Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • II
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2013
Hot on the heels of the recent Tame Impala (and Melody's Echo Chamber) albums comes this second effort from Unknown Mortal Orchestra - I guess this means that slacker psyche now almost constitutes a minor trend or wave. What is striking about these groups is that they combine a loose lo-fi homemade stoner sprawl of fuzzed out sound with immaculate pop tunes & hooks - a rare combination last spotted in the days of My Bloody Valentine & shoegaze. Obviously final period Beatles and sandbox era Beach Boys are reference points but the music doesn't really sound like retro psychedelia, instead it sounds very unselfconscious and contemporary - as if the bands are spontaneously channelling whacked out music from all eras, not just late 60s / early 70s. This second Unknown Mortal Orchestra album might be the best of the bunch - superficially slacker and grungy but it's actually rich and disciplined in terms of the song craft and arrangements. The music & lyrics sound so natural, casual & effortless yet it all hangs together, laced with great riffs, vocal hooks and chugging rhythms. It's one of those albums you can put on repeat play for hours on end - and the music then carries on floating around your head for days....
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bought this because I kept hearing 'From the Sun' and 'Swim & Sleep' on 6Music. What a great buy. Reminiscent of early Beach Boys, early Eliot Smith and other great musicians, this album is beautiful and perfect for late night listening and blasting out on a beach somewhere in the sun. Buy it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
This is a fabulous album. I would buy it again and I did, but as a present. I later discovered that the receipient of the present already had a copy, but she was happy to have two, which just shows how good it is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
The best new band i have heard for YEARS. And yes i have been listening for a long time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Having watched their gigs in China, I feel the inner power in their music, and also the beauty of chorus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Fantastic thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 February 2013
Unknown Mortal Orchestra's second effort is not a great leap from they rather wonderful first album. It has the fuzziness of that album but is a little more lo-fi in its feel and numbers. It doesn't have the standout feel good of How Can You Love Me that the first album had. But the album as a whole might be stronger. The vocals are light as they were last time and this is ideal for the summer. One At A Time is a brash number which sounds like the 70's again. No Need for A Leader could be off a glam rock album, although somewhat quieter. Secret Xtians (Christians to these ears) finishes off proceedings in great style with light guitar and drums and catchy hooks.

Its probably not going to win new fans. Its probably going to be well liked by the critics. But this is one slice of fuzzy pop that works well, if you play it in the summer heads will bob and questions will be asked...its got that kind of sneaking quality which draws you in and makes you smile. Not bad qualities at all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Was this going to be the difficult one???.........How about the best you'll hear in 2013.....just sublime. Been waiting patiently but UMO HAVE NAILED THIS ON EVERY LEVEL
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This was a present for my sister who kept playing the song 'Swim and Sleep (Like A Shark)' on repeat! I heard the song 'So Good At Being In Trouble', which confirmed that this band were definitely more than just one hit wonders! My sis loves the CD, though I've only heard a handful of songs. Would defo recommend this product. :) Have only given it 4/5 as I've not had the chance to hear the full album yet.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£16.65
£7.99
£7.93

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)