Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Place To Get Romantic
Plot. What should have been a romantic weekend turns into a nightmare for a couple who rent the lodge.
The first half is a bit slow as we see the couple settle in and we see this creepy caretaker disturb them a few times. Then the action begins in earnest as the couple end up fighting for their lives.
A very clever plot, with a lot of tension, a little bit...
Published on 12 Jan. 2011 by Mr. R. Domar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of a Couple in Peril - Buy or Watch Wolf Creek 2 Instead
Michael and Julia are a very attractive, twenty-something American couple. Michael takes his girlfriend for a romantic weekend away in the Rocky Mountains, engagement ring in his rucksack, and they stay in a secluded, highly impressive looking log cabin. Henry is the caretaker and butler, a thirty-something guy with a Dave Grohl of The Foo Fighters vibe, who's guarded and...
Published 16 days ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of a Couple in Peril - Buy or Watch Wolf Creek 2 Instead, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
Michael and Julia are a very attractive, twenty-something American couple. Michael takes his girlfriend for a romantic weekend away in the Rocky Mountains, engagement ring in his rucksack, and they stay in a secluded, highly impressive looking log cabin. Henry is the caretaker and butler, a thirty-something guy with a Dave Grohl of The Foo Fighters vibe, who's guarded and odd behaviour would have most guests checking out of their room before unpacking their bags. A girl in her early teens, Desi, roams the building in a spooky fashion, but even her strange behaviour doesn't have the two happy go lucky lovers running for the hills...
This film is well shot and has an atmospheric film score, but it's all style over substance. The acting is okay (ish), the young couple are likeable, but Henry is very average as the oddball with something sinister to hide. Still worse, the movie is neutered by its 15 certificate. With a very small cast, the film desperately needed to be a lot more creepy, sexy, tense and scary. The first half of the movie develops at an unhurried pace, and it doesn't really achieve lift off in the second half. The script is anodyne, but compensated for a little by some lovely shots of the forests around the Rocky Mountains. However, by about the hour mark, I was hoping that the killer from Wolf Creek would turn up and teach Henry how to do his job as a psycho properly...
This flick is meant to be a chiller, but it's a lukewarm and unforgivably derivative scary movie, which has the unmistakeable whiff of being a made for TV film. If it had a single memorable or even just one plain scary scene, I might have given it 3 stars, but I think that 2.5 stars is fairest. If you want to see a stunning horror film, about a couple in peril at the hands of a maniac, I can very highly recommend Wolf Creek 2 and Storm Warning - Wolf Creek 2 [Blu-ray], Storm Warning [Blu-ray]. The two directors of The Lodge should perhaps watch Wolf Creek 2, and then appreciate that the scarier the bad guy is, the easier it is to construct a gripping film. It's not rocket science.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pants, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
As other viewers have already quite correctly pointed out, the perky blurb on
the product packaging promises much with its references to both 'The Shining'
and 'Cabin In The Woods' and some pretty enticing quotes : "A Nerve Shattering
Classic Horror" & "Will Creep The Hell Out Of You". As to the former, well,
it isn't and with regard to the latter, well, it didn't (although I shouted at
the TV screen in utter disbelief on a number of occasions during the 85 minute
course of this utterly execrable movie but not in response to any of directors
Brad Helmink and John Rauchelbach's sloppy narrative or lame shock tactics).

What a mess! No-brainer script; appalling continuity and editing which, together
with cardboard cutout characterization and equally wooden acting, scrapes the very
bottom of the couple-on-a-weekend-away-in-a-creaky-house-full-of-sick-psychos-
and-not-getting-away-when-they-had-every-good-chance barrel. In a word : Pants.

I bought my copy today in a charity shop. Clearly a bad sign for such a new disc.

At Your Own Risk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dishonest blurb - be warned!, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
R. Campbell "Ramsey Campbell" (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
The British DVD released by 101 Films carries a quote from horror.net: "THE SHINING meets CABIN IN THE WOODS Truly disturbing". In fact it's a cheap and nasty little film in which a young couple are brutalised by two sadists. That's all. I would have checked horror.net, but apparently the site is risky to visit. The packaging of the film also has rottentomatoes.com saying "Will creep the hell out of you." Really? This is what the site actually says: [...]
And there's also a glowing quote from [...]
- you will judge how critically reliable they are.
Don't waste your money or your time, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poop 💩, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
miss L. barrow ": )" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
watched 5 minutes and knew it was going to be low budget, the kind of film you see sci fi channel, wasted my money not happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One star is an insult to stars!, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
A. Roberts (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
The cover blurb has the temerity to suggest that this film is in the same ball park as The Shining and Cabin in the Woods. Please don't believe that for a minte- they are films of wit, thought and intelligence. This is about as far from those two films as you can possibly get. In fact it re-defines the word formulaic- loved up couple go to remote cabin for peace and quiet-mad person appears-all not right-strange noises etc-mad man attacks- eventually they both escape-chase ensues-mad man dies-they think they've got away-twist. t's really that simple and that tedious. The acting makes one think they made the cast out of left over wood when the set was built. The dialogue is pre school stuff and, and, oh, I wasted 90 minutes if my precious existence on this garbage and it's that which offends me more than the money I spent. Caveat Emptor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars possibly the worst horror film ever..., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present for my avid horror fan boyfriend. He's no "expert" but did say this was without doubt the worst horror film he had ever seen. Good thing it was cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average thriller!, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
When I picked up 'The Lodge' yesterday at a supermarket, I originally thought that it was a new movie that must have passed me by at the cinema. It isn't, it was made in 2008 and only recently surfaced on DVD in 2013.

The review from horror.net on the DVD cover would have you believe that it was cross between Stephen King's 'The Shining' and the acclaimed 'Cabin In The Woods', but it isn't, and it doesn't even come close.

Nevertheless, 'The Lodge' is a reasonably enjoyable thriller, starring relatively unknown actors Elizabeth Kell and Owen Szabo, who I would very much like to see more if his performance in this is anything to go by, and Kevin McClatchy, who has a few film and TV credits to his name.

Like countless other horror stories, a young couple (Kell and Szabo) travel to the remote Two Rivers Raunch to spend a drug-fueled dirty weekend alone, only for it to turn into a nightmare. It all starts to go wrong for them when they meet kindly but highly disturbed caretaker Henry (McClatchy) who appears to be unfamiliar with the area set in the Rocky Mountains, which immediately makes Kell suspicious.

The story is nothing new, chances are you'll have seen something similar time and time again, but I did enjoy it, and the beginning was particularly good. It would probably have done better and been held in higher regard had it been a made for television movie, instead of ultimately being put into the B movie bag. Nevertheless, the beautiful location suited the storyline well, the acting was good, and despite it's predictably, the straight forward story-line plays out well. For a low-budget horror, it has it's merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Splodge, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
Clump clump clump...

No, that's not the sound of a killer mercilessly stalking his prey; that's the sound of a leaden plot making its long and torturous journey to the end credits. Imagine, if you will, a group of film and media students were given $10,000; first time actors; a script that was mistakenly left in the washing machine; then instructed to make a homage to Funny Games, this would surely be the end result.

I'm in a good mood today so if I were to be generous, the seeds of a half-decent film could be seen in The Lodge. By seen, I mean, if you tilted your head, closed one eye, and squinted with the other. The only reason i'm giving it two stars is because of an interesting opening scene, and some lovely panoramic shots of the surroundings.

The rest of it is absymal in the extreme, I knew the film was hitting the skids as soon as the mismatched couple arrive at their hired holiday cabin. Maybe it's just me, but the 'hero' is the most emotionally and physically needy male lead i've ever come across; to the point where I couldn't quite work out who was saving who exactly (in terms of the 'damsel in distress' meme). Equally, their chemistry is non-existent, like two people on a first date making the inevitable stilted and pause-laden conversation.

The best (I use that word ironically, of course) was when they met the cabin's 'owner' (who said needy lead had hired it from):

Needy Lead: "Hey, you must be Henry"
Dodgy Owner: "Er, yes...my...name... is Henry?"

Gah, talk about making any attempt at plot chicanery null and void. Still being in a generous mood, I was half-expecting some curve-balls that failed to appear 'oh maybe it's all being streamed for on-line snuff fans; or maybe the needy lead will turn out to be in on the act; or maybe that reference to her kickboxing classes will come to play later on'. In fact, the only thing missing was the hackneyed 'then she woke up and it was all a dream'.

No! None of those things, in fact the plot is so linear and clumsy that it's almost a plot twist in itself. Who knows; maybe in this post-Scream era of knowing, post-modern horror we've gone full-circle again. Or maybe it is what it is; a barely entertaining, no-frills, attempt at horror which misses on so many levels that I wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst film I have ever watched, 18 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
The worst film I have ever watched. .Cheap budget Amateur film shot with an out of focus camera. I wouldn't watch it even if you got it free. I usually give my watched dvd's to a charity shop, but I tossed it in the bin because it's so awful. I cant understand why Horror.net gave it 5 stars,they must have mistook it for "the lodger"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly dire, 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Lodge [DVD] (DVD)
Like others the blurb on the cover tempted me....a cross between The Shining And Cabin in the woods, both good films. Then there was the "truly disturbing" from Rotten Tomatoes. The only disturbing thing was how this film ever got made. Long lingering shots of beautiful landscapes were the only good thing about it. Just plain nasty. I got bored but thought as I had actually paid for it, I would watch it. Whoever wrote the back blurb hadn't watched the film (lucky person) as the implication was that somehow The Lodge had a life of its own that would also engage in the life and death struggle of this totally unlikeable couple. Waste of time. If you buy this film you have only yourself to blame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lodge [DVD]
The Lodge [DVD] by John Rauschelbach (DVD - 2013)
£2.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews