Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business planning as fun too!, 19 Dec 2011
I have not met many entrepreneurs who actually enjoy taking out the time needed to put a proper business plan in place. After all, we could use that time to make some sales calls, think up some new ideas... and the list goes on. However, Vaughan Evans has shown in this excellent book that business planning is not only essential for success but it can also be a whole lot of fun - especially when you succeed in raising the capital you need to start or grow your business.

The book also throws up some strategic insights along the way - I particularly liked the details on building relationships with clients and will be implementing some of the ideas on offshore outsourcing. This book will prove useful for both new and experienced entrepreneurs.

Loxley McKenzie, Managing Director, Colordarcy Investment Ltd - AIPP Awards Winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish this book had been around a year ago!, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Having been in the exact position of being asked to produce a business plan and not knowing where to start, Vaughan Evans has produced a book which would have been invaluable to me in realizing my objective without the sweat and toil that I experienced. I like the fact that it is particularly user friendly, setting down the essential preparation before launching into the essentials required for the business plan and finishing with not just advice on the conclusion but also on an executive summary. There is a useful and lively case study on a small hotel/spa business plan that runs throughout each chapter, but it also cleverly extracts the lessons from real life examples that we can readily relate to, from Lonely Planet to LoveFilm, The Beatles to Woolworths. This book is a must for managers and entrepreneurs looking to impress the people that matter - those that will provide the backing, be it your board, your bank manager or an outside investor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Paul Arwas (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am usually a bit skeptical about "how to" books, they are either motherhood and apple pie or a bit like an IKEA instruction manual (i.e. some crucial bits of information are missing). You can't accuse this book of either fault. It is admirably clear, covers all the topics that anyone writing a business plan needs to and has some interesting insights into how to make a business plan appealing to backers. All in all worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invest in this book and win investment for your business!, 4 Nov 2013
When you watch Dragons' Den and see how ill-structured some of the pitches are, you may think to yourself that this is entertainment, this is TV, and in the real world business people are much more rigorous in their pitches and plans. Not so. What you see on TV is very often what investors and bankers see before them - plans which represent little more than wishful thinking. What financiers need is analytical rigour. They want to know that there is a market for what is being sold, that there aren't a bunch of other guys doing more or less the same thing to attack this market and that this business will generate more revenue than cost.

Vaughan Evans's guide to business planning views the whole process from the backer's perspective. If you set out what they need, you have every chance of winning their backing. If you don't, you won't. It is clearly written, full of lively examples and packed with insight. It could be the best investment you'll make in setting up or growing your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When passion meets planning, 30 Mar 2012
Well, we've seen them on tv - those aspiring entrepreneurs, long on passion but short on next year's forecast sales and profit figures.
Sometimes even last year's performance is rendered vague and unquantified. But, as Vaughan Evans points out in this excellent guide to creating a business plan, backers need evidence as well as passion before they sign up to an investment. That's the strength of this book - it is slanted towards the initial market for the business plan - the backer - and once that perspective is established, the criteria and priorities follow. The author has clearly immersed himself in hundreds of business plans which enable him to take the entrepreneur or executive logically through the composition of the plan using tools, techniques and research. He especially stresses the need to analyse competitors - competition is good news in that it suggests that there is indeed a market for the product or service but the degree of intensity will greatly help to determine the strategic positioning of the business within its market. The central case of a couple running a spa hotel and restaurant in Devon is accessible by everyone, very illustrative of the planning process and wittily described. The many tools and techniques are also presented with illustrative examples and there are some engaging quotes at the chapter headings including this gem from Vaclav Havel: "Vision is not enough, it must be combined with venture. It is not enough to stare at the steps, we must step up the stairs." If I have a criticism it is that, after the first few pages, the use of business terminology is by no means light so a jargon buster at the start would therefore help. Moreover, for the less experienced, the drafting of the plan may well be put together in consultation with a professional eg an accountant so a section on how to plan with professional help (without getting ripped off) might be useful. So whether you have a business education or just a good idea, the book will help transform what can be an intimidating challenge into a well-informed, skilful task that might just make the difference in attracting a backer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to follow, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I was asked to write a business plan in work and as I've never written one before I needed some guidance on where to start.

The book was very easy to follow and I was happy with the format and layout of the plan that I produced following the books guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's very helpful..., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
and the best, most accessible guide that I have found on this topic. It's also worth checking out another of his books, being Key Strategy Tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Step-by-step guide to writing the perfect business plan - full of great hints and tips and other very useful resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well what can I say, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best buts this year starting a business plan is a base for any business women/man so
I recommend this an awful lot .
10/10
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If this were £500K of Consulting it would STILL be worth it!, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll keep this short. If you are writing a business plan for the first time then you need this book.If you are writing (as I was) a business plan having secured funding for previous ventures you still need this book. It is laser beam focused on getting the right information in front of the right person (your potential backer). I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews