Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My opinion it was cracking!
Good day to everyone who has decided to read my review!
I must say that i really really enjoyed this comic book! I'm not a fan of the word graphic novel, right anywho!!! Yes this comic is really good i thought. I heard people saying it wasn't ol' Frank Miller at his best but i think that it is.
I thought that the art and use in the comic was...
Published on 4 Nov 2005 by santino01

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic artwork, shame about the writing
The book really shows what Frank Miller can do with graphics - the artwork is absolutely superb. However he doesn't manage to pull off the Chandleresque style - the story feels like it was written by an adolescent trying too hard. Miller can write (Dark Knight Returns, Electra Lives Again), but the noirish realism of Dame to Kill For exposes a lack of subtlety here...
Published on 4 Jun 2004 by Mr. Phillip Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My opinion it was cracking!, 4 Nov 2005
Good day to everyone who has decided to read my review!
I must say that i really really enjoyed this comic book! I'm not a fan of the word graphic novel, right anywho!!! Yes this comic is really good i thought. I heard people saying it wasn't ol' Frank Miller at his best but i think that it is.
I thought that the art and use in the comic was pretty much spot on. There were a few moments i had to stop and examine the picture with more detail to understand it properly but you realise that every picture is in some way unique!
Also the story in the comic was rather different from what i originally expected it to be. At first you havew a small idea of where the story is going but never actually sure. That's the joy of it. You know the story is heading somewhere but you don't really have a clue until, well you can find that out!
Yeah so its all good i thought! And ofcourse one must remember that Marv is back in there! Good ol' Marv, he's as crazy as ever!!! Give it a read some time! it's fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to kill for, 18 May 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It's hard to give a summary of the story without making it sound cheesy and stereotypical with far too much macho action, because the book, and series even, is all of those things but manages to be so much better than all of that. A sleazy photographer takes pictures of an extra-marital affair with which he plans to blackmail the man with - this is our hero. Then the noir element kicks in - the femme fatale enters the bar in a haze of smoke and shadows. She's in trouble, and the photographer called Dwight, is the one to save her, after all... they used to be lovers. And then we're off, onto a twisting plot through the deadly streets of Sin City to a blood soaked ending.

I read the Sin City series shortly before the first movie back in 2005 and having heard that there's a sequel in the works based on this book, I thought I'd revisit it to see if it holds up - it most certainly does. This is Frank Miller, the glory years, when he was writing amazing Batman books, Daredevil stories, and creating his own comic masterpiece with Sin City. He writes and draws these books and gives a master-class to all artists who read this book - this is how you write a noir comic and make it both high art and bad-ass to boot.

The book is in black and white, and Miller uses light and shadows to full effect in all of the panels. Look at Ava Lord's entrance, first full page silhouette with hazy white smoke at the top, then close up, then look at Dwight's face, then close up still but not making out any features on the shadowy face, then the meeting, then straight into dialogue fresh from the 30s. Or Dwight's fight with Manute and his bloody end, flying through a window, falling with the glass, hitting the bottom of the page, then a blank black page, then a full page look at his spread-eagled, unconscious form - end of chapter. There are too many moments like this to go into but I was shaking my head in awe of Miller's use of black and white in this book, the guy created a unique look to these comics that remain untouched with age and still looks innovative today.

I won't go into the twisty, turning plot which takes you one way and then halfway through, switches direction with breath-taking ease and pace and sends you hurtling another way. I will say one thing which is to read "The Hard Goodbye" before this as that's the first Sin City book and "A Dame To Kill For" is the second, and the two cross paths in their telling that you'd appreciate more if you read them both in order. Hell, read them all, they're all brilliant!

The dialogue is wonderful, full of macho metaphors, moody voice-overs, each character playing an archetype with relish and verve - the book and series is nothing short of a triumph of high art, literature, and the beating heart of what people love most about comics - fun. If you know someone who doesn't like comics because to them it's for people with low IQs or are perennially stuck in childhood, give them a copy of this book and see if it won't change their mind. Noir was a great genre while it lasted, Chandler, Hammett, and Cain were all geniuses but Miller takes Noir and makes it even better with his Sin City stories. There should be another label for the genius of these books but there isn't so I'll end this review by urging new and old readers of the series to pick up these books if you're looking for a good read. Get yourself a copy and settle down with a shot and a brew, Marv and co. have some stories to tell you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid stuff for Miller., 19 July 2005
Having only discovered Sin City in the cinema recently (purists are going to hate that), I was pretty blown away by the movie. A Dame to Kill For is the second book in the original series. The synopsis above pretty much covers the plot, so what's it like? This book is pretty amazing stuff, especially if you liked the Dwight McCarthy character in the movie (but there is a good deal of Marv again in there to keep hisfans happy). Finding out his background is quite cool if you're a fan, especially how he alters his whole appearance to appear as he does in the movie. The story certainly holds together well with a few nice twists. Some other characters re-appear (Nancy, Kadie, Marv, Shelly and so on), as well as some familiar locations, which lends a nice air of nostalgia to the book. If you liked Dwight and his connection to the girls of Old Town, you're going to love this (there's plenty of Gail and Miho in there). Excellent book, inspires one to read on in Miller's wonderfully twisted Basin City tales...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Cool, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Interesting story and art. This is not as good as some of Miller's other Sin City graphic novels but it is deffinately worth reading. This is the first part of series within the Sin City books including The Big Fat Kill and Family Values. Dwight is an interesting recurring character. He is a photogropher turned criminal and friend of the Sin City hookers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic artwork, shame about the writing, 4 Jun 2004
The book really shows what Frank Miller can do with graphics - the artwork is absolutely superb. However he doesn't manage to pull off the Chandleresque style - the story feels like it was written by an adolescent trying too hard. Miller can write (Dark Knight Returns, Electra Lives Again), but the noirish realism of Dame to Kill For exposes a lack of subtlety here. Still, worth it for the art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice atmospheric read!, 19 Nov 2002
This review is from: Sin City (Paperback)
There's always something special about a book that doesn't allow you to put it down. Sin City was one of these for me. Although the artwork is a desired taste, there is no denying that the atmosphere and story that Frank Miller has created in his series of Sin City is unique. If you are any kind of art/comic fan then i recommend reading at least this one although i must warn you, chances are you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as engaging as the original, 27 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Frank Miller's original Sin City story was a classic piece of storytelling. It brought noir to mainstream comics in terms of both artwork and storytelling. Miller's striking use of black and white marked a departure from conventional comic artwork. The original also had a very engaging protagonist in the form of Marv.
How does anyone top a work like that? The answer is that you don't. A Dame to Kill For is the "sequel" of sorts to the original. Marv has a guest role but the main protagonist in this story is Dwight. Unfortunately, Dwight is not nearly as engaging as Marv. The story is also not as tight as the original. And the novelty of the Sin City style is no longer there. All in all, not a bad story, but not the classic that the original was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money!!!!!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again!! Sent the wrong edition.... DO NOT advertise under 3rd edition and send out a second, even after I emailed you not to!!! .. TOTALLY different covers when you are a collector..... This is the 3rd time... And to add to it you don't refund returns postage!!! WASTE OF TIME!!!! B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Miller at his best, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic work, dark and gripping. Frank Miller's art is at its absolute best here. This third edition is a beautiful print - really crisp and with a great cover. Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dwight you silly old noir cliché, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story with all the hallmarks of a classic crime noir tale. This book along with Sin City 1 and 4 are the best of the Sin City books in my opinion, and you shouldn't miss it, if you fancied the first. You even get to meet Marv again! The artwork is beautiful, and, if anything, I would have liked the format of the book to be a bit bigger. It's on the small side for a book this stunning, but unfortunately a bigger edition won't come cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews