the single DVD have been ported over.
Published 21 months ago by Nigel L


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Licence to Kill, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licence to Kill [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Licence to Kill wonderful film timothy wonderful bond one of the best bond films in a long time shame he didnt do anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THERES NO BOND LIKE JAMES BOND, 20 Jun 2004
I bought this to replace my aging video collection , it arrived in a wonderfully made tin and then I spent three weeks watching ever Bond film over again.
Yes these movies may of not won any Oscars but their part of movie history, classics in their own style.
The best series and longest ever to made with a true action hero you can really belevie in.
I only gave this a 4stars as it missed out one classic movie "Never Say Never Again" which I feel is one of the best to made with Mr Connery.
This is {as always with Amazon} is a wonderful bargian price so snap it up before it goes out of stock and have a fun viewing of the best Spy England had to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it's predecessor, 31 Mar 2005
This review is from: Licence To Kill [DVD] (DVD)
LTK has received a lot of flak over the years, some of it justified but some of it rather harsh.
Timothy dalton is good, but perhaps just a litte too serious as the main man. His interpretation of the cynical burned out assasin envisioned by Ian Fleming is spot on - but perhaps he injects just a bit too much gravitas into the role he played so perfectly last time around. Having said that I'll take his LTK Bond any day over Roger Moore's daft quipping...
The villains are the strong point here, with the ensemble of Bond-girls being the weakest for a long time. Carrie Lowell and Talisa Soto are pathetic as the female leads ("I love James SO much"!), whilst Robert Davi is excellently evil as the drug lord Sanchez.
Action sequences are full of good editing and direction but often lack originality and don't come across as being as spectacular as you'd expect from a James Bond movie. You get the feeling that, apart from a few well done scenes, notably the aquatic sequences and Bond dangling from the side of the casino, there is no more here than any other by the numbers 80's action film.
LTK's saving grace lies in it's intensity, uncommon for a 007 flick, and it's well staged framing of one of the villains. Bond posing as an ally to the man he is out to kill makes for some interesting tension between the two leading men and eventually saves this entry from mere mediocrity.
If you've already seen The Living Daylights then check it out by all means - otherwise watch the former and see Timothy Dalton as the ultimate modern day James Bond.
- J.J
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licence To Kill [DVD] (DVD)
007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the Bond film most true to Ian Flemming's stories., 29 Jan 2007
By 
T.B. Falsename "TB" (Lochaline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Although not based directly on any particular bond book this story features scenes from many of the stories and is probably more bits from Flemming's stories in it than any other Bond film. Dalton _is_ the Bond of the books, hard when he has to be but resentful of some of the things his government asks of him and tiring of his life in the SIS. He also carries off Bond's caring side and his loyalty to his friends excellently.

Tragicly the cinema going public didn't apreciate turning Bond, from the slightly less serious, but still tough, versions of Connery and Lazenby and the clownish version Moore had played, back into the character Flemming created, that, and the fact that it wasn't widely publicised that this film more from Flemming's stories and so it was thought to be"not a real Bond story", led to it being rather less succesful than would have been liked and so Dalton's third bond film was axed in preproduction.

Thus ended the Bond career of easily the truest, and in my view the best, Bond actor so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Licence should have been revoked........., 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Licence to Kill [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I have to say as a big Bond fan, I think this is the worst of the series. It just does not even resemble a Bond film, it's more like an American Lethal weapon type rip off (ie bad men peddling drugs yet again for alarge part of the time, yawn). Timothy Dalton as Bond though I think is a vast improvement on Roger Moore, his films were enjoyably OTT but Dalton did bring a refreshing toughness back to the film, the camp humour having now gone (thankfully).

I also think it has an absolutely superb theme song sung by Gladys Knight, one of the very best of the Bond themes. A shame the film is so poor in other areas though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond.......You know the rest !, 21 Dec 2003
If you think this DVD boxset is a waste of money, you don't deserve having it !!!! I have had more mileage out of my boxset than my car !!!! C'mon spoil yourself ( you know you want to !!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "a farewell to small arms", 1 Sep 2002
By 
This film is a must have for Bond fans, it includes 2m shark sequences, a great airplane stunt, a tanker chase, an eye on the ladies and two stolen stinger missiles.
Its probably Timothy Daltons best bond performance.
Unfortunately no special documentaries but the original cinema trailer!
Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOND / EXCELLENT FILM, 8 Jan 2013
This review is from: Licence to Kill [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
ROGER MOORE WAS A FINE ACTOR & AN EXCELLENT BOND . HIS REPLACEMENT IN TIMOTHY DALTON WAS THE RIGHT CHOICE . TIMOTHY DALTON IS A BRILLIANT ACTOR WHO BROUGHT THE SERIOUSNESS BACK INTO BOND. THE STORY & TIMOTHY DALTON'S ACTING IS AMAZING - THIS IS WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST BOND MOVIE EVER MADE. IT WAS A SHAME THAT MR DALTON DIDN'T CARRY ON AS BOND AFTER THIS FILM. BUT HE HASN'T BEEN BEATEN AS YET .
SKYFALL WILL HAVE TO BE GOOD TO BEAT THIS FILM. THE ONLY WAY IT COULD DO THAT IS IF IT HAD A DIFFERENT ACTOR PLAYING BOND AS I THINK DANIEL CRAIG IS GARBAGE.
LONG LIVE TIMOTHY DALTON HE'S A LIVING LEGEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Better Bond movies, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Michael Cowell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licence to Kill [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This is probably one of the more Violent Bond movies feeding a guy's leg to a shark? That aside one of the better Bond movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Licence to Kill [Blu-ray] [1989]
Licence to Kill [Blu-ray] [1989] by John Glen (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews