Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2015
Have been working through these recently for the first time and finding them reasonably enjoyable. I liked the movie mainly for the striking visual style, and that's largely the strength of the books too. Saying that, while many pages look fantastic (particularly the large full page images), the art can quite frequently be a bit impenetrable, the composition can be messy enough that it's tough to see what some panels are even supposed to depict.

The stories and narration are a little one note too, so overall the books aren't exactly classics, but a decent enough bit of throwaway pulp entertainment. It's unashamedly style over substance, thankfully the style is strong enough to carry it for the most part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This is absolutely one of the best story arcs of Sin City. Hartigan fits perfectly into this universe of Miller's noir. The paperback format, however, I find to be on the small side for this beautiful piece of art. Unfortunately, the price tag on a bigger collected version of this story is out of my price range.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2007
What can I say - brilliant.

I chose to review this one and not the others as

a) people who read the series will suspect review the first one only, and

b) this is is my favourite of them all (personally)

Buy all of these books, 1-7, they are all truly great stories. Some people have knocked the graphical style of these books - to me, they are one of the high points - they has a superb style all of their own. Millers dialogue, jokes, slang and story are all superb - great film noir, and add in his sound effects (SPAK! HEFF!) and he really has made this series unique Miller.

Finally, I'm not a fan of comparisons with films - usually graphic novels are changed dramatically (often for the worse) in the movies. Sin City is different. I thought it was a cracking film and is incredibly faithful to the books (although in differing order). Therefore, for once I can say, if you liked the film you'll love the book, as opposed to if you hated the film dont be put off by the book.

Cinematic, thrill a minute series.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 1998
Detective John Hartigan is only hours away from retirement but Nancy Callahan, age 11, is moments away from death. In the hands of a ruthless connected serial killer and rapist Nancy will suffer unmentionable ordeals. John Hartigan must raise his 38 cannon and ignor his failing health to save little Nancy, even at the expense of his dignity and his life.
This cleverly written and exquisitely illustrated tale pulled from the dark gritty bounds of Frank Miller's Sin City series will rock you.John Hartigan is not your typical cop and his devotion to the protection of Nancy from the cruel menace that wishes to defile her spans eight years. Miller has created a superior character in Hartigan and molded a believable plot exploring the idiosyncratic mind of a killer and the devotion of an aging man whose body is no match for his adversary. Put away your preconceptions about the "comic book" medium and prepare to be flattened. In the tradition of "Pulp Fiction" and "Silence of the Lambs" "That Yellow Bastard" is praiseworthy celebration of human ability that is illustrated with maturity and candor.
-Brian Franklin
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Great book, great drawings, many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
That Yellow Bastard is the fourth installment of Sin City, the noir epic of Frank Miller.

An absolute classic this one, with one of the nastiest villains ever, Junior! This is pure, gritty crime noir. Its got all the right features - corrupt cops, crooked politicians, a dame to be saved and a tough, noble cop called Hartigan. He's one hour from retirement, but it all goes horribly wrong as he refuses to let a senators son get away with murder and child rape, and shoots the guy to pieces in the process. Hartigan is framed for everything, but won't talk, so he can save skinny little Nancy Callahan. He serves his time, takes the beatings and cruelties, until.....a parcel arrives for him in jail that changes everything...He swallows his pride and gets his parole, and goes after Nancy, one of the most stunning looking girls in comics! The chase in on! The pacing is fantastic and urgent, and the use of a single colour, yellow, really picks out that character and his sick, evil essence! Some pages are almost eniterly black, really emphasising the oppresive nature of the moment, its bleakness. The violence is harsh and unrelenting. A gripping and dramatic read. "I took his weapons away...Both of them." Immortal lines from a genius creation!! Read it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Order was not as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 1998
Frank Miller takes us back to the world of Sin City with a bang. This book is a perfect example of Miller's uncanny ability to turn the most common everyday people into modern-day tragic heroes. Hartigan's story is a change from Mr. Miller's "criminal-with-a-heart-of-gold" tales of earlier Sin City volumes. Also, this is his first (and best) use of color in the Sin City series. Needless to say, this book is a non-stop gripper from start to finish that everyone, comic fans or not, should have on their bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
Item was as described and in better condition that i thought it would be, would never have known this was second hand. Brilliant communication from seller and deliverd very quickly even although the bad winter weasther had disrupted postage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse