Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Paladin's Legacy
A super continuation of the story and glad that Dorrin and Paks are both in this one. Very clear and exciting
Published 6 months ago by C Firth

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a small step towards the conclusion....
i really looked forward to this volume...i ordered four copies pre-publication, to give to friends and relations, who have been waiting as eagerly as i have...and though i have sent them the copies, i have not covered them with lavish praise...i am disappointed...feels like we are threading water, just waiting...and waiting...i tell myself this is the case with all...
Published 17 months ago by april


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but slow story progress, 2 Sep 2013
By 
S. Mogensen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picked up Limits of Power to read on the plane when going on holiday, and it was a very enjoyable read. The only downside being impatience on my part and wanting the book to be longer!

When I say "slow story progress" in the title, in no way do I mean to imply that nothing happens in the book - it keeps a good pace throughout. However, afterwards, you are left with the feeling that the overall story did not progress much.

Would I recommend the book? Definitely! Will I buy the next book as soon as it's available? Yes! Would I like the book to be 3 times as big? Yes (but not at the cost of waiting 3 times as long for the book to be written).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elver, Paladin's and people, 20 Aug 2013
By 
P. BOOTH "pauline696" (Stamford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking forward to the next book in the series, the story has many threads and can be a bit confusing at times, but the actual story is a good one. With The Lady of the Elves dead the power now goes into her grandson's hands, best on many sides he must get the Elves and people to work together to battle a coming menace and magery is coming back into the world much to some people's dislike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goping from strength to strength., 2 Aug 2013
By 
S. D. Barnett-cormack "SamBC" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
You can see the overall shape of the series taking form more and more clearly. The characters are realised in believable ways that fit existing construction, the writing is beautiful, and we see more and more into the world of Paksenarrion. Unsurprisingly, we learn more about Camwyn, the ancient hero-saint, what Alured is up to. Plus some very interesting developments around the elves of Lyonya!

Can't recommend it enough to anyone who likes fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow. Another great story from a modern master teller of stories, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
The story of Parks continues, all the other characters have their own lives weave a spellbinding story. Next book please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fantasy, 26 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Jean R. Livingstone "Jean Livingstone" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy her books, I have just started to read Limits of Power I enjoy this writers books although my favourite has to be the Paksennarion trilogy, I hop some day she will bring Paksennarion back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, 24 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Irene B. Miller (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
Just finished it and started the next. Elizabeth Moon never disappoints. Good characterisation and the pace never falters, except maybe to give the reader a breather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Same as before, neither better nor worse, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mrs Moon continues her story of Kieri and chums. It's another length of the same story, neither better nor (thankfully) worse.

But ... the series is beginning to show signs of self-indulgence. This takes the form of messing with key world concepts. It is a key world concept, in this series, that magic is highly suspect. Moon has begun to start a process to make magic normal, and we get the usual, very very tired "only bigots can be against magic" trope, borrowed from this world, where bigots use intimidation to force political correctness on the rest of us. I don't enjoy watching that in this world. I certainly don't want to read a fantasy version of the same crap. And it breaks the world's rules to do so. Moon can't change that concept, and still retain credibility. It was possible to do so for the first character, Dorrin, as an exception. But not generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying next volume., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
A suitably deep and satisfying read carrying the story further towards the looming events of the future. Can't wait for the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
Not quite as good as earlier Paladin books, a bit scrappy, too many strands to keep unentangled. I want to go on and find out what happens next with the crown set, which is obviously the aim of the writer; I'd have been happier with a longer book that brought it all together to a conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting some answers but still looking forward to the next book in the series, 9 July 2013
By 
Mrs. M. (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Kindle Edition)
So many different aspects and storylines but holding together well and a very enjoyable read. A great series and follow up to Paks storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews