Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this book for anyone who is pregnant or planning for a baby
I received this book as a gift and read it cover to cover when it arrived. It is well written and easy to read and I like the fact it explains exactly why certain foods should be avoided. It also has lots of useful features such as an A-Z guide, which is great for when you are cooking and want to check on a single ingredient, and a section on 'common questions' such as...
Published on 20 Jan 2009 by Mrs. L. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not completely useful
This book is good, absolutely. But the first few chapters are quite repetitive of a lot of info you get in books like What to Expect. The main thing that is different about this book is the A-Z list of what you can and cannot eat. But this list is far too short and many times what I was looking for wasn't on the list. And the author also takes a maybe stance on a lot of...
Published on 30 July 2011 by FR_2012


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this book for anyone who is pregnant or planning for a baby, 20 Jan 2009
I received this book as a gift and read it cover to cover when it arrived. It is well written and easy to read and I like the fact it explains exactly why certain foods should be avoided. It also has lots of useful features such as an A-Z guide, which is great for when you are cooking and want to check on a single ingredient, and a section on 'common questions' such as 'What should I do if I've eaten something I shouldn't'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really useful, 2 May 2009
By 
nino (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a useful little book. It cuts through all the rubbish and uncertainty that you hear about nutrition in pregnancy. A really good buy and interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Views of a new mum, 14 Oct 2008
By 
M. Drake "Mary" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was so good at putting all the information I needed in one easy to read place. The lists of foods made it easy to find out if I could safely eat them or not, and the explanations were short and logical so I understood what the underlying research was without having to plough through loads of confusing papers and articles. There were useful tips and info about what I should and shouldn't eat, along with information about supplements. I'm still using it now as there is also a section on what to eat whilst breastfeeding. A great buy and so useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, guiding u not only about the food, but about what to do before conception, during pregnancy, health issues and warning signs during pregnancy and more. Very useful for anyone who plans pregnancy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very nice guide to know what you can and you can't eat, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great. You can have information about the nutrients you need and how to get them. Also is very down to earth regarding alcohol, coffee, tobacco and others. No morals just more real information. The greatest is the list of foods that you can consult it to know if it is safe or not to eat and how much you can. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant & informative, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book which highlights every possible food group so you feel comfortable eating out etc without any worries. Also gives detailed information on what to eat to provide certain nutrients etc to your baby and info on vitamins.
Covers grey areas such as myths on eating shellfish etc.
Small enough to pop into your handbag also...if like me you lug a huge one around with you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concise food bible, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this really helpful during my first pregnancy as it dispels a lot of old wives tales and historic out of date thoughts, which would otherwise restrict your diet.
E.g. Raw eggs - it is fine to eat them if they are stamped with the British Safety Kitemark as this means that the hens have been vaccinated against salmonella
E.g. Prawns - you can eat them hot in say a curry, but you shouldn't eat them cold say in a buffet sandwich
E.g. Blue cheese - again you can eat it piping hot in say a soup

There is a useful alphabetical look up index at the back - great for those quick "should I eat this, or not" decisions!
Also covers what is / isn't safe to eat when breast feeding.

Overall, a really helpful little book to keep in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good - easy to read and remember, 8 Mar 2014
By 
S. Hammerton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Out of all the books on things you can and can't eat when preggers, i'd reccomend this one. Its not too big so is the kind of book thats not too heavy to read in bed, had lists of things you can and can't eat, not patronising, hints etc for how to eat for conception, and also after birth, and miscarriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All information you will need, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Up to date, backed up by research, easy to grasp and all information on eating during pregnancy that you will need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my bible for the first few month before i committed it to memory. It is in plain English and the A to Z is invaluable. It details what you should be eating for the benefit of the baby but also what you should avoid. The explanations around this are good making you understand the reason rather than just following it blindly.
Would 100% recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf60315c)

This product

What to Eat When You're Pregnant
5.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews