Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
This is another budget release on the Flashlight label. It features 42 tracks which were recorded into a home tape machine 1958-1960. What is exceptional is that the 9 recordings from 1960 with Nancy Sharpe and Red West during the filming of Flaming Star are presented here in stereo and from what is clearly a better, newly found tape source. Although these have been...
Published on 19 Dec. 2012 by Mr. N. Thompson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
This was a present for my husband who mis a lifelong Elvis fan and he was very disappointed with the tracks on the CD. In his words. 'IT WAS A WASTE OF MONEY'.
Published 19 months ago by newforest 2014


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
This is another budget release on the Flashlight label. It features 42 tracks which were recorded into a home tape machine 1958-1960. What is exceptional is that the 9 recordings from 1960 with Nancy Sharpe and Red West during the filming of Flaming Star are presented here in stereo and from what is clearly a better, newly found tape source. Although these have been released previously from presumably inferior tapes, there is none of the terrible vibration and distortion present here. It also demonstrates the tremendous vocal power Elvis had in 1960. The Nancy Sharpe/Elvis duet on the old Crosby standard 'Sweet Leilani' is really rather lovely. This will make an excellent Xmas present for the Elvis fan in your life. I hope Flashlight issue more of the home recordings if superior tape sources can be located.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
This was a present for my husband who mis a lifelong Elvis fan and he was very disappointed with the tracks on the CD. In his words. 'IT WAS A WASTE OF MONEY'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
Joan Jenkins (wales g b) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
as a huge elvis fan i love all his music so this one was just added to my huge collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the serious, analytical Elvis fan, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
Mostly familiar stuff...but the unfamiliar will sell it...the tracks with actress Nancy Sharpe in 1960 are astonishing (You'll Never WAlk Alone, An Evening Prayer, Sweet Leilani). The kind of thing to make even the most dedicated follower weep at the thought that these were not issued on something like "Something for Everybody" or "Pot Luck" albums, at the time. (Probably would have been slicked up a bit, though).
There's no Elvis on guitar here but his piano is suprising sophisticated (for a guy so strongly associated with that battered ol' git-box).
Hard to tell which tracks are completely "previously unreleased" but suffice to say, overall, this set satisfies. H*ll, it even rocks at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up Close & Personal, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
I chose 5 stars again because every Elvis fan must have this in there collection this is truly a personal album done by Elvis and tunes you have never heard him sing along with Anita Wood singing along with him which i believe was his girl friend at the time. Another attraction is Elvis is playing the piano all through the cd he could really play the piano.This is a great cd and again the price is very affordable for this soon to be a collector item it's nothing like you have heard before. I highly recommend this cd i know you won't be disappointed and i believe that once this cd catches on with the fans it will be highly talked about for a long time this one is very different. I also received it as promised and shipped without the case being broken very good customer service.
Anne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
Reccomended to all younger fans, this is inside Elvis listening to his personall favourite songs and how he would have performed them in a studio situation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars only for die hard Elvis collectors, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
S. Fletcher (peterborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
If you are seeking this as a gift for someone who is not a die hard Elvis collector, AVOID this CD.

This CD is basically a collection of poor quality Elvis tracks and part complete tracks obtained from home recording material, it is therefore by its very nature not up to the standards expected from studio recordings.
For an Elvis collector it offers a few tracks which are hard to obtain anywhere else. There are very few tracks on this CD which stand out as good and a great number which should have been left off the final release altogether.
However the average fan this may be a big disappointment, this is why I say If you are seeking a gift for someone who is not a die hard Elvis fan/ collector avoid.

I have been an Elvis fan for over 40 years and collector for this time and have over 3000 releases, and even I would not recommend this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
It is an insult to ELV IS, The sound is dreadful, and if I had not thrown the invoice away I would have returned it,
Will not be playing it again EVER!
How can you treat Elvis' memory in this way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LETS FACE IT IT IS ELVIS SO THERE MUST BE SOMETHING TO SAVE IT, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
IF THESE OLD TAPES ARE GOING TO BE BROUGHT OUT OF THE CELLARS OR WHAT EVER CANT THE PEOPLE WHO

WORK ON THE C.D GIVE THEM A LITTLE MORE CLARITY-IT IS HISTORY WHEN SAID & DONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up Close & PersonalUp Close & Personal, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my brother in law who is a big Elvis fan he was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up Close & Personal
Up Close & Personal by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews