Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pursuit of Laughter by Diana Mosley
I must recommend this book, it is a treasure trove of Diana's collected journalism. Most of all, I enjoyed the diversity, she covers topics from literature, sex and religion to politics and war. The book is highly informative and you feel confident in the knowledge that she is a highly competent book reviewer.

Amidst the intelligent and lengthy essays, there...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by G. Davies

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy but entertaining
I got this after reading The collected letters of the six Mitford sisters, which I found utterly gripping. I have to confess to not being quite as gripped by this collection.

I loved the diary section of the book, but thought that it was too short by comparison with the numerous book reviews included. Some of the book reviews were fascinating, but too many were...
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy but entertaining, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I got this after reading The collected letters of the six Mitford sisters, which I found utterly gripping. I have to confess to not being quite as gripped by this collection.

I loved the diary section of the book, but thought that it was too short by comparison with the numerous book reviews included. Some of the book reviews were fascinating, but too many were about subjects I didn't care for, and her voice is not always compelling enough to carry a story about such a subject for me. I also got a little tired of the fact that many of the reviews, which seem to be clumped together by subject were clearly written together with a large amount of crossover material.

The book was too uneven and did not work with the wonderful harmony of the collected letters. I enjoyed the three portraits at the end of the volume about Evelyn Waugh, Violet Hammersley and Lytton Strachey, but there weren't enough of these wonderful moments to make the volume a total success for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pursuit of Laughter by Diana Mosley, 24 Jan 2009
By 
G. Davies "Book hunter" (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must recommend this book, it is a treasure trove of Diana's collected journalism. Most of all, I enjoyed the diversity, she covers topics from literature, sex and religion to politics and war. The book is highly informative and you feel confident in the knowledge that she is a highly competent book reviewer.

Amidst the intelligent and lengthy essays, there are some truly witty gems. Perhaps the most entertaining review included is that of The Diaries of Cynthia Gladwyn. The review titled 'Catty Musings of a Living Doll' is genuinely assessed in a competent manner and still manages to be hillarious simultaneously.

How curious, I see that the future paperback release cover advertises the authour as 'Diana Mitford' rather than Diana Mosley. But I think that in recent times her works are being appreciated as a stand-alone success, regardless of her husband's politics. She has cemented her name as a bona fide Mitfordian writer, that easily rivals the works of Nancy and Jessica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An iconoclast's view, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Alys "Alys" (Toulouse France) - See all my reviews
I loved this book. Lady Mosley was well-connected, well read, and married one of the most notorious politicians of pre-War England, both she and her husband were imprisoned, on extremely dubious grounds, in the early years of World War II.
She read widely in English, French and German, and it seems to me that she formed her own opinion about everything and everyone she encountered. While not agreeing with her political stance, I enjoyed the reviews, subjective and objective, and delighted in her sense of humour.
This book sparkles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughters with a twist of sadness, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diana Mosley deserves to be credited with humour on level with her more famous sister Nancy. She also commands the English language perfectly, making it pure pleasure to read her texts: In spite of the lightly flowing language, every word appears to have been very carefully selected, which is perhaps more than can be said about all of Nancy's works. Of course, the rather unfair treatment she received during and after the war, a slightly bitter tinge can be detected in some chapters, but still much less than could have been expected. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kindle on computer, 1 July 2013
By 
grandma (lancashire england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Laughter: Essays, Reviews and Diary (Kindle Edition)
i bought this to try out using kindle app on my temperamental computer.

i love the mitford girls writings and this by diana mosley more than pleasantly surprised me.

i expected it to be fairly readable and judging by the title to be light hearted but didn't expect too much as i wouldn't have been surprised if it had been unreadable for me with lots of fascist views.

this is so well written, interesting and varied being.a selection of her newspaper and magazine reviews covering many varied topics and people.

she is easy to read, very literate and surprisingly (for me) caring and tolerant in some of her articles .

i have just read an article by her sister deborah devonshire who says she is amazed that she was so fanatically right wing when she was the most even handed and scrupulously fair person she knew.

i enjoyed most of the articles, particularly those that were about people that were mentioned in nancymitfords books and who i was interested in hearing more about.

i scanned very quickly and ignored her 2nd husband and herr hitler.

read for yourself andmake up your own mind, its worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Kirby "GRADDON" (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Laughter: Essays, Reviews and Diary (Kindle Edition)
Eloquent and interesting a real in depth look at this wonderful Mitford girl. I loved her self depreciasting humor and humility. Even though I cant spell. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Laughter: Essays, Reviews and Diary (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book containing an anthology of the writings of Diana Mosely, the most infamous of all the Mitford sisters.

Her writing is perceptive, witty, ascerbic and often pant-wettingly funny.

It is a fantastic way of learning about the lives of the movers and shakers of 20th century England. Essential reading for anyone interested in the Bloomsbury group.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seven decades in review, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Paul Magnussen (Campbell, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Aristocratic, beautiful, intelligent, charming, literate and trilingual, a personal friend of Hitler (who was a witness at her wedding to a charismatic politician who vociferously opposed war with Germany) and sister of an avowed Nazi, it's no wonder that Diana Mitford/Mosley terrified MI5. The sheer spitefulness and pettiness of the treatment she got, none the less, almost defies belief — all, of course, without any charge, trial or chance to plead not guilty (An example? Her cell light being too dim to read by, she offered to buy a brighter one. She was refused).

This background might perhaps lead one to expect her writings to be political rants. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a wide panorama of short essays, reviews, pen portraits, and one interview; and since Diana knew personally many of the protagonists of the books she reviews, her comments and corrections are of especial interest.

So much has been written both by and about the Mitfords that it may be hard for the newcomer to know where to start. The obvious entry point is Nancy's best three novels (all with common characters and all hilarious):

The Pursuit of Love
Love in a Cold Climate
The Blessing

Then perhaps the book that made Jessica famous, The American Way of Death. If these don't interest you, there's not much point in going further.

If, on the other hand, they leave you curious as to the authors and their era, I recommend Jonathan Guinness's The House of Mitford (an excellent biography of the whole family), to give the necessary background for Letters Between Six Sisters. If you then choose to move on to Diana, I suggest first her autobiography, A Life of Contrasts, and then the present opus.

Whatever Diana Mosley's politics, she was first rate writer with an astonishing breadth of knowledge.

There are also many photographs from her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fun book, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Laughter: Essays, Reviews and Diary (Kindle Edition)
I expected a good laugh but alas, for me, it was not. I am sure very witty to some but beyond me. Possible it was funny and clever if one was more familiar with the historical time of Mosley. I did not finish reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good communicator, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Laughter: Essays, Reviews and Diary (Kindle Edition)
this whole family has been of historical interest and much of the publicly presented facts have been centred on hysteria. This is a good insight into how Diana thought and viewed other members of her family. It is a good read whether you agree with her or not which is the mark of a good communicator in my view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews