Customer Reviews


There are no customer reviews yet.  Create your own review
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Show took far too long to be reissued, 8 Feb 2013
By 
P. C. Ross "rossman" (Cleveland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Show Must Go On (Audio CD)
This is an outstanding 70s soul album. The first reviewer of this Album is absolutely right. I have had the LP of this for many years and it still gets regular plays. However it is a couple of the bonus tracks that are a revelation for me, the single version of So Tied Up comes across with more emotion than the version that appears as the final track on the LP. Signed Miss Heroin, while obviously indebted to James Browns King Heroin, is reminiscent of Norman Whitfield era Temptations. All in all a fantastic release that deserves to be at the top of the list of anyone interested in soul music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant artist, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show Must Go on (Audio CD)
Waited a long time for this cd to be released Sams voice is just amazing and it is a pity he is not afforded more airtime.Good timely service from supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real soul music, 29 Aug 2014
By 
B. Anderson (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
voted by many as one of the best soul albums of all time. for a real soul fan - a must for your collection. quality 70's soul that still sounds the business today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sam, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show Must Go on (Audio CD)
I have just purchased this C,D,not knowing what to expect. my god i am so glad i did , this is one of the best soul c,ds i have ever heard in my life, definately in my top 3.thank you amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disgrace it hasn't been on CD till now, 21 Feb 2013
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Show Must Go On (Audio CD)
As first two reviews say up there with the absolute very best soul albums of all time. I actually had my vinyl copy transferred to CD years ago but when Atalntic/Rhino released this as part of thier 30 great soul box set I couldn't resist Listen, enjopy and ask what happened to soul like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Show Must Go On (MP3 Download)
I was aware of the reputation of this album as a 'lost masterpiece of 70's soul' and of the talent of Dees both as a vocalist, mainly through the Ace/Kent CD issues of unreleased demos, and as a song writer via the multitude of hits he's written for other artists. Indeed, I saw him perform in London back in the 90's.

All in all this is a fine album - Dees has a versatile, expressive voice and he delivers songs in a variety of tempos and styles ranging from heartfelt ballads to funky groovers - maybe not quite living up to the reputation it has garnered over the years but nevertheless well worth a place in any soul music collection (albeit in mp3 format) especially at this very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy Soul, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On first listen, a little underwhelming. This album has grown on me now. Classy Soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great soul albums, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Show Must Go On (Audio CD)
Sam Dees is one of the great soul writer/singers, and this is one of the great soul albums. Anyone with an interest in soul music should own a copy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves the acclaim, 17 Mar 2013
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Show Must Go On (Audio CD)
A truly classic album and the peak of Sam's own recording. This release is long awaited and is in good sound quality and with extra tracks. Highly recommended to fans of the classic soul sound. It's not as immediate as more pop-soul sounds, it rewards relistening and will be returned to as a cherished album throughout your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy 'Second to None' instead, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Show Must Go On (Audio CD)
Firstly, I love Sam Dees' music, voice, production.. but after first hearing 'Second to None' (CD) with it's raw, emotion, arrangements, instruments, production... beautiful and moving.... this is not the same.

It features a lot of the same songs, but a commercial producer has got hold of it and destroyed it, awful! Sorry Sam, but Second to None is your legend.. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Show Must Go On
The Show Must Go On by Sam Dees (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews