Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars28
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.17
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2011
Luxury Yarn One-Skein Wonders: I have been knitting for years and have made all sorts of things,
but unfortunately I could not get on with this book. Visually it is a lovely book, great pictures and ideas BUT the way the instructions are laid out is a nightmare. It is very difficult to follow the patterns, you have the pattern description in one place, you have the "setting up" in another place then you have the pattern set out to follow on a chart. If knitting is new to you this is not the book for you. There were several things in the book I started to make and gave up in frustration in the end. This is definately not for beginners or for people who have been knitting for years unless you are very calm!!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Though there are lovely patterns in this book, the presentation of the book is astonishingly poor. All the projects are pictured in a section at the beginning of the book. Each item has just one picture - with no additional close-ups or different views of the items. There are no pictures with the instructions at all - and the instructions are not in the same order as the pictures. This makes it really difficult when browsing the projects to see what projects would work with the length of skein you have got.

This book is also "perfect bound". This means that individual cut pages are glued into the spine. This type of binding is fine for a cheap paperback novel that you might read a couple of times then throw away - it is not suitable for a book that should be kept for many years. In fact, the binding is so bad that after looking at this book just a few times the photo pages at the start are already falling out!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
The patterns are lovely and the layout is good. However the binding is really poor quality, I've had mine 1 month and pages are already coming out! Also it has quite a few baby items in...knitted in yarns that I would never knit for a baby in as they aren't washable! Also having looked at the publisher's errata there seem to be an awfully large number of errors in the patterns!

I like the book but have only given it 3 stars because of the mistakes and that it is falling apart when it has had very little use so far!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
Got this wonderful book of ideas on Saturday and am halfway through the Falling leaves scarf in Mohair, I wanted to experiment with different yarns and this book gives you the perfect excuse to do just that.
I wouldnt consider myself a very experienced knitter and haven't found this book offputting or daunting, the patterns are clear and anything that has been difficult I have simply looked up on Utube!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
I have bought the previous two One Skein wonders in this series and really liked them, but this one is my favourite. The layout of the book is lovely and I would enjoy looking at this book without ever knitting anything out of it! However, there are far too many beautiful items to knit that I am sure I will find many flying off my needles in the future. Having knit the Seed Stitch hat in four hours, it has now become my staple winter hat. The Bison Shawlette will be a must knit and I look forward to casting on lots of future projects. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
Although the book states 'luxury' yarn you can use any suitable yarn that you may have to hand.

This is a wonderful book for knitters who have single balls of yarn in their stash and are at a loss what to do with them. Some of the patterns do not even require a full ball so if you can work out your yardage for a lonely skein of yarn you might still be able to use it on one of the smaller items in the book.

There is a good range of patterns but don't expect any major knits - remember it is for single balls/skeins so no jumpers etc appart from a few baby knits.

Most of the patterns are fairly quick to knit up and the instructions are clear.

I would recommend this particular book to anyone who has lots of balls of yarn left from other projects.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
There are some great patterns in here, the yarns that are named are easily substituted for english indie dyers luxury yarns, and the patterns are well written but if you have only rigidly followed english patterns by the larger spinners or from english magazines you might struggle with these but if you have some experience of american patterns you should be fine, likewise if you are a novice you might find them hard work, but personally I think if you have made 2or3 items already you will cope ok. There are a nice mix of patterns, shawls, scarves, hats, babies, gloves, fingerless gloves etc. The layout of the book is all the photos are in the front and the patterns follow in a somewhat random order, this I find irritating. I run a knitting group and our members vary from quite new to knitting to expert and we could all make items from this book although some of the women found the lace items tricky due to the use of charts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Possible that it was due to the e-book format but pictures didn't match their numbering and not that easy to flip to and fro between pics and patterns. Only one or two patterns that I might use. Will be cautious about purchasing pattern books in e- format in future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Extremely good book, one knitters who can't resist those OOAK skeins at yarn fairs etc. will be happy to have. Helpfully, the book is split into sections according to yarn weight. There is a good variety of patterns; everything from scarves and socks, baby clothes to home accessories. If you don't have the exact yarn suggested, it's easy to substitue for the yarn you may have in your own stash. Great ideas, and great knits for last minute gifts. I would highly recommend this book, particularly as pretty much all the patterns are easily achievable by even a beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2011
Left over knitting wool - instead of just allowing it to accumulate - here is a book, with useful patterns that are well worth knitting up - using all kinds and thicknesses of wool. The patterns are clear, and uses will be found even for those small "end bits" you might be tempted to throw away.Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders: 101 Patterns That Go Way Beyond Socks!Storey Publishing-101 Designer One-Skein Wonders
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)