Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody's changing...
A noticeable step back from the arch, frantically paced C86-isms of their excellent debut - Waiting for Something to Happen finds Veronica Falls piling on the Byrdsian vocal harmonies, applying a new found maturity to their song writing, & collapsing backwards into glorious melancholy.

One or two of the lesser songs fall into the also-ran bracket, sounding more...
Published 18 months ago by Rooksby

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oK
i WAS WAITING A LITTLE BIT MORE ABOUT THIS RECORD, THE SECOND FROM THEM. But I think it is too pop, no news and some backing vocals arent necessaries!!! Its ok, you can litening during a saturday evening!!!
Published 17 months ago by Frank Bozic Jr.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody's changing..., 14 Feb 2013
By 
Rooksby (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waiting For Something To Happen (Audio CD)
A noticeable step back from the arch, frantically paced C86-isms of their excellent debut - Waiting for Something to Happen finds Veronica Falls piling on the Byrdsian vocal harmonies, applying a new found maturity to their song writing, & collapsing backwards into glorious melancholy.

One or two of the lesser songs fall into the also-ran bracket, sounding more like The Flatmates than The Shop Assistants, but Veronica Falls are ultimately far better at this chugging, chiming "indie-pop" (sorry) thing than, for instance, their similarly influenced American counterparts - Black Tambourine, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, et al. As obvious as this might sound, Veronica Falls simply write some deceptively simple, really good songs.

It's the best album of the year so far, for me - I doubt they'll be many better ones released between now & December tbh.

n.b. The vinyl edition comes with a free copy of the CD tucked inside so, if you invest a little more cash, you get the benefit of crisp digital sound (if that's your "thing") AND a beautiful big sleeve. Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album for a while, 4 Feb 2013
By 
I. READ (Cromer Pavillian, Cromer, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For Something To Happen (Audio CD)
This took a few listens to grow on me, but I have become a bit addicted to it. The track Teenage reminds me of the Big Star song "Thirteen". They share the same subject matter, but it's by no means a copy. What I mean is that they both musical capsulates capable of filling your body with sheer joy. Probably not to everyone's tastes, but I think the world would be a better place if people who didn't like this album were pushed in the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From strength to strength, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For Something To Happen (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this fine second album by London indie-pop quartet Veronica Falls.

As other reviewers have noted, Veronica Falls take their cue from the jangly indie-pop (aka "C86") sound of the mid-1980s. But like most good bands, Veronica Falls combine an existing formula with orginal elements to produce a distinctive sound of their own.

For one thing Veronica Falls have a The-Mammas-and-the-Papas boys-and-girl vocal harmonies thing going on which (because they all have really nice voices!) is very melodic and listenable.

Yet they also give the sweet-and-catchy indie-pop genre something of a dark and melancholic Gothic hue. Talulah Gosh meets the Sisters of Mercy!

Their debut album was very impressive and if anything I like this follow-up even more. It seems just a tad more polished and mature.

The main thing is that the songs are really very catchy. I found several of them worming around my head all day long after just a couple of listens. I particularly love Teenage, Shooting Star, If You Still Want Me... oh heck, I love all the songs!

I find that a lot of bands who produce a great debut album inevitably disappoint a bit on their second album. Not Veronica Falls, who seem instead to be going from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Waiting patiently, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Peter Hill ""yoghurtknitter"" (Waterville Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting For Something To Happen (Audio CD)
I loved their debut album and as other reviewers have said this follow up is certainly different. Better or worse? No, just different....but in a good way.
Their first album was full of urgency and passion but this one is more mature and reserved.
They've refined their sound, getting less frantic in the process, and now remind me a lot of Frankie Rose perhaps crossed with The Pains of Being Pure at Heart.
After a few listens the album is now sounding great (albeit perhaps there's too little variation?).
They've retained their quirky lyrics e.g "bury me alive, i don't care if people cry" & "set me adrift and hope the tide doesn't bring me in" both on the excellent 'buried alive' but whereas similar lyrics were sang with some grit on the first album they're brought forth very sweetly here and this makes it all the more interesting in a peculiar way.
Most of the tracks are really good except the final couple of tracks (should have stopped at 11) and at different moments additionally reminded me of The Breeders, Ultra Vivid Scene & The Shop Assistants, albeit all in small measures.
It'll be interesting to see what path they follow on their 3rd album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Punk As it Should Be, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget all the dross that has been clogging the charts under the dubious moniker of Pop Punk, Veronica Falls are the real deal. Songs og genuine tunefulness with thoughtful lyrics. A true gem of an album and every bit as good as their debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oK, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For Something To Happen (Audio CD)
i WAS WAITING A LITTLE BIT MORE ABOUT THIS RECORD, THE SECOND FROM THEM. But I think it is too pop, no news and some backing vocals arent necessaries!!! Its ok, you can litening during a saturday evening!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting For Something To Happen
Waiting For Something To Happen by Veronica Falls (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews