Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing insight into the enigma who changed European golf
As we saw so poignantly at the Ryder Cup, the spirit of Seve Ballesteros remains an invigorating force in European golf - an enduring symbol of passion, determination and defiance.
Robert Green's book succeeds admirably as both a celebration and a rigorous examination of the elusive Spanish phenomenon who helped transform golf on so many levels over his tumultuous...
Published 21 months ago by Milotaur

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was looking forward to reading this book but I gave up after reading about 25%
It seemed to focus on details of the various shots played on various courses. I was hoping to hear more about the personality of Seve.
When you have played golf and you return to the clubhouse some golfers will tell you a stroke by stroke analysis of their round. If you enjoy...
Published 19 months ago by Purple Buyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed genius, indeed, 11 Feb 2013
By 
S. Lane "LadyPutt" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating insight into probably one of the most complex characters in the game of golf. Much of it came as a surprise to me and despite the writing style not being one to win any awards, it is highly recommended reading for any golf fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
I was looking forward to reading this book but I gave up after reading about 25%
It seemed to focus on details of the various shots played on various courses. I was hoping to hear more about the personality of Seve.
When you have played golf and you return to the clubhouse some golfers will tell you a stroke by stroke analysis of their round. If you enjoy hearing this you will enjoy reading this book. If not wait for another biography.
I anticipated that it would contain details of the thoughts of other professional golfers about Seve but it only touches on this. With the amount that I read it covers virtually nothing about his private life or his personal experiences. It may cover this in the latter stages but unfortunately I decided to give up as it just seemed to give great detail of a shot by shot description on various courses. It does not follow a chronological description of this great golfer but simply seem to covers his golf shots. I tried to skip a few pages but again it was concentrating on the detail of the shots that he played in various competitions.
If this is want you want to read then buy this book. It is well written but I found it boring. I can understand that some people will find it fascinating as they will want a shot by shot analysis but I found it very dull and slightly repetitive,
I was personally very disappointed as it was not the type of book that I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love golf and in particular thought of Seve a 'hero' ..., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
Having seen the film, where incidentally I did 'pipe a tear', I just had to read the book. I am used to the writings of Robert Geen through his days as Editor of Golf World and latterly Golf International magazine.
If you love golf and in particular thought of Seve a 'hero' then the book is an honest appraisal of the personality, warts and all!
A thoroughly absorbing book - worth recommending to any golf enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed book, lots of anecdotes I had not heard ..., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed book, lots of anecdotes I had not heard before. But felt was a bit light on his inter-personal interactions. Such an unusual character must have been very difficult to live with and his failed marriage suggests this was the case. Just felt author was being over protective about any flaws. But altogether a good read, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This needs to address the person, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
Steve was the most charismatic individual I would love to have met over dinner.He deserves a better epitaph than this book which,although interesting in parts,does not deliver what it says on the cover .Many of us want to know what Seve was really like as an individual.....unfortunately this update does not do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 12 Feb 2014
By 
D. J. Lynch "BlueDome" (Oldahm) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you only read one book about Seve this is it. Robert Green gives the reader a great insight into the workings of the genius mind of the worlds most dynamic and finally tragic golfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars . Enjoyabl read, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
Good read for golfers enjoyed it immensly. What a charismistic character Sevy was. He really made the Europan Tour what it is now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seve, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
Very informative. Enjoyed the detail behind a legend. More complex than one would believe or was aware of in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Marianne S. Battle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
One of the best reads I have had the pleasure to read, in some parts very sad , however what a great sportsman and an even better person. He will always be remembered as one of the greats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve: Golf's Flawed Genius (The Updated Definitive Biography) (Kindle Edition)
ONLY JUST STARTED READING THIS PARTICULAR BOOK ABOUT THIS INCREDIBLE PERSON BUT ALREADY CONFIRMS HOW HE WAS HELD IN SUCH HIGH ESTEEM BY HIS PEERS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews