Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2013
This is a classic early recording from Dylan, most die hard fans would have this already in their collection from early bootlegs, however it's good to see it come out in this "official" package, some original material along with the traditional songs Dylan was performing at this stage of his development into the folk scene, great songs with in-between banter.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
It's remarkable to have a tape of Bob Dylan playing to around 50 paying customers at the Finjan Club in Canada in 1962 while he is the throes of recording his second album and has written - and playing - Blowin in the Wind, but before he has recorded it.

There is a downside to this CD, however, which is that it does suffer from the problems of its transfer from an early reel to reel tape. There is very audible flutter on the first two tracks and also track 5, Rocks and Gravel. There are drop outs. And there is a few moments of silence in the final track, presumably where the tape has at some point broken and been mended.

That said, and even given that 3 tracks are not that great to listen to, I would recommend this to anyone with an interest in the young Bob Dylan. The sleevenotes say this is his only performance of Hiram Hubbard (and it is excellent); and I hadn't heard Dylan play Two Trains Running, Ramblin on My Mind or Muleskinner Blues before hearing this CD. These confirm his ability to make new the familiar, and show how much his early writing is of a piece with a very extensive repertoire of folk and blues.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This CD is quite enjoyable overall. Very comfortable and relaxing music playing. Considering it was recorded half a century ago under such a casual occasion, the remastered sound is really quite good & natural, much better than many so-called audiophile re-mastered limited edition CDs from the USA which I have wasted lots of money in. Since I ordered from outside EU, I have VAT exemption, which makes it even a better buy. I also ordered the vinyl version. I hope more reissue labels can reissue more of this kind of music at this reasonable price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Many years ago I acquired a lot of Dylan material on reel-to-reel including a version of the "Gaslight Tapes"
which includes this material, which Paul Cable's (old) book remarks was in some quarters believed to be recorded
in Montreal.

I bought this CD because of the version of "Two Trains Running". I can still remember the first time I heard it on the tape all those years ago. I believe it to be one of his best blues performances,certainly up there with "In my time of Dying" on
his first album, and far better than "Fixin' to Die" there.

There are some other good performances, and then CD fizzles out with a failed attempt to sing an old Jack Elliot classic
Muleskinner Blues. If you have any interest in early Dylan you have to get it for "Two Trains Running"; it appears
on the "Minnesota Party Tape", but this is later, and a much more mature performance.

So why only 4 stars? Well, back in my bootleg collecting days, my heart
used to sink (just a little) at the prospect of hearing another version
of Emmett Till. In his songs about specific atrocities, there is a
remarkable evolution from this song, through "Oxford Town", "Davey
Moore" and "Hattie Carroll", culminating in the magnificent "Only a Pawn".

To be fair, the last verse of Emmett Till is pretty good.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Asked to stay on in Montreal, Canada in July '62 after performing a four-night engagement in the City
Dylan's performance at this small club was recorded on a British made reel-to-reel tape recorder, a recording
which is now on this Finjan Club Album. Great for Folk and Dylan fans, an early History
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Nice work Bob that we did not hear when it was first rendered so the original Bob Dylan and friends comes through with some excellent original writers' productions. Harsh in places but that is how it was in the early 1960s and even until 1970s. Thanks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Just simple at his raw best, you understand why he was the voice of the generation. It really takes takes me back
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Having being a fan of Bob Dylan for almost 50yrs i think i have every album he has made, but these mystery cds keep cropping up much to my delight.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Great recording quality but needed a bit of judicial editing (courtesy of Sound Studio - indispensable!) to improve the flow. Over 50 years ago...good grief! Been listening to Bob all this time...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Bob Dylan live and raw but I love this cd. I would not hesitate to recommend this to any Dylan fan. Just go and buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.