Customer Reviews


598 Reviews
5 star:
 (528)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see-must have!
Apologies for sounding excited, but I have been waiting for this inspiring film to be released in English since I saw it last Christmas!

A paralysed aristocratic widower (Francois Cluzet) and a jobless immigrant too familiar with the criminal life of the French urban suburbs (Omar Sy) meet during Cluzet's search for an assistant capable of looking after him in...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. F. Ghillani

versus
66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American cut
The film, "Intouchables," is a superb French comedy, racy, challenging and hilarious. It has also done a great PR job on behalf of both the disabled and the marginalised. This edition, "Untouchable", has been subtitled and re-edited for the American market, which means that the language often jars and the structure of the film has been altered, dumbing it down for a...
Published 11 months ago by R. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American cut, 17 Aug 2013
By 
R. Brown "discworm" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
The film, "Intouchables," is a superb French comedy, racy, challenging and hilarious. It has also done a great PR job on behalf of both the disabled and the marginalised. This edition, "Untouchable", has been subtitled and re-edited for the American market, which means that the language often jars and the structure of the film has been altered, dumbing it down for a trans-atlantic audience. The climax of the comedy (there is a romantic interest which has its own climax) has been transposed to the beginning, presumably to grab a less sophisticated audience with a shorter concentration span. This is a shame. If you have any French at all go for the French version, even if it costs a few pounds more and use the subtitles for the deaf. At least then you will be seeing the film as it was intended to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see-must have!, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: Untouchable [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Apologies for sounding excited, but I have been waiting for this inspiring film to be released in English since I saw it last Christmas!

A paralysed aristocratic widower (Francois Cluzet) and a jobless immigrant too familiar with the criminal life of the French urban suburbs (Omar Sy) meet during Cluzet's search for an assistant capable of looking after him in such demanding state.

The demanding role is ideal for the underqualified and non-educated Sy, who's only interest is to prove he had a job interview to continue receiving his unemployment benefits. What he doesn't know, is that the man in the wheelchair is much more cunning than he looks.

In this tale of seemingly tragic circumstances, a very unusual friendship is born. The journey through this heart-warming film about true friendship, determination, and courage is accompanied by the powerful music of the talented Ludovico Einaudi. This film will make you smile, twitch, laugh, sob, reflect, and wonder at how everything is possible, especially when you least expect it.

What makes this film truly enjoyable is the fact it is based on a true story.

Whilst I hope (and know) that you will enjoy this film, may I strongly recommend listening to Ludovico Einaudi's "Una Mattina", "I Giorni", and "Earth Prelude" to name a few.

NOTE:
to date, no Intouchables DVD has been released with English subtitles in Region 2 (PAL) DVD. The US rights holder for the film should be releasing a Region 1 DVD but you would need to buy a DVD player that can play Region 1 and a TV that can handle NTSC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must...please bring out the DVD with English Subtitles, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot stress how absolutely incredible this movie is. I went to a preview screening at the cinema and practically screamed from the rooftops for everyone I know to go and see it! As usual, many many people are still sadly, even in this day and age, put off by subtitles....I saw it at the cinema 3 times, I would have seen it more had the theatres kept it on longer...It is such an great movie, you honestly don't even realise you are reading subtitles. I wanted to buy this DVD to buy for pretty much everyone I know at Christmas! Those of us in the know about this movie, will spend a fortune on it as a gift, and those people will then drag their friends to see it again next year when it will I'm quite sure be re-released as it will be up for an Oscar...and the Oscar nominations/winners are always re-released somewhere! I'm hoping the Weinstein Co aren't going to make the biggest mistake of their lives by not releasing this with English subs in preparation of the American re-make...Colin Firth is no Francoise Cluzet and Omar Sy is a famous French comedian....his comic timing is second to non....the American remake may be a hit, because it is in English, but it will not be the same movie, and the original really deserves to be seen...truly!! My film of the year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film ever, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
If I could rate this film higher than 5 stars I would. The film is compassionate, funny and so much more. I watched it every morning for 5 days as it is so uplifting. I have personal accounts that are referred to in the movie. Whether you are a carer, disabled or able-bodied this film is FANTASTIC. Very very highly recommended. The sub-titles should not put you off and the music is fab. Don't hesitate to purchase it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful gem, pure delight, pure laughter!, 11 Nov 2012
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
Just been to see this film and rushed back to see if the DVD had been released to buy it as a Xmas present for ALL the family, it was sooooo good! The film was touching and humerous and had us all belly laughing throughout. The theme may seem a bit glum and predictble, but it was anything but. Uplifting and down to earth it would I am sure it would be enjoyed by adults of all ages with a sense of humour. I'll just have to be patient, and then maybe I'll just buy myself one too to watch again and again. Clare
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and uplifting film, 25 Sep 2012
By 
Ms. A. M. Davidson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Following an accident, the ultra wealthy Philippe (Francois Cluzet) is paralysed and needs 24 hour care. He chooses Driss (Omar Sy) as his carer and an unlikely friendship is born. The contrast between the wealth of Philippe and the poverty from which Driss comes is well portrayed. The room plus en suite that is Driss' living area is larger than the entire flat in which his family lives.

The relationship between the two men builds over time to one of mutual respect and liking. It is the development of this relationship that is central to this film. They don't like the same music (High Classical v Earth Wind and Fire) yet the joyful dance that Driss spontaneously performs at Philippe's staid birthday party brings a smile to Philippe's face that holds no wistfulness or regret that he cannot walk a step let alone dance any more.

The film is full of humour but one of the funniest moments for me was a trip to the Opera House when Driss cannot believe that people pay good money to see someone dressed as a tree and singing in German for 4 hours!

There are neat subplots with the minor characters too such as the attractive female member of staff that Driss is convinced will fall for him; or the older couple where Driss nudges the relationship forward; and Philippe's daughter's relationship with "mophead" that Driss has a hand in sorting out.

The relationship works because Driss sees Philippe as a man not an invalid and both men learn a lot about themselves and others in this moving and uplifting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding film, 2 May 2012
By 
SG Donnelly (Stamford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an outstanding film. It is extremely funny and in part very exciting. It begins with a really amazing sequence of high speed driving, through the tunnels of the periferique in Parisat night. The contrast between the lives of black immigrants living in the banlieue and the very priviledged white upper class in a chic area of Paris was quite shocking. Yet the combination of poverty and strength combined with money and physical frailty was one of its greatest features.

This film is about diability but it is in no way patronising, mawkish or depressing.

I have only seen it dubbed into Spanish and I am really looking forward to seeing it again in the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
I could watch this film over and over again. It is pure quality! The acting, story and music are all wonderful. I really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT , BRILLIANT BRILLIANT, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouchable [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt one of the best films I have seen in a very long time, It will have you both laughing & crying. The film restores your faith in human nature.
You will adore Driss. Please dont miss out on a film experience you will never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this movie in cinema over 2 months ago and I simply fall in love. It is so fresh and outstanding, totally different to the crap movies which I recently watched. I decided to buy this original french version as the French is well known me.
I fully recommend, its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Untouchable [DVD]
Untouchable [DVD] by Eric Toledano (DVD - 2013)
6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews