Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 6 Nov 2014
A really good book on job interviews - very informative and relevant to the subject. Just wondering now, how come I am only chancing on it now. Good stuff. I also recommend one titled “100 Job Interview Success” – small and handy book

http://www.amazon.co.uk/100%25-JOB-INTERVIEW-Success-Interviewers/dp/1909326232/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1415021814&sr=8-2&keywords=marricke+kofi+gane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first borrowed this from the library and it was so good I had to have my own copy. It has helped me overcome nerves in an interview situation ! Even family and friends have used it with great success. To me being of a certain age shall we say, naturally i had been easily successful at interviews in my past but these days it is actually more competitive than ever.I began to doubt myself on one of my interviews as I was shortlisted for a job that really appealed to me but why didn't I nail it ?? This book helped to clarify and bring me right up to the minute on expectations, and even expanding on realistic easy to use techniques. Please do not hesitate to have this book, you won't regret it! You will wish you had it read it a long time ago !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book was very useful, it does point out some obvious things but has some really good stuff in there that I used at assessment centres
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes interviewing a piece of cake!, 2 Mar 2012
By 
S. Rowan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic book, packed full of useful and useable information about how to maximise your interview performance. John covers every angle of the interview process from what to wear, how to prepare and how to be at your best in a range of interview situations - covering the traditional interview scenario to preparing for assessment centres, presentations and panel interview. But more than that - he asks the reader to reflect carefully on what exactly it is they have to offer and how to weave this into a cohesive career narrative, and the implications of this approach will help the reader not just prepare for the interview but also to make significant breakthroughs in their broader career thinking - and that is the true gift of this book. As a coaching psychologist, I have a list of 'must read' books for my clients, and I will certainly be adding The Interview Expert to that list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interview preparation 'must have', 17 Jan 2012
This has been invaluable in terms of the do's and don'ts of preparation. It's particularly helpful if you are in a situation where you haven't had a job interview for many years. I found the section on handling interview nerves particularly useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only interview book you'll need, 17 Jan 2012
Comprehensive, practical, encouraging and wise - John Lees' book on interviews would be the first I'd recommend. I've seen many careers books over the years, and this one stands out for its clever, non-patronising advice, tailored to anyone attending an interview - whether you're applying for your first job, are looking to switch jobs within a company, or are contemplating a move to somewhere else altogether. Lees knows all there is to know about the modern job market, and he has packaged his extensive knowledge into this useful guide. Don't hesitate to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put a rocket in your pocket, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. J. Childs "Julian Childs" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As several hundred of my own clients can attest, I'm a big fan of John Lees' work - and this new book (I believe his first for Pearson?), adds invaluable potency to an already powerful armoury of careers management tools.

Once you've decided on a target field and packaged your experience, skills and ambitions to persuade the hirer to invest real time to meet you, the job is almost in the bag. But the one remaining hurdle is a biggie: to clinch the deal you MUST prepare, think, believe, speak and behave as though the job is already yours! Get any of this wrong and you automatically introduce doubt to the interview and provide reasons to compare you unfavourably with others.

So do yourself a favour and buy this book. Its 180 or so straight-talking pages contain an astonishing wisdom with piercing easy-to-read insights that will transform your performance in a matter of hours. And if you're daft enough to wait until 'interview eve', then please cut straight to Chapter 21 and read it on the bus. It will certainly put a rocket in your pocket, and could just land you the job. Happy reading - and very best of luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does more than it says on the label, 26 Jan 2012
Don't be fooled by the title.
This book isn't just about performing well at interviews; it centres on the way to answer questions by being able to tell stories and bringing the thinking about these stories, rather than a last minute task, to a place much earlier in the job application process, so helping with more focussed approach to the CV, covering letter and initial screening telephone interview.
Once you master this technique it cannot but help you improve in confidence in any day-to-day situation where you find a need to explain things or make presentations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 19 Jan 2012
By 
The Interview Expert is a must for job seekers - having overcome the challenge of securing an interview, John Lees provides an invaluable perspective on how to transform your performance at interview and gain that all important edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must read!, 17 Jan 2012
I Would recommend this book to anyone who is job hunting or looking to switch jobs. Lots advice on how to make the right impact at interview. Whether you haven't had an interview for years, new to the job market or just want to make sure that you give the best performance on the day this book is for you. A definite must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews