Customer Reviews


405 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment on collossal scale!
Well I never was a fan of Godzilla or Transformers movies but this movie is just bloody pure entertainment on collossal scale!! The visuals are breattaking (specially if u have a big screen) and so is the HD audio! What a treat...I was litterally cheering on some of the fighting scenes LOL
Unlike Transformers and Godzilla...this movie's characthers have some actual...
Published 20 days ago by Nello

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This film could have been a lot better
The delivery of the item was quick and the packaging flawless. The three stars is for the film itself, as I didn't really enjoy it. The visual effects of the film are very good but the lack of story and personality from the main characters left me feeling like I had watched a rubbish episode of Power Rangers.
Published 1 month ago by Anna


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films I've ever seen., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Amazon Instant Video)
Terrible script, horrendous acting and...well, I'm almost beyond words. Particularly galling is the Guillermo Del Toro is directing and the usually excellent Idris Elba stars.
Dreadful, just dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish!, 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: Pacific Rim (DVD)
What a total waste of time. I was expecting something along the lines of Battleship, and whilst I was aware that it's sci-fi fantasy to me it was utter tosh with poor special effects and cliché after cliché! It was cheesy beyond cheddar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was wrong: it's OK, 29 Jan 2014
I originally rented this with the lowest expectations.

After Roland Emmerich's Godzilla and the truly even more awful Transformers 1 & 2 (3 was unexpectedly watchable) - I didn't hold out much hope for this apparent lovechild of the two. Worst fears seemed immediately justified when the film I imagined they should have been making was over after 15min, along with nearly all the footage from the trailer. But, as it turned out, I was wrong. I would add that many of the negative reviews for this film are accurate: but they also apply to 80% of contemporary Hollywood cinema. Almost any film seems able to effortlessly acquire five stars from some reviewer, claiming they are 'unmissable', 'a tour de force' or 'the best film of the year' (in January). So despite it's obvious failings, it's quite engaging, has an uncharacteristic international flavour and is quite undeserving of the brutal 1 and 2 star reviews on Amazon. Overall, amusingly realised and fun. Marmite it yourself. It's miles better than Matthew Inspector Broderzilla's Lizard in New York or the annoying, messy, ugly, noisy, teenage wallpaper, Transformers 1 & 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pacific Rim, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I missed this film at the cinema, so I was thrilled to get it at such a good price. The DVD arrived in perfect condition and I would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real surprise!, 17 April 2014
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
I rented this in 3D for little other reason than wanting to explore the special effects. What I got was a blockbuster of a movie, non-stop action and thrills with amazing special effects, really brought to life in 3D. The story is pure sci-fi but the cast, acting and edge-of-the-seat pace make it a 'join in' movie. You can't help but want to cheer on the underdogs, worry that this is one movie that won't end in success for the all-American (British actor) heroes. One of the best sci-fi movies I have seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Entertaining, 16 April 2014
Curious enough to watch it and thoughly enjoyed it if your going to make this type of film chuck every thing in plus the kitchen sink and thats what they did TRANSFORMERS meets GODZILLA sometimes tire of CGI however the look and feel of this film is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fabulous nonsense. If you can suspend disbelief for the length of the film then this is the film for you. Tons of action for the men. Eye candy in the form of Idris and Charlie for the ladies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this. Now, it's like this. I don't care who you are. Just embrace your inner 12 year old and enjoy it. ITS MASSIVE ROBOTS FIGHTING MASSIVE MONSTERS! Some quite gritty and real emotion in it as well. Very good. 5 stars to the director for having the balls to make this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best action movie in ages, 15 April 2014
This review is from: Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
Best action movie in ages. Giant robot verses aliens with decent actors compares to most actions movies now a days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let-down, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Pacific Rim (DVD)
Great special effects and action sequences but let down by cheesy script, over-played heroic sacrifice and tired old plot-lines. I know it's taken from a cartoon strip but the dialogue didn't have to be metaphorically set in little bubbles from the characters mouths. Having spent all that effort on CGI and effects surely they must have had more than 50p left over to pay for the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb19735e8)

This product

Pacific Rim [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
Pacific Rim [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] by Guillermo del Toro (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews