Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (190)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writing as always
I am already a huge Diane Chamberlain fan so may be biased! Excellent book, entertaining and surprising in parts too. You never know what's coming with Diane and if you guess you're usually wrong!
Published 22 months ago by Kat

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best
Have read most of Diane Chamberlain's books and had not found one yet that I didn't really enjoy, I had looked forward to this one being available since finishing the first of the trilogy "Keeper of the Light". I have got to say that I was a bit disappointed,this is definitely not one her best. The story, although it takes us on from the last book and contains some of...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by GenieB


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Have read most of Diane Chamberlain's books and had not found one yet that I didn't really enjoy, I had looked forward to this one being available since finishing the first of the trilogy "Keeper of the Light". I have got to say that I was a bit disappointed,this is definitely not one her best. The story, although it takes us on from the last book and contains some of the great characters from that one, is not as good as the first and I found it rather tame but that does not stop me looking forward to reading the last one in the trilogy due out later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars kiss river, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
i have read most of diane chamberlain books and found this very disapointing. the prose was more like mills and boon. story line very predictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writing as always, 17 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I am already a huge Diane Chamberlain fan so may be biased! Excellent book, entertaining and surprising in parts too. You never know what's coming with Diane and if you guess you're usually wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read Keeper of the Light and this is the superb sequel to this. I love Diane Chamberlain's books. They tell a great story almost like a whodunnit. She and Jodi Picoult are my 2 favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kiss River, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the second of the Trilogy but it certainly was not as good as good as the first and cost me three times as much! (Although it still wasn't overpriced as books go). It took a long time to to understand why Gina was so intent on getting the light recovered from the sea bed and when it finally was retrieved, it was rather disappointing after the big build up. How Gina could even consider that retrieving the light would solve her money problems was a bit unrealistic as well. In fact the whole storyline from that point of view was far fetched and did not make the reader feel sympathetic to the problem because so little time was given in the book to what was supposed to be of earth shattering importance to that part of the story. More should have been made of this I think.

It was good to catch up with the main characters of book one and also to get a more in depth view of Mary Poor's early life , using the diary was a nice touch. I thought there was also too much in-depth narrative about the previous book as well. If readers need or want to know, they will buy the book - it can be very irritating for those that have already invested time in reading the first book we don't want a rehash of what's gone before. I will read the third in the trilogy just to tie up the loose ends but can't say I will be as eager as I was to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss River, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful to follow on from Keeper of the Light Trilogy & be able to continue following the lives of the characters of Kiss River.
Makes you feel part of everything, laughing & crying with the characters as they feel alive & real as you read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KISS RIVER, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Gina Higgins arrives at Kiss River claiming to be a lighthouse historian,brother and sister Clay and Lacey O'Neill who live in the keeper's house offer to take her in. Although a friendship transpires between the three of them Gina is hiding a very big secret, she needs money to collect her adopted daughter from an orphanage, a mission that brings her to Kiss River.
A good read and sequel to Keeper Of The Light, although in my opinion not one of the best novels that this author has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (Hardcover)
The second in the Kiss River Trilogy is definitely not one of Diane's best, sadly. I found it a mirror image of the first one - divorcee and widower with instant attraction - and it took a long time to find out the reason Gina wanted the lens raising. I became very bored and lost interest half way through. I liked the diaries angle and needed to know who the traitor was but by the end didn't particularly care. I am not going to be reading Her Mother's Shadow, which is the last in the trilogy, albeit I spent a fortune getting it, as it's not on Kindle or in paperback in the UK. I do feel it will only be like the first two and am going to start something which holds my interest a little longer. Sorry Diane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but read Keeper of the LIght first, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second part of the kiss river trilogy following Keeper of the light. Now Lacey and Clay are grown up and living in the light house keeper's house. A woman turns up saying she is a light house historian but who seems to know nothing about lighthouses. I found I did not like her at all at first as she was obviously lying but when you find out what is driving her it is believable. That Is Diane Chamberlain's way she makes the most unlikely scenarios seem plausible as desperate people do desperate things. The woman is reading her grandmothers diary and the story follows what happens to her during the war is a parallel story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and I would really recommend you do the same, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss River (The Keeper of the Light Trilogy - Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded all 3 of the Kiss River trilogy books and read them together, and I would really recommend you do the same. They are really great books and would make a wonderful TV mini series! The books flow seamlessly into each other, taking the main characters along and bringing in new ones, who were briefly mentioned in one of the others but now become important as time and events develop. The characters are so well defined that you feel by the end that you have been part of their lives and I really missed them and wanted more. I shall definitely read them all again at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews