Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever made ?
Faultless from beginning to end. It's rare to have a film like this that you can go back to countless times and still get huge enjoyment from watching it.Timeless might be an overused expression but it fits perfectly in this instance .
Bogart proves what an all time 'great' he was.. Even when hitching up his trousers which was his 'bit of business'in all his films...
Published 17 months ago by lardzeppo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie is the treasure
For a blu ray release in a steelbook enclosure I was disappointed with this product. Most of the film looks old stock although there is no picture break-up or 'bits' of stuff flickering. On a plasma screen the foreground is far too dark, as though the contrast has been increased.

What makes it worse for me was that I recently viewed my old dvd copy of The...
Published 11 months ago by W. Rodick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever made ?, 27 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1948] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Faultless from beginning to end. It's rare to have a film like this that you can go back to countless times and still get huge enjoyment from watching it.Timeless might be an overused expression but it fits perfectly in this instance .
Bogart proves what an all time 'great' he was.. Even when hitching up his trousers which was his 'bit of business'in all his films he did it with style!
Trying his hat on again after his haircut still makes me laugh every time I see it
He was when the film was made the top box office attraction worldwide and did'nt mind going a little mad and ending up like a tramp before his demise. Other stars of the era would not have agreed to behave in such a way as it would have impacted on their 'image'... Gary Cooper was one who certainly would not affect his public by behaving in such a way a and certainly not dying! Cary Grant was another as was Clark Gable .
Even in the casting of the support parts this film has stand out memories. Of course I am referring to Goldhat or 'stinking badges' himself Alfonso Bedoya.A small contribution by him but one which leaves a lasting impression and makes you look forward to his appearance.
They simply don't make them like this anymore -- nor sadly will they ever again .
If your happy watching the latest Hollywood crapola with BruceWillis, Nicholas Cage, Adam Sandler or any other non actor then 'Treasure ' is not for you .
Pure class from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, It's that Good, 26 Mar. 2011
By 
Eric John (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
'Treasure of the Sierra Madre' is, I think, one of the greatest films ever made and, contrary to reviewer Humpty Dumpty, I would argue even a bit UNDER-rated. The storytelling is masterful; there are omens, foreshadowing, turns in the plot when you least expect it, but best of all, is the psychology that makes this film so riveting.

I first saw this film on a late winter night in a hotel in San Diego at a time when I myself was down on my luck. Before that, the name Humphry Bogart didn't mean very much, but after seeing 'Sierra Madre', I was instantly a Bogart freak. If I had to choose one Bogart desert island DVD, I honestly could not tell you whether it would be Sierra Madre or Casablanca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theres More to Life than Gold., 11 May 2009
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This film directed by the legendary John Huston in 1948 is based on the cult 1927 novel by B Traven. It is unusual for the time in that it was filmed entirely on location in Mexico, which later became a very popular trend. It is set unusually in 1920s Mexico shortly after the revolution. The country was still in turmoil and patrolled by the ruthless Federales. A sort of local Police with attitude. Their justice often being of the summary kind, and the final verdict being decided with a bullet for the miscreant.

Into this arena enter three Gringo prospectors and general down and outs. Humphrey Bogart never at ease in Western guise plays Fred Dobbs the lottery ticket winner who invests all his money in prospecting equipment. He is joined by the younger Bob Curtin played by Tim Holt and the older and wiser Howard played by Walter Huston. Howard predicts trouble and he is not far wrong. The three strike it rich but the gold causes Bogart to lose his mind with greed. This leads to confrontation in the group and ultimately to tragedy. There is a rather fitting twist to the story at the end.

The film was nominated for an oscar for best picture, but lost out to Oliviers "Hamlet". Perhaps the films main flaw lies in Bogart's metamorphosis from Mr nice guy to a frothing lunatic in such a short space of time. A little heavy handed for someone as skilled as Huston. Bogart seems to have been rehearsing for his later role as Captain Queeg in "The Caine Mutiny", where he again loses his marbles big time. The film is a strong morality fable and could almost be taken from a Biblical parable. Gold and riches are not the most important things in life, and lusting after such wealth can lead to tragic consequences. It is a cautionary tale of old but still posseses great power.

Watch out for the brief one line appearence of Tim Holt's father Jack Holt the old silent screen hero. He is one of the men down on their luck. Overall the film is still very enjoyable despite the flaws. A fairly generous 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Blu Ray Version, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
G. Wright (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Treasure of the Sierra Madre is set in the 1930's and tells the tale of three men who set out prospecting for gold in the Sierra Madre Mountains. The three men start out as friends but by the end have been completely driven apart by greed ambition and stupidity. This film brilliantly explores the nature of manhood and friendship as all three characters fail to balance these attributes. This film was one of the best films to come out of the 1930's and Gained john Houston and Walter Houston Oscars for best supporting actor and director.

The picture is much better on the Blu ray version and is region free so will play in any country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greed is not good!, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's 1925, Tampico, Mexico, Fred C Dobbs is on the bum until he meets and befriends fellow American Bob Curtin. After finding a bit of work with a shifty contractor (and literally having to fight for their hard earned pay), they meet the colourful Howard, an old Klondike prospector who regales the men with stories of gold. After a bit of fortune comes Fred's way, the two men enter into a journey with Howard to mine gold from the Sierra Madre hills, but it's a journey that will not only bring personal pressures, but also interference from outside sources.

A contender for John Huston's greatest film, The Treasure Of The Sierra Madre oozes class from every single frame. Boasting top line performances from Humphrey Bogart (Dobbs), Tim Holt (Curtin) and Walter Huston (Howard), Huston's gloriously humane adaptation of the Berwick Traven novel plays out devilishly as a cautionary tale of greed and its pitfalls. This is a film that most have heard about, the word of mouth reputation is well deserved, so I myself don't feel the need to try and sell the picture to anyone reading. John Huston won golden statues for both Best Director and Best Screenplay (one of the best screenplays of the 40s to my mind), whilst Walter Huston picked up the Best Supporting statue to make it one happy day in the Huston household.

What is of interest to me is that there was not a nomination for Bogart here, quite possibly his Dobbs portrayal is one of his most effective, yet with it being a veer from the norm I can't help thinking that is why it was sadly ignored. It can't have helped that studio bigwigs were vocal in their displeasure at Bogart playing such a morally challenged character, the public reaction at the time as well was less than favourable, but time has proved it to be a great Bogart show in what is firmly, and rightly so, hailed a classic of classics. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie is the treasure, 7 April 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1948] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
For a blu ray release in a steelbook enclosure I was disappointed with this product. Most of the film looks old stock although there is no picture break-up or 'bits' of stuff flickering. On a plasma screen the foreground is far too dark, as though the contrast has been increased.

What makes it worse for me was that I recently viewed my old dvd copy of The Maltese Falcon (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]. Both films were viewed on projection. But The Maltese Falcon is an immaculate viewing experience. I would not dream of buying a blu ray version of this movie.

Watching Sierra Madre this time had me comparing the lust for gold with the urge to consume these days. The other day I heard myself telling someone that I have to face a choice between getting new footwear or the James Bond blu ray box set! Although oddly enough merely saying that to someone had me maturely reflecting on that perverted conundrum. New hiking boots were ordered. Much cheaper than burros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a treasure well worth unearthing, 4 Mar. 2010
action.excitement.adventure,drama.add great acting to the mix and you
can't go wrong with this rousing tale.but it's much deeper than
that.themes of greed and jealousy,morality(the human condition)are
explored here.Humphrey Bogart is in fine form here as he meets up with
another guy in the same boat.they end up palling around together and
meet a crusty old codger,and eventually the three of them decide to try
their luck at striking it rich through prospecting for gold
together.what follows is the aforementioned action,excitement,adventure
and drama,(and great acting)in no particular order.in my opinion,this
is one treasure that is well worth digging up.for me,The Treasure of
the Sierra Madre is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..., 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1948] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Very pleased with this purchase. Have wanted this film on bluray for a while now and it's one of the better looking (black & white film) blurays in this series of recent Warner Bros vintage steelbooks. I was pleasantly surprised too by the quality of the actual steelbook- it looks better in person than in the pictures. It has a nice satin finish and quality feel. The cover art has a nice 'retro' feel to it and looks great with other older b/w steelbooks on my shelf like 'Touch Of Evil', 'The Lost weekend' and 'Double Indemnity'.
Great purchase especially at the low price point. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film buff Eddie, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1948] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I just love this film all about what greed can do to a person, it is in my opinion not really a western in the usual style, but more a modern western adventure, if you have never seen this film i can assure you the acting is second to none,it is how film making was done on the studio heyday great, Bogart is fantastic with great support from Tim Holt and Walter Huston.and superb Directing from John Huston. Now out in Blu Ray far better than the DVD version, a must buy for any film buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy and great, 13 Sept. 2013
the whole transaction was easy and I did'nt have to wait long for the delivery.
I have waited years to see this film but it never seems to come on the telly and I have never been able to find it in any of the big retailers or any smaller indy shop.
I would recommend this product to anybody who likes Humphrey Bogart or classic films from this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1948] [Region Free]
£15.34
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews