Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cinema, unforgettable acting
The mid-range star rating for this film is, for me, a glowing endorsement that it's worth a look. In an age where the inoffensive, forgettable or mediocre will guarantee positive reviews, something that divides opinion has got to be worth a look.

For me, The Master is an incredible film - far, far better all round than the director's previous work, There Will...
Published 20 months ago by JD

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good film that could have been a great one
By the end of this worthily if wearyingly impressive film, I was beginning to get restless.
The great Philip Seymour Hoffman (now so tragically gone from us) adds to his gallery of mesmerising performances as the titular Master, with the always worth watching Amy Adams as his pregnant wife, who more and more appears to be the `power behind the throne`. Both are...
Published 10 months ago by GlynLuke


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dead master, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Master [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this film reminded me a lot of another life stealer ' there will be blood' its beautifully shot, with electric performances by Hoffmann & Phoenix, but a film that leaves you empty and unsatisfied and ultimately cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure whether it went too far, or not far enough. Either way, I was a little disappointed in a work from a director who is normally a favourite. Having said that, I do have to admit that it has stayed with me, which is more than 90% of movies do. Worth a watch for that alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: The Master (Blu-ray)
Strange, uneven film redeemed by a astonishing central performance from Philip Seymour Hoffman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and Enigmatic, 12 May 2014
This review is from: The Master (DVD)
My husband and I barely understood this film. We watched it to the end, but it was a wasted evening. The only saving grace was the acting of Philip Seymour Hoffman. It had no beginning or end and precious little in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars strange religions, 11 May 2014
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
Magnificently shot, expertly acted, the post-war period lovingly recreated -- yet entirely uninvolving. The two main characters -- the Master and his unlikely new acolyte -- remain undeveloped and unconvincing. There is no plot to speak of. Starts intriguingly but then becomes all too tedious. I feel disappointed as I expected much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, offbeat movie with superb performances all round. A real testament to the late Philip Seymour Hoffman's talent.Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PSH does PSH, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
Following Hoffman's demise, I fancied catching up on this rather elusive work. It's a bit difficult to define what didn't work, whether it was the original book or the screenplay or the direction, but somehow neither principal men's characters played by Hoffman and Joaquin Phoenix could evince much empathy from me. The story itself was bitty and the message implied in the title was only fleetingly conveyed. On the plus side, a great cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars weird, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
Didn't really enjoy this movie although I watched it all the way through. Odd story line and a bit too disjointed for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dvd, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Christopher J. Wright (HAMPSHIRE ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
deep, reflective, dark. First rate production. The actors are superb and it is with regret that this is one of the last films with philip in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 6 Jan 2014
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Master [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As a big fan of P T Anderson's (Magnolia being one of my all time favourite movies) and PSH, I was expecting something quite different from what this film actually offers. With the subject matter I also expected something a bit conspiracy-ish, but in reality the movie is a long, well acted, often engaging, but ultimately pointless study of the minutiae of the relationship between flawed master and even more flawed pupil. The problem for me was that I actually didn't mind the Master as flawed teacher (however much rubbish he spouted) but utterly disliked the person (Freddie) we were supposed to empathise with. The surprise was how important Peggy is in the whole thing. The smaller supporting casts aren't particularly interesting, which makes a film of this detail and length a slow burner, which is not very satisfying and ultimately didn't deliver any sort of denouement which it felt it was crying out for. I can't criticise it a huge amount though because the screenplay, and the trio of Master, Freddie and Peggy are so well inhabited by Hoffman, Phoenix and Adams and they are the reason I kept on watching and was kept engaged to the end, even if disappointed with the story itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Master [DVD]
The Master [DVD] by Paul Thomas Anderson (DVD - 2013)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews