Customer Reviews
300


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Sparta!
This is one powerhouse of a graphic novel! Miller has taken the battle of Thermopylae and added his own unique take on this infamous event. Bodly drawn, superbly coloured and very graphic in its depiction of violence both on and off the battlefield, 300 needs to be read to be believed. This is a very brutal take on the battle and the novel itself takes no prisoners.Miller...
Published on 27 Nov 2006 by H. Sokhi

versus
16 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bold and unambiguous, and a missed opportunity
This is a tale that lends itself to the kind of uneasy moral choices and gritty character development that Miller did *incredibly* well in 'The Dark Knight Returns'. And it's a tale that has neither.

The artwork is stylish and memorable (and the film looks like it's done a great job of interpreting it). But in terms of the writing, this is a shallow piece of...
Published on 10 April 2007 by Mr. M. Sowden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece From Miller, 23 April 2013
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
You have probably seen the film but here is the gorgeously put together deluxe hardcover original source material. The story is well known, the stand of the 300 Spartans. It may not be completely accurate, but its written as well as Miller writes and well drawn and illustrated. You can see the style of the film grew from this book. This version is a collectors dream and whilst there isn't much here to bring existing owners in (nothing actually), the presentation and hard cover are very much a thing of beauty. Lovers of graphic novels will delight in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
Visual: 300 visually is a stunning film. The 'crushing' technique is akin to the graphic-novel counterpart and really sets the atmosphere beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this book, 300, before going to see the film, then re-read it after seeing the film., 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
The movie is much more intense and complete, but it is still interesting to compare this book to the movie. I only notice one scene in the book that is not in the film, while the film adds a subplot about the queen getting political while the 300 are already in the field. The film also expands upon many scenes that only appear briefly in the book, like the stuff about babies being rejected by Spartan standards. There is less nudity in the book than the film, while the battle scenes are much more entertaining and more artful as they appear in the movie.

This book and movie are NOT hardly family-friendly fare for kids to see at all, that's why the film is R rated, and the book is for grown-ups.

Frank Miller is now a new reigning king of comic book success beyond the comics industry, and I like this 300 story much better than Miller's SIN CITY work. For me, SIN CITY was all about cruel violence for its own sake, as entertainment, but 300 serves a much better purpose, showing tons of violence, but basing it all around actual history. Despite the heightened, fictionalized polishes, the basic story of 300 teaches the reader/viewer the main points of this historical event, and the reader/viewer can then be intrigued enough to learn how this book and film of 300 differs, or is accurate, compared to the actual history.

300 is my favorite work by Frank Miller! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book , great film!, 17 April 2007
By 
SJ SMART "Smartie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed both this graphic novel and the recent film. Its a very colourful, moving portrayal of the classic battle of Thermopylae. Some reviewers may argue about how unrealistic the Persians are portrayed in both the book and film, and certainly the State of Iran hates the film, but its artistic licence: the monstrous, tortured, corrupt figures are a bit OTT, but they represent the threat to newly born Greek democracy, independence and a different way of living.

I enjoyed both the book and the film very much and would recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Geek Tragedy?, 15 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
If you thought the movie is like a comic book, then the book is like a movie. The landscape format certainly helps give the illustrations space and scope, but it also screams widescreen. Not that that is a bad thing.

300 sets out to be different and it succeeds. It tells a heroic tale in a heroic fashion and while it might not take long to read the first time, repeat visits, with more time spent on the art than the plot, reward the viewer with missed detail and depth.

Once both have been seen, divorcing page and screen versions is difficult, but I suspect the book will have more true fans in 20 years than the movie, even if most readers will come to the bookshelf from the multiplex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right in the heart of the action, 7 Mar 2007
By 
gururob (Wellingborough, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
This is a great version of the epic Spartans' defence of Greece.

Well written, beautifully drawn.

Just a bit short. 30 minutes for a graphic novel isn't really enough, despite the superb quality of those 30 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 16 July 2007
By 
Mr. D. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
First, for anyone looking for a real tale of history, then avoid this. But if you are looking for a highly stylized and visually stunning tale of epic sacrifice, then this is for you. Some of the art work and set pieces are brilliant. The story is brutal and unforgiving and includes some immortal one-liners. Slight criticism is that it starts a little slow, but once the action begins, it doesn't give up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for my husband as a gift. My husband loves the film 300. We normally watch it at least once a month. I think that visually 300 is beautiful and the story is a very simple but detailed story about King Leonidas and his 300 spartans. This book is very much like a comic book in terms of layout and illustrations. The illustrations, I feel are very detailed and more detailed than your average comic book. The closest I've seen in comics in terms of illustration is in The Walking Dead, but even that I feel is not as detailed as this book is. The big is a bit bigger than A4, more long than it is tall, and it is pretty much exactly as the film goes. There are certain scenes in the film that are exactly as they are in this book. If you love 300, its a different little thing to have. If you love comics this would go well in a comic collection. I wouldn't recommend having it within easy reach of young children - my 6 year old opened the book and closed it pretty quickly! It is very graphic, but so is the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bloody and Brutal, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 (Hardcover)
An excellent and surprisingly historically acurate comic on the legend of the 300. No Spartan Fanatics Library is complete without it! Buy Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 (Kindle Edition)
I saw the movie to prior to reading the novel and it was everything i'd hoped it would be. I would definitely recommend this, however my only peeve is that it was quite short and for 10 I was hoping for something a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300
300 by Frank Miller
9.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews