Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate presentation
Sure, the content of this book is freely avaliable online, on valve's site no less, but that's not why I bought it and that's not why you're intrested in buying it. If you want a physical copy of the the Left 4 Dead comic 'The Sacrifice', The TF2 comics from WAR! through to 'Meet the Director' and Portal 2's 'Lab Rat' all in one collection, then you cannot go wrong with...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by James

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable on any device!
I've just bought the Kindle version of this book for my son's birthday - total waste of money because it's impossible to actually read it! I knew it would be in black and white but I didn't expect that it would be a physical impossibility to read any of the text! We've tried it on the pc reader and it isn't compatible. So now I'm £6.11 out of pocket with a useless Kindle...
Published 15 months ago by lacampbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate presentation, 17 Jan 2012
Sure, the content of this book is freely avaliable online, on valve's site no less, but that's not why I bought it and that's not why you're intrested in buying it. If you want a physical copy of the the Left 4 Dead comic 'The Sacrifice', The TF2 comics from WAR! through to 'Meet the Director' and Portal 2's 'Lab Rat' all in one collection, then you cannot go wrong with this book.

The presentation is immaculate. It's big (slightly bigger than a sheet of A4 paper), it's a hardback, and no expense has been spared in its production. The print is of the highest quality, the pages are thick, and the cover art is beautiful.

Basically this book isn't going to live in my bookshelf. It's going to live ON it. It's an artwork to display, with the feature that you can open it up and and be bowled over by the skill of Valve's artists in their ability to create such distinctive signature styles for each title. If you have any appreciation for the art created by the visionaries at Valve, or any intrest in comics whatsoever, you owe yourself this book (read: artwork).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sacrifice at all..., 11 Aug 2013
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Valve Presents: The Sacrifice and other Steam-Powered Stories Volume 1 [Hardback version from Dark Horse Books].

My players of games are also readers of books of all kinds.

This is a win win win and really no sacrifice at all.

Left 4 Dead, Team Fortress 2 and Portal 2 game related stories rendered as brilliant graphics that take your imagination even further.

202 pages of Valve inspired Dark Horse Comics goodness.

After the machines have gone quiet and the screens gone dark, these pages get turned.

This is volume 1, is it too much to hope that there might be volume 2 waiting somewhere ?

Cake anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect for what i wanted and arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a gift, the art work was amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery, ideal present, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prompt delivery, nice quality and ideal for any valve fan, when the games aren't enough! Bought for a friend I play left4dead with, went down very well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holy banana, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valve Presents Volume 1: The Sacrifice and Other Steam-Powered Stories (Kindle Edition)
This book is so awesome I had to o read it twice just because it's so good . And if your a valve fan this book is perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The "Graphic Novel" was delivered on time, within 3 days I believe, which was good, and it was in perfect condition! I recommend this for anyone, even if they have not played: Portal, TF2, or Left for Dead. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book..., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seriously, this book is just awesome. Never before have I fallen in love with a near-naked Australian with Australian shaped chest hair, and the ability to jump through windows and beat up hippies... I feel somewhat enlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 April 2013
By 
Pudding (Mitcham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have struggled to get my son to read books but this seems to have got him very excited as its all about video games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Valve Presents Volume 1: The Sacrifice and Other Steam-Powered Stories (Kindle Edition)
I just thought it was generally brilliant because it was cool to see that valve could actually publish a book that is a new story of valve games that is very funny and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews