Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art Forms in Nature
A beautiful book for creative inspiration. However, the cover is misleading as all the prints are in black and white.
Published on 30 May 2007 by S. H. Taylor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cheap edition
Usually a fan of Dover but this is a thin offering - despite the cover, all images are black & white, and there's no accompanying text. Go for the Prestel edition: lots of colour plates and a useful introductory essay.
Published 7 months ago by MJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art Forms in Nature, 30 May 2007
By 
S. H. Taylor "mosaicist" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A beautiful book for creative inspiration. However, the cover is misleading as all the prints are in black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 16 Nov. 2008
By 
G. M. Jones "protozoa" (Hampshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have owned this book for many years and it is still in my top three favourites for inspiration.The black and white drawings,mostly of microscopic marine life,are incredibly detailed and are absolutely beautiful,they will make you wish you were a marine biologist or a science fiction film set and alien designer(probably).I would have them as wallpaper,but I may be in the minority on that one.If you are interested in art,marine biology or if,like me,you just like looking at beautifully drawn pictures,I truly believe you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference for designers!, 20 Sept. 2010
Excellent book cram-packed with a good selection of the illustrations of the famous German biologist Haeckel. I am a teacher and it is a very useful reference book for students studying the structure of natural forms such as shells etc. Only draw back - the pages are rather thin and flimsy, much less robust than another similar book I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth stranger then fiction, 27 Oct. 2010
Love this book - beautiful, detailed plates of protozoa, diatoms, plants and animals. Didn't realise they'd all be black and white, because of the cover art, but they'd be good to photocopy and colour I suppose. I use it for science with my home-educated son but also to help him design imaginary creatures and objects for stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cheap edition, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
MJ (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usually a fan of Dover but this is a thin offering - despite the cover, all images are black & white, and there's no accompanying text. Go for the Prestel edition: lots of colour plates and a useful introductory essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant images, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Kindle Edition)
An amazing pictorial fascinating book. Inspiring images for anyone interested in shapes, forms or natural symmetry. Fantastic detailed illustrations.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars at these wonderful illustrations. What an artist, 26 April 2015
By 
A. Moore (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow !! I can sit and gaze in awe for hours, at these wonderful illustrations. What an artist ! What patience he must have had ! Inspiration for the nature-lover, artist, or those like me who like to simply gaze in wonder at the infinite diversity and beauty, of lifeforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational designs, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd give this ten stars if I could. It's a fabulous book, chock-a-block with exquisite drawings and a treasury of design ideas for anyone involved in any sort of artistic endeavour. I gasped when I opened it, and am still awestruck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
E. Cook (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really gorgeous prints that will provide wonderful inspiration for art projects or can be used as decor in the home. Would make a great, unusual gift for any artistically minded friends and family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book turned out to be a different version than ..., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book turned out to be a different version than the one we expected, some pages were discoloured and it seemed that the book had been wet. Otherwise, its an ok copy, but suffers in the printing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews