Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the PBF you can need
This book technically contains all the PBF done, including some never-published strips and personal comments and an interview. All of this is packed in a nicely produced book with a colourful hard cover and a generous size.

I personally love the style of these strips, and would have rated it 5 stars. The reason for not doing so is that I love the strips so much...
Published on 13 April 2009 by Mr. X

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unnecessary
If you already own "The Perry Bible Fellowship: Trial of Colonel Sweeto and Other Stories", there's not much need for this one. Yes, it has a few other works and samples in progress, but you're better off having a quick browse of it at the book store than weighing your shelf beyond the best already contained in Colonel Sweeto.
Published on 20 Aug 2009 by quixotic won


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the PBF you can need, 13 April 2009
By 
This book technically contains all the PBF done, including some never-published strips and personal comments and an interview. All of this is packed in a nicely produced book with a colourful hard cover and a generous size.

I personally love the style of these strips, and would have rated it 5 stars. The reason for not doing so is that I love the strips so much that I had previously (when it appeared) bought the previous book (Trial of...). Lovely book too, but the differences in content between the too are rather minimal. More pages? Yes, but now you have one bigger strip per page. Luckily this book is not too expensive.

So, go for it if you don't have the previous book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I shouldn't laugh, but..., 18 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bizarre, frequently disturbing and often just plain silly, Perry Bible Fellowship is an online comic strip boasting gorgeous artwork and a unique sense of humour. It's not a million miles from The Far Side, but with a jet-black streak that somehow manages to elicit sympathy for the characters even while you're laughing.

Despite the colourful drawings and alluring cover this is not a book for kids.

The Perry Bible Fellowship Almanack is far superior to previous PBF publication 'The Trial of Colonel Sweeto' as it doesn't just have all the comics found in that edition, but every strip ever published, plus extras including an interview with the creator and comics that have never previously been available.

This alone should be enough to tempt any PBF fan, but it's also worth noting that this gorgeous hardback is the kind of thing you'll be happy to have on display in the living room. They could have packed two or more strips together, but each comic is enlarged and given its own page. The book is surprisingly big, the paper from good quality stock and it has a reassuring weight to it, which make its relatively low price a pleasant surprise.

If you've never experienced PBF before and enjoy dark, absurd humour then you're in for a treat. Don't read it online first, just buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in the biblical sense, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"The Perry Bible Fellowship" is an online strip and this edition is a collected version of those strips printed on lovely glossy paper and bound in hardback and cloth. Each page contains one strip which is a variant of 1-4 panels often drawn in varying styles. Nicholas Gurewitch is a master illustrator and can draw all kinds of ways from straight realism, to 19th century Japanese woodcuts, to 1980s NES games, to early 20th century pulp detective comics, to surrealist Dali-esque paintings, to mimicking such famous illustrators as Edward Gorey, Quentin Blake, and Bil Keane. The drawing styles are just one amazing aspect of Gurewitch's talents, the other is his fantastic sense of humour. There are literally hundreds of strips here but I've picked out a few that I really laughed at.

Miggs - Gangster gets surprise birthday cake and out jump puppies. Final panel shows a party at the Kennel Club with a birthday cake where sits a gangster with a smoking tommy gun surrounded by dead guests.

Kitty Photographer - a man taking a picture of a cat when suddenly a naked baby runs away from his mother into the photographer's sight line when he takes the picture. The photoshop developers call the police when they see the picture and the photographer is sent to jail where he's beaten up by Nazi skinheads.

Way Too Much - a "Family Circus" type story where the father gives his son $20 for a tooth that's fallen out. The final panel shows a load of kids with bloody mouths, having knocked all of their teeth out with a baseball bat.
Guntron Alliance Force - a manga-esque strip which shows 5 heroes as they merge their machines into a giant gun that fires a bullet at the evil robot scorpion. The final panel shows just 4 heroes with the one that was the bullet missing.

Food Fight - a fat relief worker in a famine struck third world country calls out "Food Fight!" in the middle of lunch with several starving kids. Another relief worker walks over and slaps him.

The Dreamcatcher 3000 - some scientists devise a machine that lets you see what the person is dreaming. They demonstrate in front of a group of investors and see that the dream is a kinky S&M fantasy. The last panel shows them huddled around a liquor bottle saying "...an entire year's worth of funding...gone..."

Those are just some of the highlights in this brilliant collection. It's a fantastic read that I know many people will love. It's great for comics fans, great for fans of comedy, a great read for just about anyone. Check out his website for more tasters of his stuff and then buy this wonderful book full of twisted humour and magnificent drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth having on paper, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most (but not all) of the contents of this book is available free online. I'm still delighted with my decision to buy the book. You get a little bit more, and a far superior reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book Love PBF humour, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are PBF fun this is a great present to your self, quality binding and hardcover, few extra comic strips not available online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful book. I bought this as a gift for my brother, I'm thinking about whether to just keep it for myself. Hilarious, clever and gorgeous artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hilarious comic. I couldn't have picked a better gift for myself. I don't know what else to say about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A high-quality collection of some of the funniest comic strips you can read., 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, very funny strips, one of my favourites. Each strip get's it's own page, and the book itself is of very high quality.
The best panals are the ones where you have to work it out, and the joke slowly dawns on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Jan 2012
I bought this for my brother in law for his birthday, having seen a small cartoon strip that Nick Gurewitch had published in the UK version of Maxim magazine in about 2004. I found the website by chance, and the link for the book on Amazon from there. One of the sharpiest, funniest, wittiest, driest cartoonists I have ever seen. The brilliance is the simplicity. 3-4 frames have summed up whole scenarios, and left me in stitches, and the artistry is really amazing. Buy this book for anyone you know with a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great priniting, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As some other reviewer said "All of this is packed in a nicely produced book with a colourful hard cover and a generous size.". It's a very beautiful book at a great price. You might already know that most (not all!) of the content is freely available online, but at this price it's so much better to have such a high quality print in your hands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perry Bible Fellowship Almanack
£5.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews