Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 161 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn Vocab
Written by Marcella Ottolenghi Bauxbaum it is only 54 pages long but contains a lot more than it first seems. The book is almost like a dictionary but a little more helpful as it puts words into context to get their true meaning. Unlike a dictionary which normally contains one section for French > English, this one only contains the French.
The book is divided up...
Published on 7 April 2005 by Ayami

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out-dated
At such a low price it's hard to complain, but the words and sentences used in this book are now far out-dated, and the only purpose it served during my time in France was as an amusing read whilst on the Metro. All of the words and sentences which are still of any use are at such a level that most GCSE students would be comfortable using them. Overall it was of little...
Published on 20 May 2009 by Alexandre Simon Lawrenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

153 of 161 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn Vocab, 7 April 2005
By 
Ayami "Ayami" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Written by Marcella Ottolenghi Bauxbaum it is only 54 pages long but contains a lot more than it first seems. The book is almost like a dictionary but a little more helpful as it puts words into context to get their true meaning. Unlike a dictionary which normally contains one section for French > English, this one only contains the French.
The book is divided up into 3 sections:
Alphabetical (Dictionary) Section (pages 1 - 49)
Category Section (pages 50 - 53)
Vocabulary Tips (page 54)
ALPHABETICAL (DICTIONARY SECTION):
Alphabetically listed, the book contains a French word in bold type, whether it is masculine/feminine/plural (or neither), the English meaning and then two sentences: the first being an example in French of how the word could be used and the second is it's English meaning.
E.g.
Couverture f. blanket J'aurai besoin d'une couverture de laine parce qu'il fait froid la nuit. I shall need a wool blanket because it is cold at night.
Poli polite Les enfants doivent toujours etre polis avec les grandes personnes en France. Children must always be polite to older people in France.
Although I am unable to put in the different styles of text e.g. bold, the French word is bold and the French sentence is in italics which helps when reading the book or it would seem like a endless page of text.
As you might have guessed from the title of the book, there are 1001 of these French words in the book - each in the same style as mentioned above. Now from a student's perspective or those who may be looking for a specific word, this is not a book which is the easiest to use as reference. While there are over a thousand words, these are only common words so the majority of words that I would normally need a dictionary to find a translation for are not there. Another complaint is you need to know a word to be able to look it up - the English > French section in a dictionary helps this but this book doesn't have one. I've owned this book for a while and there are words which are used in the sentences which I need to look up (even though the English translation is there) because the book gives no indication of how the word is pronounced.
Ways in which the book is useful is just to gain extra vocabulary of words that may not have been known before. I found it easier just to spend a few minutes a day looking at the words, finding their meaning and how it could be used rather than using it to find specific words.
CATEGORY SECTION:
The category section is exactly as it is titled. It reminds me of High School French - the work sheets of vocabulary we used to receive which is divided up into sections relating to their topic. Examples of these are family, colours, numbers, food, occupations... They are in tables - a bold heading given for the French and English titles, then the French word on the left and English on the right. Again it contains the 'm.' or 'f.' if needed. I'm not sure if this is a good or bad point but none of these words are contained in the first section but I guess they are rather self explanatory.
E.g. La nourriture Food
Baguette f. long, thin French bread
Calmar m. squid
Riz m. rice
VOCABULARY TIPS:
This section comes on the very last page of the book, yet strangely, the preface of the book says it is a good idea to start with this section.
The tips are a very quick lesson in several different vocabulary techniques:
1. Examples of words that are spelled the same way in both languages e.g. radio
2. For '-er' verbs in French, the same English word is used but adds an 'r' after the 'e' e.g. 'encourager'
3. An English word ending in 'y' is normally the same as the French ending in '-é', '-ie' or '-I' e.g. 'emploi'
4. The English ending in 'al' is normally the same as the French ending 'el' e.g. 'eternel'
5. The 'oun' in English is normally the French 'on' e.g. fontaine
6. The 'ous' in English is sometimes the 'eux' (f. euse) e.g. joyeux
This section was actually rather useful as it isn't something I was taught to recognise but it is normally the case with each example shown.
The book as a whole is not suitable for beginners of French as most of the words are the infinitives with no tables to show how each word would change in each tense. A basic knowledge is needed but if you know how the language works, this will help to give a wider range of knowledge and use the words correctly in written and spoken word.
Overall, I'd have to say that although the book does have its downfalls; it has been rather useful in even pointing out some of the most obvious things that I didn't see before. The dictionary has been very good in teaching me a little extra and just by taking the learning of the words slowly, my range has widened and I could even give a few sentences with proper grammar (thanks to the sentences). The price is also very good as it says it should be 1.80GBP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out-dated, 20 May 2009
By 
At such a low price it's hard to complain, but the words and sentences used in this book are now far out-dated, and the only purpose it served during my time in France was as an amusing read whilst on the Metro. All of the words and sentences which are still of any use are at such a level that most GCSE students would be comfortable using them. Overall it was of little use in developing any linguistic skill, so you'd be best sticking to some sort of short course introductory book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after reading the reviews, I found the best way for me to use it is to open a page, find a word and learn the sentence containing the word, the first one was " Ivre, (drunk) that man is completely drunk" Bit by bit you learn how to put words into sentences and build on your french learning, the only negative, if you can realy call it a negative and is the reason I choose random sentences, is that all the words are in french so are not easy to find without a dictionary if you're new to the language. All in all a valuable, inexpensive little book to help you build in depth French vocabulary. Highly recommended, a valuable addition to my fast growing collection of French learning books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really useful little book for traveller or student studying french, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great little book for the really useful words you mainly need to get by in French speaking countries. It also puts words into sentences which I find very useful. A really handy book at a very small price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 5 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price, this is a must buy for anyone learning French.

All words are placed in context with a French sentence alongside an English translation.

The sentences are in different tenses, use a variety of grammar etc; a really fun way to widen your knowledge of everyday French.

Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars didnt help, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful French Words (Dover Language Guides French) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
did not help with any words i needed whilst on holiday ,, , would not take on holiday again..useless ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't waste your money just use Google translate instead. No accompying audio a must when trying to learn a language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reading to learn, 20 Jan 2014
By 
C. J. Terry (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful French Words (Dover Language Guides French) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I find it very useful for re-statrting advanced French. Because the example are so natural and build on each other you can read youir way through the vocabulary. Of significant practical use. A pity there is no audio-cassette with it , refreshing listening a little.
Well priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beginners book, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful French Words (Dover Language Guides French) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this to anyone beginning to learn French. I have the Kindle version so can use it wherever I need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Education, 16 Aug 2013
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful French Words (Dover Language Guides French) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This was a good read along with short examples of when to you made it a must-have in studying French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews