Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Story of ordinary people in extraordinary world
I purchased this out of curiousity; many people will recall this story from earlier in the year and now this charity book has been released.

First of all, this is a beautiful book-high quality paper, full colour photos from Martha's blog and lot of pictures of Malawi and the family.

Secondly, what a story. And well told by the father of Martha. If...
Published 22 months ago by David Jamieson

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Really dull book, very boring and very disappointing as the TV programme was great. Don't bother, I wouldn't if I were you
Published 18 months ago by Laura


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Story of ordinary people in extraordinary world, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this out of curiousity; many people will recall this story from earlier in the year and now this charity book has been released.

First of all, this is a beautiful book-high quality paper, full colour photos from Martha's blog and lot of pictures of Malawi and the family.

Secondly, what a story. And well told by the father of Martha. If you're a parent, you'll absolutely identify with this book. Imagine if your young child was thrown into being a global star in just a few months-how would ou cope? The answer is that the Payne family seemed to be overwhelmed, but the kids come across as very grounded despite being asked to take part in amazing things that other children would be brattish about. The parents seem very nice and sensible and this is a very warm book. Stories of rejecting Hollywood film deals while going camping give you an idea of this! Likeable, ordinary people in a very unique situation.

I'll now be buying copies for gifts for Xmas. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very honest book - an excellent read, 24 Nov 2012
I bought this book since I've been interested in the Neverseconds story from early on. It is an excellent book but really difficult to describe, and different from what I expected. The book gives the background story of Martha Payne's blog about her school lunches and the world-wide uproar which resulted when the local authority banned her photographing her lunches. The background is provided by Martha's dad David, with blog entries from Martha.

The story of the book can be viewed in a number of different ways:
* A David and Goliath story - big local authority against the ordinary people
* Parents trying to protect their family from media interest and intrusion
* The emerging importance of social media in society
* Working for better school meals
* How unlikely occurrences can provide opportunities to help others.
* The contrast between Scotland and Malawi.

It is a very honest book, and totally different to what I had expected. I had expected that it might just be a rather sentimental retelling of the happenings of the past few months with the main value in buying it being the contibution to Mary's Meals. Not so. The book does not hesitate to talk about bullying at school, about the family struggling to do what was best for all the kids, about thinking (wrongly) that relatives had sold photos of Martha to the media, about the difficulties of decision making in the face of media requests for access and instant responses.

It's the background stuff that makes this book so interesting - how they worked togeher as a family; the involvement of the grandparents; the detail of the confrontation with the council officials; the deviousness of some sections of the press; the offers they were made to go here there and everywhere. This family had the internal resources to deal with the bad things in this and divert them into a good outcome, but it left me wondering if other families would have coped as well.

A great read. But I'm glad Martha has such a good family around her. Being 'famous' at 10 years old is maybe not a good thing. It will be interesting to see what she makes of these past few months when she looks back on it all in a few years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Martha, prepare to adore her!!!, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have love the Never Seconds blog since the very public council ban and subsequent retraction.

I've laughed at Martha's humor, learnt about food from all over the world and even been made to reconsider my own relationship with food!

But I didin't realise how touching, heartbreaking, heartwarming and just downright lovely the story of Martha, David and Never Seconds really was!

I have not put this book down since I started reading it (I assumed it would just be the blog in book form) and have absolutely adored every second of their amazing tale!

For all those out there who love amazing stories of bravery, ingenuity and downright adorable children who want to make their dreams (and everybody elses!) come true...buy and love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will laugh tears and you will cry tears - amazing, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
neverseconds: The Incredible Story of Martha Payne

I pre-ordered this title from Amazon and it arrived in perfect timing for launch.

This is a must read book, not only are you feeding 25 impoverished children in Malawi, you are getting a really great biography from 2 people currently in the spot light because of the blog NeverSeconds.

Unless it is my sense of humour, the first few pages had me in stitches and yes I can relate to the number of shoe and clothes changes - you have to read it to find out as I don't want to put any spoilers in.

Buy it as a gift or read it for yourself, I am enjoying it and hopefully you will to.

Thumbs up from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating read!, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NeverSeconds: The Incredible Story of Martha Payne (Kindle Edition)
What an excellent book! Totally captivating and I finished it in under 3 hours! I have never bought a Kindle book before but just couldn't wait for a paper book to be delivered. It's inspirational. Would make a fantastic gift. 😊
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally inspiring!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NeverSeconds: The Incredible Story of Martha Payne (Kindle Edition)
I read this in 2 nights. I only stopped on the first night because I got so angry about the way Martha was being treated by people who should have known better, I wanted to go punch a council official!!
I loved the honesty of Dave Payne about his relationship with Martha and the way the family tried to handle the furore that surrounded the Council ban on the photos of the meals.
The story of the trip to Malawi and a child's perspective on the lives of the people there were fascinating. I hope the family can get back to a relatively normal life again. If she decides to pursue journalism in the future, Martha will be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeding the World's children ......An amazing piece of social history, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Ms B. Peters "BP" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow ! What an amazing little girl!
Encouraged by her vision and with her Father and family's constant love and support, this thoughtful little girl documented and dedicatedly recorded the meals in her school- then amazingly children round the world discussed and compared meals An awareness of the importance of good nutritious food and meals then bringing poor hungry children to school and one nitritious meal a day through the work of Mary's Meals
,A strong message to ALL of The importance of the birthright of education and nutritious food for all the world's children and a simple solution through one child's vision resonating in children round the world .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't put it down, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once you start reading this book you can't put it down. The writing is excellent, and the story is inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never seconds, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book giving the background to Martha's blog, right from the beginning. It includes information from her father that fills the links behind the blog. Best if you have read at least some of the blog, so you understand what it is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story behind the headlines, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Caroline (Roxburghshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because we've supported Mary's meals and the backpack project for some time, and I had read the Neverseconds blog.
It was so interesting to read this down to earth account of the year the family had.
I really felt for them all - they don't strike me as limelight seekers and it must have been hard to cope with.
Bits of the book brought tears to my eyes, and made me even more committed to support this charity in future.
Well done Martha - for remaining a normal little girl in the face of all that 'fame'. And well done to the family for supporting her so ably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews