Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire horror meets western
For anyone like myself who enjoyed the anime's but doesn't speak Japanese these translated novels are most welcome. Now we can finally read the source materials allthough i can't say how accurate the translation is.
This is the novel the anime from the 80's was adapted from. It tells the story of D being hired by Doris Lang to kill the vampire Count Magnus Lee. The...
Published on 11 Jun 2005 by matthew2501

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dhampir adventures.
A nice Japanese fantasy and horror novel .filled with dark and colorful imagination . set in a future , where the existence of vampires and mutants, is a fact of life .

The story starts with a vampire bitten farm owner, doris , who hires a vampire hunter , to rid her of the curse of becoming one of the undead. This hunter is a dhampir , half man half vampire...
Published on 24 Oct 2006 by themysticanimal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire horror meets western, 11 Jun 2005
For anyone like myself who enjoyed the anime's but doesn't speak Japanese these translated novels are most welcome. Now we can finally read the source materials allthough i can't say how accurate the translation is.
This is the novel the anime from the 80's was adapted from. It tells the story of D being hired by Doris Lang to kill the vampire Count Magnus Lee. The setting for the story is a post apocalyptic future that vampire's had ruled for 10'000 years but are now in decline.
Vampire Hunter D appeals to an audience outside of Japan with its blending of vampire horror and wild west feel. The main character D is pretty cool and he has one of the most unusual companions ever!
This is the first novel in a series thats been going for over 20 years now and if more volumes continue to be translated i'll be buying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!Vampire Hunter D is so cool!!!, 1 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. T. W. T. Wong (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Possibly one of the best dam novels i have ever read, considering i mainly read manga, but looking at the past 2 vampire D movies this novel follows the first vampire Hunter D movie quite accruate and reading the novel it really make me want to watch the original movie.D is awsome with his cool image and has a little handy friend on hand when situations are dire. This is a must have novel as it dipicts D's world as grusome and cruel and how humans and vampire show their status.Anyways, i already pre-ordered my second volume and i can't wait to dive again into vampire D dark world where vampire,demons and all sorts really takes you on a huge roller coaster trip.^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the style of translation., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampire Hunter D Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed the book and was sad that I completed it so quickly. It is more a novella than a novel.

The translation was also particularly characterful and I feel honours the original work. While I cannot comment on the original Japanese since I don't understand it, I got the pleasant impression Kevin Leahy was conscientious of Hideyuki Kikuchi's "writing voice". There were peculiar turns of phrase that wouldn't be used in typical literary English but must be Kevin's best efforts at emulating what Hideyuki would have wanted.

It was also quite amusing to see a shadow of that awful trope anime has, where characters - particularly villains - will get 5 minute expositions to explain what their next level super move does, how it got it's name and why the rival needs to have his jaw on the floor. It's really not that bad, I am exaggerating a bit, though in his defense I do like the way Hideyuki delivers these expositions.I really don't know how to explain it, you'll recognise it when you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am halfway through this story and i must say it makes a nice change! What i don't like is the fact its not got as many illustrations as i expected but at the end of the day its the story that counts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VH -D, 5 Sep 2011
AMAZING BOOK! Seriously, I just ordered the second and can't wait to read it, I finished this book in three days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 1 of a fantastic series, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Dale Hopkins "D" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book, if you enjoy horror / gothic fantasy the books will no doubt entertain and delight. The story for this first book is rather simple (not going to reiterate what others have), D the hunter protecting a client from a vampire but what I really appreciated was the amount of twists and turns, the fact new enemies rolled into the fray (in the form of some strange mutant behemoth hunters that each have there own power) without the story being all wrapped around D (not a case of protagonist love fever from the author) but he shines above the other characters regardless out of the merits of his personality and deeds. His journey is dark in a post apocalypic universe that had vampires take over and rebuild becoming the nobles but letting humans live, they have however employed many psychological traps in the minds of humans such as stopping them remembering how to use garlic and the power of the cross. Humans on the other hand live in a cowboy life style of farming in there old beat up towns that have a strange blend of good technology (electronic fences, laser rifles, robot horses etc.) but lost a lot of there technology and the only real technological marvel is the capital which through the years of rebuilding and fending off the vampires they no longer remember how to use the technologies that could save them. They are preyed on by the many genetically engineered beasts of the nobility (vampires) such as werewolves (not all of these are genetically modified however) flying little devils and other creatures.
The twists and turns with enemy joining enemy, coming back and going to the enemy again as they all seek what there own prizes is quite well done and keeps the story interesting.

This isn't a story designed to chuck philosophy at you but regardless the story brings about a detailed, thought out and beautiful rendition of gothic and fantasy genre's. Personally I found the rendition of vampires to be enthralling, it was so vivid and dark that it alone was worth the price of the book but then the story brings and blends various fantasy creatures in unique ways. The world feels like it has so much yet to see and that you want to see despite its grim setting and this leaves you always captivated.

I couldn't find a bad point about this book and I tried, reading the tales of earthsea I was 120 pages in and had 4 faults with it but this story just doesn't step a foot wrong (unless like said you want tons of philosophy) but you should read it because of the smart character relationships, beautifully crafted gothic world and its unique but genre defining vampires.
Having seen the movies I know the stories will only get better too with vampire love stories making even the enemy of our protagonist D into great characters of there own. This book was like the old movie but far more detailed so I believe book 3 will blow my mind as that movie was the perfect vampire movie in my mind with love, strife and a gothic touch that all vampires need while still giving the nod to Dracula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A hunter of unbelievable skill, 24 Jan 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Imagine a postapocalyptic wasteland, where technology is slowly sliding into a new medieval age... and vampire Nobles have ruled for ten thousand years.

Hideyuki Kikuchi left the rules of vampire novels behind when he crafted "Vampire Hunter D," mingling dark science fiction with ancient mythical creatures -- werewolves, vampires, and so on. Though his style is rather distant, the result is sort of a futuristic western by way of Bram Stoker.

Farmgirl Doris Lang stops a sword-carrying youth on a cyborg horse, and finds that he is a Vampire Hunter. Good thing, because Doris has been bitten by the vampire Magnus Lee, and needs this young man -- who calls himself "D" -- to save her and her brother from the vampire. Haughty vampire ladies, werewolves and feuding villagers all visit Doris' farm -- only to be repulsed by D.

But to deal with Lee, D must venture into a disgusting, labyrinthine castle, dealing with demonic serpent-women, lethal mutants, and the Count himself. Outside, Lee's servants and daughter Larmica grapple with various villagers, intending to capture or kill Doris -- but none of them realize what D, a dhampir, is hiding in his distant past...

The world Kikichi concocts is a pretty fascinating one -- it's over ten thousand years in the future, in the waning days of a vampire empire that ran the whole planet, and Earth is overrun with vampires, werewolves, fairies, mutants and cyborgs. He's invented a gloriously rough, wild kind of world, sort of a postapocalyptic Wild West.

However, his writing is anything but -- detailed, atmospheric, and full of creepy scenes (including D's, uh, left hand reviving him when he's "killed"). If there's an overhanging problem, it's that he has to infodump his audience at times, so they know about stuff like Gargantua grapes.

Kikuchi relies on a formal, distant style reminiscent of 19th-century novels, though more spare and stripped down. But sometimes he bursts into outright pulpy prose ("The people saw the crimson glean of his eyes in the darkness -- the eyes of a vampire!"). And he spins up some pretty intense suspense about D's true nature, and his hidden identity.

D is a rather elusive, haunted character -- Kikuchi rarely shows us what he thinks or feels, but gradually hints at his inner struggles. And he's backed by a pretty solid cast of characters -- feisty Doris, the despicable rich boy Greco, haughty vampiress Larmica, and the downright creepy mutant Rei-Ginsu, who is able to warp space inside his body.

While it has a few rough spots, "Vampire Hunter D" is a haunting, futuristic tale of vampires and the mysterious Hunter who pursues them. An excellent beginning to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dhampir adventures., 24 Oct 2006
A nice Japanese fantasy and horror novel .filled with dark and colorful imagination . set in a future , where the existence of vampires and mutants, is a fact of life .

The story starts with a vampire bitten farm owner, doris , who hires a vampire hunter , to rid her of the curse of becoming one of the undead. This hunter is a dhampir , half man half vampire , who goes by the name D. after that , we meet the vampire who bit doris , a mutant gang for hire and some suspicious villagers . interwined of course with a satisfying dose of duels, horror, and fantasy.

Hideyuki kikuchi's imagination is impressive .the book is filled with brilliant ideas , that an aspiring horror and fantasy writer , could use to write several books .

weather controlling machines, and the vampires using genetic engineering, to wipe off the memory of the cross's effect on vampires, from the human brain, were brilliant .you don't feel like you're reading a novel from 1983 .

it still lacks depth . it's expected though . this is the first volume in a series of seventeen .

eight yoshitaka amano's - character designer of the vampire hunter d films - illustration are included in this book. My favorite is the one in page 207 .the hand.

good for teenagers and anime fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant blend of genres, 14 Feb 2007
By 
This is possibly one of my favourite books ever. Its a great start to a series with lots of new ideas involved based around the myth of the vampire. Here vampires were the ones to reach the pinnacle of technology and many of the nightmare creatures in these books were genetically engineered for their purposes. This book is set after the fall of the vampires, in a world turned into a living nightmare for humans in which the creatures the vampires created rule the night. The genre is a curious mix between western, sci-fi, fantasy and horror. This might sound unappealing but Hideyuki pulls it off very well. The novel itself is very intelligently written, with wonderful imagery, and one cannot doubt the attractiveness of D (this is a joke in regards to the myriad ways that D is described as beautiful - try and count them).

This story is based around Doris a young woman who was bitten by one of the elusive elite, the vampire Magnus Lee. D is portrayed as a mysterious and often emotionless young looking man, whom effortlessly deals with everything that is placed in his path. The other characters too are well drawn and interesting. There are many differences between the book and the film, for example the role of the "smaller" villains(i.e. Rei).

To top it all off Yoshitaka amano is the illustrator, and this alone makes the novel worth reading. All in all a fantastic read and the best one i've read so far in the series. (The second best one is book 3 :) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark and dangerous future..., 26 Sep 2006
By 
S. Gibson (Wokingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently got into Vampire Hunter D via the anime, I decided to check out the novels on which the films were based, of which this is the first.

Plunging you immediately into a distant future peopled by vampires, werewolves and other horrors of the night, the book tells of a young werewolf hunter, Doris Lang, and the beautiful and mysterious D, a vampire hunter hired to protect her from the clutches of Magnus Lee, one of the 'Nobility'. What really makes this book stand out though is the vivid portrayals of the baser aspects of humanity, the bigotry, intolerance and violence of a population struggling against the fading rule of an ancient terror. The story, and the world in which it is set, seamlessly marries tradtional gothic horror with science-fiction and fantasy, whilst still managing to throw in some of the frontier spirit of the Old West.

I'd certainly recommend this book for fans of the anime, as well as to anyone interested in something more than the usual portrayal of vampires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vampire Hunter D Volume 1
Vampire Hunter D Volume 1 by Yoshitaka Amano
3.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews