Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any budding Mentalist
There are two books considered to be required reading for those new to mentalism. One is Corinda's 13 Steps. The other is Ted Anneman's Practical Mental Effects - reproduced here as Practical Mental Magic. The book is a compendium of effects that were first published in Anneman's magazine, The Jinx. It dates back to the 30s. The writing and presentation might seem a...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by Peter

versus
40 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
Having read a great deal about this book I was expecting far more from it. The tricks/routines in it are very dated and mostly require in depth preparation or collusion from a member of your audience.
Seriously, don't waste your money!!
Published on 11 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any budding Mentalist, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Peter "I'm here because I need something to d... (Hassocks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Mental Magic (Paperback)
There are two books considered to be required reading for those new to mentalism. One is Corinda's 13 Steps. The other is Ted Anneman's Practical Mental Effects - reproduced here as Practical Mental Magic. The book is a compendium of effects that were first published in Anneman's magazine, The Jinx. It dates back to the 30s. The writing and presentation might seem a little dated because of this, but don't be fooled. Mentalism is mentalism is mentalism, and the presentation of 'psychic entertainment' hasn't changed that greatly over the years - especially when compared to other areas of magic.

Most of what you'll read here requires the bare minimum of props. And most of what it does require can be bought from Staples or Rymans stationers rather than specialised magic shops.

Practical mental Magic is a phenomenal foundation for those who want to learn some serious, working, time-tested mentalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Mentalists, 28 May 2011
If you're into mentalism it's one of the best books available its price is very low. It has many good effects on close up or stand up mentalism. The thing i didn't like was that some of the effects use stooges. Many effects also need the construction of gimmicks. But whatever style you have you will totally find sth you will like in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious review, 6 May 2009
Firstly, please ignore the bad reviews of this book.

Secondly, please understand the importance of this book.

This is a historical text. It wasn't in fact written as a book, but was a collection of articles written in The Jinx magazine, but Theodore Annemann, during his prolific reign in the 1930's.

Annemann was a ground breaking performer in the field of mentalism and whilst I agree that many of the described acts are dated now, it must be understood that when these effects were first produced in the 30's, they were groundbreaking works.

The mistake that could easily be made is to write this off as an outdated body of work that has no bearing on today's magic. Indeed I would think that any of today's performers of mentalism would agree that many of the routines described in the book, have formed the foundation of many acts currently being performed?

Saying that, if you only have a casual interest in this area, or you're just starting to look into this area, then this historical document may seem a little inaccessible. To this end, I would strongly advise you start with a more accessible work like Derren's Brown masterpiece, 'Tricks of the Mind'.

If you are serious about your craft, then I would definitely recommend this book as a research piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jan 1998
By A Customer
The book is literally packed with excellent routines and techniques, most of which require little or no sleight of hand skills. Though somewhat dated (you may have a litlle trouble finding some of the materials used) it is chock-full of "how'd he do that" stuff. The variety of material contained is wonderful also. From billets to cards to envelopes to codes to blind-folds to money routines. Just get it! You won't be sorry. I hear that Mark Striving has modernized some of it with a book "Annemann Updated" or something to that effect. I would be interested in that but can't find it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the negatives, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so tentative when purchasing this text. I read of how it was outdated and more useless than a chocolate teapot. All I can say about these reviews are that they are rubbish. True some objects in the book are no longer accessible such as hat pins and woolworths but the amount of play and creativity this book encourages has made me see past the archaisms and allowed me to read numerous minds.

All in all, don't listen to the negatives and buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classics of mentalism, 26 April 2012
This, along with the Thirteen Steps to mentalism is really all you need for a long and satisfying career in Mentalism. It's not the presentations that are important but the wealth of methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still valid even today, 2 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, every now and then I read through and see something new. I even saw Derren Brown use a small routine from this in his recent Enigma live show!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the mann, 18 Oct 2010
along with corinda's 13 steps, this is one of mentalisms must-reads. it feels like you're really dipping into the source, complete with slightly arcane language and references to all sorts of conjurisms and old time technology. i don't have a stationer to make up 7 dozen business cards measuring 2 inches by 3 and 3 quarters and my trousers aren't wide enough in that 1930's way to make pocket writing viable BUT...
read annemanns book slowly and you start to spot the seeds of many a modern routine. getting this book made me feel like i was stepping into the inner sanctum and in a way, you are. annemann's head was a fertile and inspired place and its a place i'll be popping in to regularly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Having read a great deal about this book I was expecting far more from it. The tricks/routines in it are very dated and mostly require in depth preparation or collusion from a member of your audience.
Seriously, don't waste your money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do you really want this? I thought i did i was wrong!, 22 Jan 2003
Fair play... packed full of usful ticks:
PROVIDED:
N.B
You have the equipment and guess what i'm not a magician i don't have all the stuff it wants me to have
You understand the terminolgy - once more i don't and i did not see any terminology referance so i guess thats a whole lot of use!
However if you want to become a professonal magcian this may be handy if you can plough through the hard to understnad diagrams
This book looks outdated and is - credit must be given its very in depth and complicated.
It's not what i hoped for...
SO PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOU MONEY ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practical Mental Magic (Dover Magic Books)
5.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews