Customer Reviews


332 Reviews
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingston 240GB SSD
Not many reviews around for this item, so I thought I'd write one. Purchased during the black friday sale, this was delivered within four days (using the free delivery option!)

For background info, Kingston make three main series of SSD drives - V200, V+200 and HyperX. The first two are labelled as Consumer drives, and HyperX is for Enthusiasts. Confusingly,...
Published 19 months ago by Vinay

versus
75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rip Off
I bought one these in January and it was the 506a version (made in taiwan) and is not much better than a normal hdd, when using "AS SSD benchmark software" it is reporting it at 175mb read speed nowhere near 450mb. And reading forums it looks like all versions later than the 505a are the same and while there is a slight improvement to my boot times it is not...
Published 5 months ago by Darth Vader


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rip Off, 10 Feb 2014
I bought one these in January and it was the 506a version (made in taiwan) and is not much better than a normal hdd, when using "AS SSD benchmark software" it is reporting it at 175mb read speed nowhere near 450mb. And reading forums it looks like all versions later than the 505a are the same and while there is a slight improvement to my boot times it is not worth it. I dont think i'll ever buy anything from Kingston again as this looks like a bit of a scam as they release a really good drive and get great reviews and then change the product completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


284 of 287 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Reduced performance of newer drives, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please excuse the technical nature of this review:

There are primarily two types of NAND flash which is used in SSDs, synchronous and asynchronous. Drives using the superior synchronous NAND typically have twice the read/write performance of those with the older asynchronous NAND (when compared clock-for-clock). The V300 (as initially manufactured and reviewed by many websites) used the faster synchronous NAND, but Kingston have recently changed the product to use the slower (and cheaper) asynchronous NAND. The change was confirmed by Kingston on 16 January 2014:

"We use NAND from various manufacturers both synchronous and asynchronous. The first revision you have is made with synchronous and the second asynchronous."

http://www.overclock.net/t/1457629/psa-about-the-kingston-v300-ssd-probable-foul-play-by-kingston/10#post_21596200

Tests are showing the newer V300 drives are performing at less than half the speed of the earlier V300s. Kingston are using inflated results from benchmarking software which is sympathetic to the dynamic data-compression used by the SandForce controller in the V300 to claim that the new drives still meet their "on the box" performance claims. Whilst technically correct, the real-world performance of the newer drives is significantly reduced compared to the earlier versions of the drives.

The Kingston V300 in its initial form (as I purchased four months ago) was a genuine five-star product, but this new incarnation (along with the associated deception) is simply a mediocre SSD trading off the reviews of the original drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sketch Move Kingston, 10 Jan 2014
This SSD is meant to have a read/write speed of up to 450MB/s according to the specs on the kingston website.

However it seems that Kingston have changed the NAND chips inside this SSD and it now tops out at about 150MB/s.

I received one with the model number 506ABBF0 it seems those with the model number 505ABBF1 are unaffected.

It looks like Kingston has switched from synchronous to asynchronous flash causing a huge drop in performance that is vastly different from the manufacturers specs.

Take a read of the below.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingston 240GB SSD, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Vinay (Eastleigh, Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Not many reviews around for this item, so I thought I'd write one. Purchased during the black friday sale, this was delivered within four days (using the free delivery option!)

For background info, Kingston make three main series of SSD drives - V200, V+200 and HyperX. The first two are labelled as Consumer drives, and HyperX is for Enthusiasts. Confusingly, the V+200 also makes an appearance in the business drive category. The V+200 has upgraded speeds compared to V200, so you should always look for the V+ designation. My reason for choosing this was the special offer price and also the fact that Kingston use Intel/Micron chips in their drives.

The drive was marked SVP200S37A/240G and is 7mm high. The drive shell is built from metal and feels very sturdy, weight is just over 100g. Also in the pack was a rectangular plastic pad which can be attached to the drive to allow its height to be increased to 9.5mm high. Note that if you pay a few more pounds for the "kit" version of this product, you'll get an external USB drive enclosure, cables and software to allow cloning of an existing system. I didn't need that since I was planning on a fresh install (many SSD reviews suggest that doing a fresh install will ensure that Windows is set up correctly for SSDs, whereas cloning an old setup might not).

On my Thinkpad T400, Windows 7 installed on the SSD in under 30 mins. Boot times are now under 20 seconds compared to just over 2 minutes previously - this is on a system with only the OS and MS Office loaded. The weight of the SSD is slightly lower than the drive it replaced and power consumption is lower as well, so there are other benefits from the upgrade. Overall I'd say the V200+ is a respectable performer and offers great value for the average user if you get it on sale. At full price there are probably better competing drives around (like the Kingston HyperX, Samsung 830, Corsair GT). This drive comes with a 3 year warranty from Kingston who is of course a well known and established company. For more info visit [...]

Update : Nov 2013
For some reason, Amazon is showing my review of the V200+ drive under the V300 drive!
The V200 and V200+ have been replaced, here's a comparison of V200+ and V300, they appear to be similar in performance :
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best upgrade to a PC., 27 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Brindle (Prestwick, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a PC builder and enthusiast and have over 10 years experience of building, upgrading and maintaining computer systems. Put simply; if you have a reasonable computer (with a relatively modern processor and enough RAM for windows to run comfortably) a solid state drive, like this one offers the most noticeable upgrade to performance for your money.

Sure, this Kingston V300 model isn't the absolute fastest out there. But, compared to the mechanical drives that the majority of computers still use, this is measurably faster in all areas and comes at a very reasonable price. In real world use, you will notice a massive difference. It does this by using solid state memory in the device (rather like a large memory card) rather than the magnetic, mechanical moving parts of older drives.

Installing the drive couldn't be easier if you're reasonably proficient at plugging and unplugging things inside your computer. It takes standard SATA data and power connections, and is backwards compatible with SATA 2 if your motherboard isn't SATA 3 enabled. In the real world, the difference between 2 and 3 is negligible in my experience anyway.

Once you've installed Windows (or whatever OS you use) on to this drive (presuming you intend to use it as your system drive - definitely the thing to do) you'll find that from pressing the power button on your PC to it being in a usable desktop state will be around 25 to 30 seconds at the very, very most. Any programmes you install on it, and Windows itself, open near-instantly with no delay and it really will turn a PC into something which is a pleasure to use, not something you have to wait to catch up.

The drive scores the maximum score on the Windows Performance Index; 7.9.

Much about PC components, especially when you get into enthusiast grade items, is bluster and macho-marketing. This solid state drive though, will be a noticeable and pleasurable improvement for anyone with a computer with an "old" mechanical, traditional hard drive. Once you use a solid state drive, you'll never, ever want to use anything else. And that is definitely not marketing rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 3 April 2013
By 
A. Maxwell (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, it's just arrived today. This will be a rolling review, updated as I use it.

So far, a good sturdy feeling drive, lots of reviews on the web have been very complementary about it (i spent ages researching it). It is marketed as a budget drive. But what's budget about it?

Well from the looks of the reviews it's not able to handle as high a workload as many of the other more expensive drives. BUT as one review pointed out, the amount of work they were using to test it was pretty high (64 queue depth)and way out of the way of people who use their system to a 'normal' degree.

So it looks like if you are doing ALOT of things all at once and all wanting disk access, other drives may be better. BUT if you are doing all that you're likely to look for the higher performing drives anyway.

On the positive side the reviews show it holds it's own VERY well in other areas compared again to the more expensive drives.

**UPDATE 1 MONTH ON***

It's great, boots INCREDIBLY quickly and windows now flies around.
If like me you are spending ages looking at all the different options and require a good fast drive and you're not going to be overloading it with work then save yourself some time and just get this one.

**UPDATE 1 YEAR ON***

Excellent still (although am running out of space!!) It was time to buy another one today, BUT i just saw the reviews above. UHHOH,,,,may rethink my purchase!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ignorance is bliss, 22 Mar 2014
By 
J. P. Oneill (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 Upgrade Bundle Kit with Adapter (Accessory)
They say ignorance is bliss and id agree. I happened to stumble across the review on reduced performance so out of interest I downloaded the benchmark tool , checked the firmware , which is 521 and whilst I was pleased with installing my first SSD and saw an improvement over my HDD I now feel disappointed. The benchmark shows poor performance compared to posted results I've seen on the web. My setup is a couple year old Asus Mobo with an I5 and sata 2 so not sloppy but admittedly more of a good middling than high end desktop
So I have to agree with one of the techies on Overclockers.com in that the vast majority of us are not inclined to undertake specific examinations of the products we buy. We tend to trust the supplier. I had my own retail business for many years and the general view is that for every 1 displeased customer they'll go tell 13 others and that will cascade ..
I accept that the SSD performance is far better than the HDD but now its not about performance but the attitude of the company. I don't like being treated like a fool so I wont recommend this company to anyone and if asked ill point to reviews and others can make their own mind up. Its Sad really.. Kingston had a good reputation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning - Slow chineese components, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The V300 sold by amazon is the version made in China and not Taiwan. Kingston released speed test results for the version made in Taiwan with premium components which benchmark around 500MB/s. After receiving good reviews they started producing it in China with cheaper components which benchmark around 135MB/s. Dont get me wrong its faster than a 7200rpm hard drive but I still very unhappy with Kingston. Therefore if you want a FAST SSD then look else where.

Aslo if in doubt then check amazons screen capture of the read write speeds which they were not advertising when I bought this product!! Also a close up of the image indicates that this was made in twain where as my slow model was made in china. I will be attempting to get a refund!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as fast as it says on the packaging, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got one of the original versions, which performs well enough, but the fact is that it is specified as 450 MB/S read and write, but now I know this is not entirely right as now the listing says - "up to 208MB/s (AS-SSD and CrystalDiskMark)" - which is still a higher figure than what I actually get (even with sata 6gbps). It feels like I bought a 1.8l engined car only to find it has a 1.2l engine in actuality. Will soon be replacing this with one which hopefully will actually perform as advertised. Kingston pulled a fast one, and now are paying the price. Amazon can only repeat the manufacturer's own specs, so can't fault them, and now the listing has more accurate information from the manufacturer.

It further says: 191MB/s Read and 142MB/s Write speed = this may refer to the "version 2" of this model which is borderline rubbish, hence it is now available for a lesser price, I'd give that one 2* or less. You can do much better for little more cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than buying a new PC and cheaper, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 Upgrade Bundle Kit with Adapter (Accessory)
10 out of 10. Worked straight out of the box. Make sure if you want it to use it as a 'bootable' drive you order the "Kit" and not just the drive on its own. Pay the extra 5 and have the kit, as the "kit" has the cloning software included, which is worth its weight in gold. Took me just an hour to install the drive, copy my hard drive onto it and away it went. 20 seconds to load Windows 7 from cold, used to take 2 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews