Customer Reviews


873 Reviews
5 star:
 (777)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must...please bring out the DVD with English Subtitles
I cannot stress how absolutely incredible this movie is. I went to a preview screening at the cinema and practically screamed from the rooftops for everyone I know to go and see it! As usual, many many people are still sadly, even in this day and age, put off by subtitles....I saw it at the cinema 3 times, I would have seen it more had the theatres kept it on longer...It...
Published on 13 Nov. 2012 by CLI

versus
82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American cut
The film, "Intouchables," is a superb French comedy, racy, challenging and hilarious. It has also done a great PR job on behalf of both the disabled and the marginalised. This edition, "Untouchable", has been subtitled and re-edited for the American market, which means that the language often jars and the structure of the film has been altered, dumbing it down for a...
Published 20 months ago by R. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must...please bring out the DVD with English Subtitles, 13 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot stress how absolutely incredible this movie is. I went to a preview screening at the cinema and practically screamed from the rooftops for everyone I know to go and see it! As usual, many many people are still sadly, even in this day and age, put off by subtitles....I saw it at the cinema 3 times, I would have seen it more had the theatres kept it on longer...It is such an great movie, you honestly don't even realise you are reading subtitles. I wanted to buy this DVD to buy for pretty much everyone I know at Christmas! Those of us in the know about this movie, will spend a fortune on it as a gift, and those people will then drag their friends to see it again next year when it will I'm quite sure be re-released as it will be up for an Oscar...and the Oscar nominations/winners are always re-released somewhere! I'm hoping the Weinstein Co aren't going to make the biggest mistake of their lives by not releasing this with English subs in preparation of the American re-make...Colin Firth is no Francoise Cluzet and Omar Sy is a famous French comedian....his comic timing is second to non....the American remake may be a hit, because it is in English, but it will not be the same movie, and the original really deserves to be seen...truly!! My film of the year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American cut, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
R. Brown "discworm" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
The film, "Intouchables," is a superb French comedy, racy, challenging and hilarious. It has also done a great PR job on behalf of both the disabled and the marginalised. This edition, "Untouchable", has been subtitled and re-edited for the American market, which means that the language often jars and the structure of the film has been altered, dumbing it down for a trans-atlantic audience. The climax of the comedy (there is a romantic interest which has its own climax) has been transposed to the beginning, presumably to grab a less sophisticated audience with a shorter concentration span. This is a shame. If you have any French at all go for the French version, even if it costs a few pounds more and use the subtitles for the deaf. At least then you will be seeing the film as it was intended to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see-must have!, 20 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Untouchable [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Apologies for sounding excited, but I have been waiting for this inspiring film to be released in English since I saw it last Christmas!

A paralysed aristocratic widower (Francois Cluzet) and a jobless immigrant too familiar with the criminal life of the French urban suburbs (Omar Sy) meet during Cluzet's search for an assistant capable of looking after him in such demanding state.

The demanding role is ideal for the underqualified and non-educated Sy, who's only interest is to prove he had a job interview to continue receiving his unemployment benefits. What he doesn't know, is that the man in the wheelchair is much more cunning than he looks.

In this tale of seemingly tragic circumstances, a very unusual friendship is born. The journey through this heart-warming film about true friendship, determination, and courage is accompanied by the powerful music of the talented Ludovico Einaudi. This film will make you smile, twitch, laugh, sob, reflect, and wonder at how everything is possible, especially when you least expect it.

What makes this film truly enjoyable is the fact it is based on a true story.

Whilst I hope (and know) that you will enjoy this film, may I strongly recommend listening to Ludovico Einaudi's "Una Mattina", "I Giorni", and "Earth Prelude" to name a few.

NOTE:
to date, no Intouchables DVD has been released with English subtitles in Region 2 (PAL) DVD. The US rights holder for the film should be releasing a Region 1 DVD but you would need to buy a DVD player that can play Region 1 and a TV that can handle NTSC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film of 2013?, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
What a sublime, involving, moving and wonderful piece of movie-making. By turns hilarious, utterly sad, deliriously happy, thought provoking and gut-wrenching. The two male leads should pick up awards by the bucket load. The movie is largely about friendship (and how opposites can attract), about finding a best friend in the most unexpected of circumstances, losing that friend, and then renewing the friendship. Apparently based on a true story, although in real life, the charismatic quadriplegic lead character, who is the Parisien equivalent of Roman Abramovich, would probably have an army of bodyguards instead of a solitary male escort. There are several memorable sequences in the film. The opening 5 minutes when the lead characters are chased in their Maserati by the police, and caught, and have an ingenious method of avoiding sanction by the cops. A birthday party when the other male lead - a nurse/home carer, struts his funky stuff on the dancefloor and the stuffed shirts watching him find themselves drawn into his joyous abandon. A hand-gliding sequence when the handicapped billionaire introduces his new best friend to the delights of the very sport which put him into his wheelchair. If all movies were as good as this, the World would grind to a halt, with everybody glued to their TVs and cinema screens. One of my closest friends is a paraplegic, which made this film especially poignant for me, but I defy anybody to sit through this film and fail to find something inspiring or marvellous. The best film of 2013? Quite possibly.
Thanks for reading this review.
P.S. Another very good movie which examines finding friendship in the unlikeliest of places,is Starlet - Starlet [DVD] [2012]. Not quite a great movie like Untouchable, but still certainly worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather More Than Just A ‘Feelgood Movie’, 18 Mar. 2015
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
As a self-confessed 'miserable old git’, I’m getting slightly worried about the appeal of recent so-called 'feelgood movies’. I loved the recent Northern Irish 'punk film’, Good Vibrations, and this box office record-breaking 2011 French film from writer-directors Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano moved (and humoured) me similarly with its (admittedly unlikely) buddy friendship between Francois Cluzet’s rich quadriplegic, Philippe and Omar Sy’s black, 'urban no-hoper’, now Philippe’s carer, Driss. Now, don’t get me wrong, Untouchable certainly lacks a degree of subtlety and does have its cringing moments of stereotyping, but, in the end, the film’s central theme – that of an unlikely friendship which has an at least partially transformative effect on its participants – becomes (for me, at least) irresistibly endearing.

It’s also a film with serious underlying social themes – namely race (and the treatment of immigrant families), masculinity and disability – and whilst these themes generally take a back seat to the film’s broad (at times, farcical) comedy, Untouchable always maintains a good deal of perceptive (often hard-edged) observation in this respect – coming over as something of a 'Loach/Dardennes light’. Acting-wise, each of Cluzet and Sy do admiral jobs – the latter particularly impressive as his outwardly cocky, tactlessness reveals a more considered underlying self. Similarly, each of Audrey Fleurot and Anne Le Ny are impressive as the two women in Philippe’s life – the former as the aloof 'secretary’ Magalie, the latter as Philippe’s trusted adviser, Yvonne, who surprises herself in befriending Driss. The film also features an eclectic soundtrack – vibrant soul to fit with Driss’ tastes and some sublime piano by Ludovico Einaudi to enhance the film’s more moving moments.

One of the few drawbacks with the film was that the version I saw had English subtitles which had (apparently) been adapted to erase some of the original French idioms (e.g. reference to 'Justin Bieber’ when Driss clearly was not saying this). That said, I would still recommend Untouchable – and also Colline Sereau’s 1989 film Romauld et Juliette which deals with similar themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful gem, pure delight, pure laughter!, 11 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
Just been to see this film and rushed back to see if the DVD had been released to buy it as a Xmas present for ALL the family, it was sooooo good! The film was touching and humerous and had us all belly laughing throughout. The theme may seem a bit glum and predictble, but it was anything but. Uplifting and down to earth it would I am sure it would be enjoyed by adults of all ages with a sense of humour. I'll just have to be patient, and then maybe I'll just buy myself one too to watch again and again. Clare
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film ever, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
If I could rate this film higher than 5 stars I would. The film is compassionate, funny and so much more. I watched it every morning for 5 days as it is so uplifting. I have personal accounts that are referred to in the movie. Whether you are a carer, disabled or able-bodied this film is FANTASTIC. Very very highly recommended. The sub-titles should not put you off and the music is fab. Don't hesitate to purchase it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch movie, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Sally (EXETER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is, in my opinion, one of the best films for many years. The acting is superb, the plot is engaging and is by turns funny and poignant. The two leads are outstanding and there are also some excellent supporting actors. I completely forgot that I was watching a subtitled film because I was so drawn in to the story. Having seen it twice with English subtitles, I decided to buy the French edition as a challenge .... I think it will be even better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and uplifting film, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
Ms. A. M. Davidson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following an accident, the ultra wealthy Philippe (Francois Cluzet) is paralysed and needs 24 hour care. He chooses Driss (Omar Sy) as his carer and an unlikely friendship is born. The contrast between the wealth of Philippe and the poverty from which Driss comes is well portrayed. The room plus en suite that is Driss' living area is larger than the entire flat in which his family lives.

The relationship between the two men builds over time to one of mutual respect and liking. It is the development of this relationship that is central to this film. They don't like the same music (High Classical v Earth Wind and Fire) yet the joyful dance that Driss spontaneously performs at Philippe's staid birthday party brings a smile to Philippe's face that holds no wistfulness or regret that he cannot walk a step let alone dance any more.

The film is full of humour but one of the funniest moments for me was a trip to the Opera House when Driss cannot believe that people pay good money to see someone dressed as a tree and singing in German for 4 hours!

There are neat subplots with the minor characters too such as the attractive female member of staff that Driss is convinced will fall for him; or the older couple where Driss nudges the relationship forward; and Philippe's daughter's relationship with "mophead" that Driss has a hand in sorting out.

The relationship works because Driss sees Philippe as a man not an invalid and both men learn a lot about themselves and others in this moving and uplifting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
I could watch this film over and over again. It is pure quality! The acting, story and music are all wonderful. I really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Untouchable [DVD] (2011)
Untouchable [DVD] (2011) by Eric Toledano (DVD - 2013)
£6.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews