Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny.
In 'Silver Linings Playbook' Bradley Cooper's bi- polar character, newly released from a psychiatric hospital, is determined to regain the love of his estranged wife, who he is bound by a restraining order from getting within 500 yards of. Into his life comes Jennifer Lawrence's 'Tiffany,' a straight talking widow working through her own 'issues' as she deals with her...
Published on 1 Dec. 2012 by lordbrett

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring
I normally like strange dramas like this but the story felt very long and boring. I did not even finish the film.
Published 9 months ago by kleather


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny., 1 Dec. 2012
In 'Silver Linings Playbook' Bradley Cooper's bi- polar character, newly released from a psychiatric hospital, is determined to regain the love of his estranged wife, who he is bound by a restraining order from getting within 500 yards of. Into his life comes Jennifer Lawrence's 'Tiffany,' a straight talking widow working through her own 'issues' as she deals with her husband's death. What evolves from here is the effect these two damaged and abrasive individuals have on each other in a progressively funny, touching and yes, uplifting film.

Indeed it is an often laugh out loud experience with much of the humour coming from both characters inability not to say whatever is on their mind. Occasionally though, just as you are laughing, a scene edges into drama and reveals the darker side of their personalities and how their behaviour affects those close to them and we are reminded that these characters are not simply just `wacky' or `quirky' but are complex people living with a degree of mental illness that sometimes manifests itself through frustration and violence.

Bradley Cooper is good in the lead role but the stand out is Jennifer Lawrence who sparkles when on screen and proves here that she can handle comedy as well as sci- fi {'Hunger Games'} and indie {'Winter's Bone.'} The praise she has gotten for this role is fully justified. Watch the scene where she takes on Robert Deniro {as Cooper's father} to be impressed by her talent.

In the last quarter the film basically ditches the theme of mental illness and lets it's 'rom com' heart loose going for a more typical 'Hollywood' ending as it races towards a largely sentiment and schmaltz free conclusion in a dance competition plot climax.

A hugely enjoyable and funny film that should'nt be taken too seriously and is probably only worth 4 stars but gets an extra one just for Jennifer Lawrence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching and funny - great curl up on the sofa flick, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It might be Jennifer Lawrence who nabbed the Oscar, but this film is a real step up for Cooper. The premise is simple, two mentally unstable people find away to cope by being together, and unfortunately the whole thing is a little predictable.
That said, the film is full of great performances that really sizzle. I particularly liked De Niro's turn as a OCD bookmaker, and the sparks between Lawrence and Cooper are excellent.
Not quite light-hearted enough to be an out-right rom-com, but plenty of humour keeps the topic of mental illness from becoming too somber and depressing.
Touches of Juno and Little Miss Sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelsior, 2 May 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Want to meet a family obsessed? Welcome to Pat's family. Pat played by Bradley Cooper has signed himself out of a Baltimore Mental Facility, his mother, Delores, played by JackiWeaver, picks him up. Another patient wants a ride home, but Delores finds out he is not released. Home they go to Pat, Sr played by Robert DeNiro. This may be Deniro's best role in awhile. He plays an obsessed Philly Eagles fan, he bets money and runs an illegal game. He can't go to the stadium because he was kicked out for fighting. Pat, Jr 's goal is to get back with his wife. He caused some violence in their marriage and went for therapy in Baltimore in lieu of jail. He has been diagnosed as Bi-polar. The family obsessed!

That is the intro, into the mix comes Tiffany, played by Jennifer Lawerence, a young widow who has played around a lot. She has a goal to enter a dance contest and needs a partner, enter, Pat Jr. A rollicking funny, fast , sad time ensues, and we meet more family and friends. This is a love story and a story about people with problems who try to find their way.

Deniro's deserved an Oscar or his role. I loved his character. JackiWeaver, Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were all terrific. A terrific film. I urge everyone to see it.

Recommended. prisrob 05-02-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Man, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
In a year of predictable,forgettable movies , "Silver Linings Playbook" is by far the best film that I have seen so far. It stands out by a mile from all of the dross that I have watched in the cinema and on DVD. It has great acting, memorable characterisation and likeable (if often abrasive) characters. The film also portrays mental illness in an exceptional way, as both of the leading figures are mentally disturbed following bereavement and marital break up.Bradley Cooper plays a man who has just been released from a mental institution following a violent assault on his wife's lover after he caught them in flagrante in the shower together. However Cooper believes that despite his wife's restraining order he can fix up their marriage again. Cooper starts the film off as a manic character who perhaps should have stayed in an institution,rather than return to live with his parents. However he calms down a lot after he meets Jennifer Lawrence's Tiffany, a recently widowed young woman who has gone off the rails like him. Together they form a friendship which calms them both down and they start dancing together as therapy and enter a competition. However Cooper still seems fixated on reconciling with his wife , while Lawrence forms deep feelings for him. Will the well matched pair get it together in the end and help put an end to the mania and craziness that is affecting their lives ? I liked this film as it was ultimately warm hearted and I thought how lucky Cooper's character was to be surrounded by so much love and support from family and friends, when without that he could have been condemned to a life in a mental institution. In reality characters like him may well be shunned by former friends, by the opposite sex and rejected by embarrassed family members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Lawrence is outstanding, 10 Jan. 2013
I don't think I can wait any longer for this film to come out on DVD. I think it shows perfectly the amazing acting talent that is the stunning Jennifer Lawrence. This film is light, funny and enthralling for saying it has a focus on mental illness. Definitely a feel good film, with great lead characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sexy, dramatic and wacky, 10 April 2013
Having witnessed the impact of bi-polar on a family up-close and personal, I can relate to much of the darker content in this movie.

Jennifer Lawrence shines on the screen as a simmering but broken soul who pairs up and faces off against Bradley Cooper beautifully.

The sexual tension and chemistry between the actors is tangible, but for me it was Robert De Niro's performance as Bradley's OCD-suffering father than was both a roller-coaster of emotions and very sweet indeed.

This movie does not make light of mental illness, but shows the full spectrum of a movie from wacky romcom to serious commentary on how mental illness is still stigmatised and misunderstood.

Loved the movie and fell in love with Jennifer Lawrence for a second time having already watched The Hunger Games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected. In a good way., 13 May 2013
By 
J. Watkin "Jessica09" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At the beginning of this film I had no idea what was going on. I expected typical formula, soppy rom com, however I was very surprised, but in a good way!

The two characters in this film are messed up and flawed yet perfect for eachother. Bradley Cooper's character seems incapable of seeing beyond his one man mission to win over his estranged ex wife.

I kind of expected it to have an unhappy ending...and I won't spoil it but I was surprised again. It wasn't some little indie flick trying to be dark and twisted. It was a realistic portrayal of REAL people with REAL problems.

This is the best romantic film I've seen in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing movie, well worth watching, 16 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was recomended to me by a very close friend who has experience in the field of Bi-polar illness, she explained that the film was as close to reality that it is possible to get without actually making a documantary featuring bi-polar patients.
Having watched this film twice now I beleive I have to agree whole heartedly with her, this is a very powerful film sensitively directed by David O. Russell and suberbly acted by the two lead characters Bradley Cooper (Pat) and Jennifer Lawrence (Tiffany)
It is an amazing film and well worth watching. this film has gone straight in to my permanent collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring, 3 Oct. 2014
I normally like strange dramas like this but the story felt very long and boring. I did not even finish the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alot to take in but such a great film if understood, 30 July 2013
By 
I have spent the last 3 years with someone with the same condition, attitude and life's struggles. I would not have understood this film if it wasn't for that. I would have liked it but not loved it. It has helped me understand more about how much a rollercoaster life can be or just a moment. The strongest people are the ones who can be the weakest or lowest in life. Very well acted and dealt with in a way I think is worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews