Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun witty and light
This book is a fast-paced ride through New York populated by all the usual monsters ... sorry "coterie" that are often found in urban fantasy. We follow Zoe as she learns about these creatures while working at her new job as editor of a Rough Guide style travel book aimed squarely at visiting coterie. Quirky humour abounds and things never get too bleak or dark...
Published 11 months ago by The Hetman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas but somehow lacking in execution
I thought I would love this but I somehow struggled to care about the characters. I soldiered on to the end to see if things would improve but I just didn't connect with them or really like the main character. I'm sure plenty of people will enjoy it but it just wasn't right for me.
Published 2 months ago by CRB78


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Urban Fantasy heroine who isn't sleeping with Vampire or Werewolf., 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Actually the 'monsters' have a nice healthy attitude of eating humans rather than sleeping with them (except of course incubi and succubi, where one is the same as the other). Our job hunting heroine is introduced to the other side of New York, when she persists in applying for a job, despite encountering 'not our sort' prejudice.
She gradually learns about the monster's, and businesses that cater to them. discovers New York sewer workers and Cabbies live a more interesting life than you'd expect. That not all Monster Hunters are teenaged cheerleaders and that she'd encountered the alternate life styled before (and really seriously pissed one of them off).
Ever encountered delays at an airport? It could have been a lot worse.

Not a great book, but well written and would appeal to a wide range of readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun witty and light, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shambling Guide to New York City (The Shambling Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a fast-paced ride through New York populated by all the usual monsters ... sorry "coterie" that are often found in urban fantasy. We follow Zoe as she learns about these creatures while working at her new job as editor of a Rough Guide style travel book aimed squarely at visiting coterie. Quirky humour abounds and things never get too bleak or dark. The tone and pace reminds me very much of Gail Carriger and I think her readers would love this book as well. It's a fast read that had me chuckling through out. The next in the series is on it's way and I'm looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Urban Fantasy, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Colin Murtagh "Colin Murtagh" (Rotherham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shambling Guide to New York City (The Shambling Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
After going through the Richard Kadrey Sandman Slim books, this was something of a palate cleanser. As with Kadrey, Butcher, Armstrong et al, the basic idea is the same, they are amongst us. Werewolves and vampires and fairies etc, however unlike the rest, this is a lot lighter, with a lot more humour. Zoe is looking for a new job, and ends up employed to write a "Rough Guide" to New York, but for the supernaturals. From there the story takes on at a galloping pace. Maybe not as dark as I'm used to, or quite as layered, but it's a good fun read. Assuming this is the first on what will be a series, I look forward to the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden Gem, 26 July 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whilst this might sound like a weird and unusual tour book to New York, it's actually a humorous, wonderfully paced title that brings the best of Urban Fantasy to readers with cracking prose and of course a lead character that you'll love to spend time around especially when zombie's break out, constructs un-nerve and all whilst Zoe's trying to do her day job.

Add to this a whole host of supporting cast members that will more than pique your interest alongside win your heart and all round this was a book that I had a lot of fun with. I can't wait to see what Mur does with New Orleans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an urban fantasy with a difference!, 6 Jun 2013
Reviewed by Caroline Hodges on Serendipity Reviews

Now here's an urban fantasy with a difference!

Experienced travel guide editor Zoe finds herself working to a distinctly different clientele when she joins Underground Publishing. Her new boss is a vampire, the office admin is a zombie and her office crush is an incubus, so she's not really sure if he's really a crush or he's just manipulating her that way! Tasked to produce a New York travel guide for the myriad of monsters she previously thought mythical, she finds herself entangled in the quest of one mad golem-making woman to plunge New York into chaos.

You need to suspend a lot of disbelief here, sure, what are the chances that a major catastrophic supernatural event occurs in NYC shortly after Zoe moves there, and meets monsters, and those monsters decide they're personally responsible for preventing the disaster? Even though, you know, there's a massive organisation in existence to sort this kind of stuff? If you can hold in your inner pedant (I have difficulty sometimes), you'll enjoy The Shambling Guide to New York City.

There's plenty of good humour and nice touches, like when Morgen the water sprite orders drinks (`Do you have Nile? Pre-pollution?') or the peculiar obsession with certain celebrities Zombies tend to have. Main character Zoe is herself light-hearted and optimistic which all tied together produces a book written for, and to incite, pleasure.

For me, the action towards the end was all a bit too over the top; I found myself thinking it'd make a great comic book but didn't seem to work too well in novel format as the rest of the book does. I'm not sure if this is influenced by my thinking the book was more going to be about the writing of the Shambling Guide - I think Lafferty could have had more than enough fun taking Zoe around the `coterie' side of New York.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed the book for the most part and will be pleased if next book `The Shambling Guide to New Orleans' is the second in a series of Shambling Guide tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely delightful almost-debut!, 30 May 2013
Review originally posted at http://manyatruenerd.com/2013/05/29/the-shambling-guide-to-new-york-city-review/

The Shambling Guide To New York City is an absolutely delightful almost-debut from RPG writer, Escape Pod editor and podcaster extraordinaire Mur Lafferty, whose career I've been following for some time.

Zoe's last job was a train wreck. She's back in her home town of New York City, desperate for a new start, but running out of cash fast. So when she finds an ad for a seemingly-perfect job as a travel guide editor, she's not going to let the excuse that `she's not the right type for the job' and `wouldn't fit in with the team' stand in her way. Sheer determination wins her an interview in a dilapidated theatre and dinner with her potential new boss.

It turns out the job is to write a guide book for New York's visiting monster population, who have been The boss is a vampire and the payroll includes zombies, an incubus and a death goddess. Zoe has to come to terms with the existence of another world, hidden in plain sight in her city, and learn to deal with her new co-workers often-disturbing feeding habits. When the balance between humans and coterie - monster is an offensive term - starts falling apart, she finds herself caught in the crossfire.

This is not Mur Lafferty's first published work - she has self-published the Heaven series and her novel Playing For Keeps came out from Swarm Press in 2008 - but it is her best yet.

She presents us with a rich supernatural underground to New York City, full of hilarious anecdotes and smart tweaks to reality (the MoMA's closed galleries are really hired out by visiting demons who are too big to fit in human-sized hotels) told through excerpts from the book Zoe is writing.

As a protagonist, Zoe is made even more likeable by the fact that is allowed to showcase real strength of character, even as she has to accept her weaknesses in dealing with an overwhelming situation. After her engrossing and thought-provoking novella Marco and the Red Granny, Lafferty gives us another kick-ass elderly woman to love and cheer on in the hilarious and irreverent Granny Good Mae. The rest of the varied cast of characters is also handled perfectly so that even the brain-eating zombies become relatable.

This is also a very funny book, Lafferty's humorous touch is spot-on throughout and her dry observations on the human or coterie conditions made me snort out loud several times.

In short, I can't wait for the second instalment in this series, The Ghost Train To New Orleans, and you should all go read The Shambling Guide To New York City, out in UK and US bookshops now. You can also go to Mur's website to listen to a chapter of the audiobook for free every week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A FIND!!!, 29 April 2014
By 
Gavin B. King "gavink" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shambling Guide to New York City (The Shambling Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A Strange proposal but it really works. Bought it whilst searching for 'real' guidebooks for New York - preferred this to the RoughGuide...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 2 Feb 2014
I picked this book up in my local bookshop as I'd forgotten the one I was reading and had to get on a train. I am so glad that I did! It's absolutely fantastic! Good for anyone who likes the supernatural or is a bit of a fangirl. It's adult in it's content so you don't feel like you're reading something that a teenager should have, and the writing is mature and funny and well thought through. Already pre-ordered the new in the series, this time from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better narrated by Mur Lafferty!, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Maijay4 (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Try the audiobook!

I've been listening to Mur Lafferty's podcasts and pod audiobooks for a few years now since buying an iPad.
She has the kind of happy fun voice that could make the dullest story sound great (rather than the all too common fantastic story killed by droning narrator!!)
The story is light and fun but Mur's narration just brings it alive - can't wait for her next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fun and easy read, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shambling Guide to New York City (The Shambling Guides Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So I'm a big fan of mur anyway. iv listened to all her podcasts (apart from a few isbws from before i started to listen to them)
her writing is nice and fun and her characters are all likeable including the bad guys I look forward to the next one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews