Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cinema, unforgettable acting
The mid-range star rating for this film is, for me, a glowing endorsement that it's worth a look. In an age where the inoffensive, forgettable or mediocre will guarantee positive reviews, something that divides opinion has got to be worth a look.

For me, The Master is an incredible film - far, far better all round than the director's previous work, There Will...
Published 16 months ago by JD

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MAN IS NOT AN ANIMAL
Freddie Quell (Joaquin Phoenix) is a WWII vet with anger management issues. He is obsessed with sex (more than the rest of us) and loves his drink. After numerous altercations, Freddie ends up as a stowaway on the yacht of The Master, Lancaster Dodd (Philip Seymour Hoffman). Dodd is also a hot head who likes his drink and previously had an altercation with Freddie, one...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come for me!, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
...so I can go to sleep!
I lost two whole hours of my life, that I will never get back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No problem with actual transaction., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
This was a truly appalling film and a waste of life, but since this isn't a film review, had no problems with the transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment in video need a real flaming for this, 12 July 2013
By 
A. Jones "arkid" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Master [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This disk contains 2 trailers that you cant skip whenever you load it. THis is a totally unacceptable practice and for that simple reason I'm rating this edition 1/5.

The film itself I would give 4 or 5/5 btw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 3 May 2013
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
This film had great reviews but I really have no idea why. I thought it was very disappointing, story line is terrible and actors aren't that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible from the start, 30 Mar 2013
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
A bought this as the review said it would make a person in a wheelchair walk. I think it would make a person end up in a wheelchair. Utterly bizarre, confusing and after 40 minutes I switched off. Bad is a understatement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of 2 hours of your life, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Master [DVD] (DVD)
A waste of 2 hours of your life

Yes I know it's about the performances and the director is supposed to be 'different' ,but the is purile.

On reflection the best actor in the world today - Daniel Day Lewis - only just save There will be blood so it is no surprie this cast didn't really stand a chance., talented as they are

AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Master [Blu-ray]
The Master [Blu-ray] by Paul Thomas Anderson (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews