Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angels Without Wings: Heidi Talbot - I'm not sorry for listening to this delightful record
The folk scene in Britain is incredibly strong at the moment, and Celtic influenced folk in particular is enjoying quite a renaissance with many great artists from Scotland and Ireland making some absolutely stunning music. Irish songbird Heidi Talbot is right up at the forefront, making some really gorgeous music with her sweet, lilting and emotive voice.

This...
Published 21 months ago by Victor

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks but a voice too sweet
I love many of the tracks and much of the musicianship on this album but I struggle to get on with Heidi's voice. It is surely sweet but to my ear this becomes sickly and slightly shrill, lacking warmth, depth or edge. I'll have to accept that Heidi's voice is not for me and stick to others for my folk fix.
Published 21 months ago by Emma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Angels, 13 May 2013
By 
M. Thompson "Music Lover" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
Never heard of Heidi or her music until
I heard her song on Radio 2. What a lovely
sound. I play it often now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
What an album this is.

No fanfares, no exhibitions from any of the array of highly talented musicians that accompany a girl with a sublimely sweet voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angels Without Wings CD, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
Brilliant compilation of music. A very talented artist and will keep a look out for more of her songs. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
As ever Heidi's voice is so mesmerizing, drawing you in to real enjoyment. "Will I Ever Get to Sleep" is my favourite as it has everything you love in an HT track.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Her finest album yet, with strong collaborations, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
Heidi Talbot is partner to the popular folk music producer and performer John McCusker. She has excellent connections with a strong cast of 21 writers and supporting musicians listed in the accompanying CD booklet. The danger with so many fingers in the pie is that the resulting record could come out as a bit of a dog's breakfast, with too many diverse influences watering down the final product. However, I am happy to report that this is not the case, Heidi's singing is a consistent thread, the album is classily produced. One of my favourite writers Boo Hewerdine helps compose 4 tracks, other notable guest appearances include Mark Knopfler, Karine Polwart , Andy Cutting and King Creosote. Perhaps the only minor observation is that when compared with some of her fellow female folk contemporaries her singing maybe glides past a bit too smoothly, and just sometimes she could let go a bit more and show a bit more passion with some rough edges. It is all very tastefully done , and more polished and consistent than some of her previous albums, and probably represents her career highlight to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but ..., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
Good, but perhaps not quite as good as her previous albums ["Distant Future", "The Last Star" and "In Love + Light"] in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tuneful and beautifully performed. Heidis' voice works beautifully with the songs chosen and the album has a mix of the joyous and the sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An irish singer with a very distinctive voice, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Michael Wadge (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
This is the second CD of Heidi Talbot I have purchased and I enjoy it every bit as much as the first. Her voice is both fragile and beautiful and in the main the songs bring her undoubted talents to the fore. I particularly enjoyed Dearest Johnny, Button Up, the Loneliest and New Cajun Waltz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Angel with Great Voice, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
Another very good album from Heidi with collaborations with a number of famous names. Only complaint is a weak ending to an otherwise great selection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Folk, 7 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Keith D. Elms (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Without Wings (Audio CD)
I loved every track . I had heard of Heidi Talbot but this was my first CD . Brilliant. I will buy more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels Without Wings
Angels Without Wings by Heidi Talbot (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews