Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars1,105
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2012
I cannot stress how absolutely incredible this movie is. I went to a preview screening at the cinema and practically screamed from the rooftops for everyone I know to go and see it! As usual, many many people are still sadly, even in this day and age, put off by subtitles....I saw it at the cinema 3 times, I would have seen it more had the theatres kept it on longer...It is such an great movie, you honestly don't even realise you are reading subtitles. I wanted to buy this DVD to buy for pretty much everyone I know at Christmas! Those of us in the know about this movie, will spend a fortune on it as a gift, and those people will then drag their friends to see it again next year when it will I'm quite sure be re-released as it will be up for an Oscar...and the Oscar nominations/winners are always re-released somewhere! I'm hoping the Weinstein Co aren't going to make the biggest mistake of their lives by not releasing this with English subs in preparation of the American re-make...Colin Firth is no Francoise Cluzet and Omar Sy is a famous French comedian....his comic timing is second to non....the American remake may be a hit, because it is in English, but it will not be the same movie, and the original really deserves to be seen...truly!! My film of the year!!
44 comments63 of 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
The film, "Intouchables," is a superb French comedy, racy, challenging and hilarious. It has also done a great PR job on behalf of both the disabled and the marginalised. This edition, "Untouchable", has been subtitled and re-edited for the American market, which means that the language often jars and the structure of the film has been altered, dumbing it down for a trans-atlantic audience. The climax of the comedy (there is a romantic interest which has its own climax) has been transposed to the beginning, presumably to grab a less sophisticated audience with a shorter concentration span. This is a shame. If you have any French at all go for the French version, even if it costs a few pounds more and use the subtitles for the deaf. At least then you will be seeing the film as it was intended to be seen.
1313 comments91 of 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Apologies for sounding excited, but I have been waiting for this inspiring film to be released in English since I saw it last Christmas!

A paralysed aristocratic widower (Francois Cluzet) and a jobless immigrant too familiar with the criminal life of the French urban suburbs (Omar Sy) meet during Cluzet's search for an assistant capable of looking after him in such demanding state.

The demanding role is ideal for the underqualified and non-educated Sy, who's only interest is to prove he had a job interview to continue receiving his unemployment benefits. What he doesn't know, is that the man in the wheelchair is much more cunning than he looks.

In this tale of seemingly tragic circumstances, a very unusual friendship is born. The journey through this heart-warming film about true friendship, determination, and courage is accompanied by the powerful music of the talented Ludovico Einaudi. This film will make you smile, twitch, laugh, sob, reflect, and wonder at how everything is possible, especially when you least expect it.

What makes this film truly enjoyable is the fact it is based on a true story.

Whilst I hope (and know) that you will enjoy this film, may I strongly recommend listening to Ludovico Einaudi's "Una Mattina", "I Giorni", and "Earth Prelude" to name a few.

NOTE:
to date, no Intouchables DVD has been released with English subtitles in Region 2 (PAL) DVD. The US rights holder for the film should be releasing a Region 1 DVD but you would need to buy a DVD player that can play Region 1 and a TV that can handle NTSC.
44 comments108 of 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
If I could rate this film higher than 5 stars I would. The film is compassionate, funny and so much more. I watched it every morning for 5 days as it is so uplifting. I have personal accounts that are referred to in the movie. Whether you are a carer, disabled or able-bodied this film is FANTASTIC. Very very highly recommended. The sub-titles should not put you off and the music is fab. Don't hesitate to purchase it - you won't regret it.
11 comment28 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
Just been to see this film and rushed back to see if the DVD had been released to buy it as a Xmas present for ALL the family, it was sooooo good! The film was touching and humerous and had us all belly laughing throughout. The theme may seem a bit glum and predictble, but it was anything but. Uplifting and down to earth it would I am sure it would be enjoyed by adults of all ages with a sense of humour. I'll just have to be patient, and then maybe I'll just buy myself one too to watch again and again. Clare
0Comment38 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Really enjoyed this one. It's kinda like a cross between Romuald et Juliette, La Haine, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly and Tatie Danielle. Francois Cluzet is kinda like a cross between Denis Lawson and Dustin Hoffman - it's uncanny (have the three of them ever been seen in the same room?).

Photography on this film is totally great - the detail is there, but it's all unobtrusive and unshowy.

Acting - All good, Omar Sy is brilliant as Driss. Real depth going on here, and avoids the sentimental.

Screenplay - mainly decent, but the final third does a little bit too much water-treading.

Subtitling - a bit patronising. Jean Jaures is translated as Richard Nixon. I don't even speak much French beyond the usual high school Franglais, and even I picked this one up.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
Following an accident, the ultra wealthy Philippe (Francois Cluzet) is paralysed and needs 24 hour care. He chooses Driss (Omar Sy) as his carer and an unlikely friendship is born. The contrast between the wealth of Philippe and the poverty from which Driss comes is well portrayed. The room plus en suite that is Driss' living area is larger than the entire flat in which his family lives.

The relationship between the two men builds over time to one of mutual respect and liking. It is the development of this relationship that is central to this film. They don't like the same music (High Classical v Earth Wind and Fire) yet the joyful dance that Driss spontaneously performs at Philippe's staid birthday party brings a smile to Philippe's face that holds no wistfulness or regret that he cannot walk a step let alone dance any more.

The film is full of humour but one of the funniest moments for me was a trip to the Opera House when Driss cannot believe that people pay good money to see someone dressed as a tree and singing in German for 4 hours!

There are neat subplots with the minor characters too such as the attractive female member of staff that Driss is convinced will fall for him; or the older couple where Driss nudges the relationship forward; and Philippe's daughter's relationship with "mophead" that Driss has a hand in sorting out.

The relationship works because Driss sees Philippe as a man not an invalid and both men learn a lot about themselves and others in this moving and uplifting film.
0Comment21 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
I was tipped off about this film by 2 close friends who said it was a real gem but they didn't give anything away. I had discovered the original 'Let the Right One in' this way so I had high hopes.

Of course this is a completely different film with a different feel but it's almost as good in my opinion. The opening in particular is excellent, I don't want to give anything away here but it made me feel that this was going to be worth watching.

The two central performances are excellent as are the supporting cast, anytime there is a music sequence in this film it makes you feel truly uplifted, in fact maybe there could have been more of this. That might be perhaps because I like 'Kool and the Gang'. Where this film really works is in the relationships, it could have been very sentimental and no doubt any US remake will be but this time it's just right.

The quality of the picture and sound on this disc is also very good.

Recommended
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I do not usually enjoy the dreaded "feel good" films, especially those from Hollywood with their gag reflex levels of saccharine, and this film contains a good couple of spoonfuls of the stuff but it also has a sly sense of humour and some excellent players. Armed with these the potential "problems" of the story melt away (imagine what the BBC would have made of it) and the result is a lot of laughter. Omar Sy is the obvious star bringing an African sense of fun to the swankier arrondissements but Francois Cluzet really shines with a character whose series of disabilities leave him only Roger Moore levels of acting. Beautifully shot throughout right through to the view of the sea at Dunkerque. French film is often a series of First World problems; this one tweaks that model.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
There should be no spoilers in this review.

Having seen François Cluzet in some very good films, I was keen to see him in Untouchable, though I did have some reservations as to whether the film would live up to the hype - "THE WORLD'S No 1 AWARD WINNING COMEDY" etc, and also whether I would indeed, like the comedy portrayed in the film, comedy being the subjective thing that it is.

As for the comedy, well yes I did find it very funny, though at the same time this is also a serious film with a serious story. The comedic aspect of the film is very realistic - it, is not slapstick or farce, it is intelligent and it is done with great talent from the actors and with great writing and directing.

My interest in watching the film was initially because François Cluzot was in it. Cluzet was exceptional, but I was equally impressed (if not more so) by Omar Sy who gave a remarkable performance throughout. That would also be true of the supporting cast and everyone that worked on the film, as they seem to have done and excellent job.

The film is based on a true story (you are informed as the film starts) and that certainly seems to add to the enjoyment of it. I would say that all aspects of the film are without fault, as it has great acting, writing, directing, costumes, music etc - and cinematography. There are some particularly amazing scenes for which the camera-work should have special praise.

So did the film live up to the hype? Well for me it certainly did. This is one of the best films I have seen for some time.

At the time of writing this review, there are thirteen reviewers on amazon who have awarded it one star, so it obviously isn't for everyone. Most of the one star reviewers seem to be saying they didn't realise that this French film was in French and that they would have to read English subtitles. So perhaps this is not recommended viewing for anyone who dislikes subtitles, but even if you are put off by subtitles this might be the film to make you change your mind.

So to sum up: an outstanding film, brilliant story, brilliantly told, brilliant acting (especially Omar Sy), some outstanding photography and just maybe a film that some subtitle haters might enjoy.

On the DVD you get:

Untouchable (1 hour 47 min). The film has embedded English Subtitles.
Scene Selection
Special Features (Deleted Scenes)
Previews (Trailers for: The Artist, My Week With Marilyn, Silver Linings Playbook, Beautiful Creatures)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.