Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 disc set is a must
It is apparent that in the UK Warners have only issued a 2 disc set.So can i just say that you are best advised to buy the 3 disc set from Amazon in America.In my view it is one of the best DVD sets i have ever purchased.You get the film,associated shorts,and nearly 4 hours of Vitaphone shorts.The Vitaphone shorts are themselves worthy of the price alone.
Published on 30 Jan 2008 by Wingate

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a bit of a con
You have to read between the lines of all the other reviews - I didn't. There's only 2 minutes of 'dialogue' in the UK 2 disc version - not really a 'talkie' but not the silent version either. But if you're a Jolson fan, like my Mom, then the songs are good as they are synchronised sound and an interesting piece of history. You get used to the caption cards.
The...
Published on 15 July 2012 by Frogman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 disc set is a must, 30 Jan 2008
It is apparent that in the UK Warners have only issued a 2 disc set.So can i just say that you are best advised to buy the 3 disc set from Amazon in America.In my view it is one of the best DVD sets i have ever purchased.You get the film,associated shorts,and nearly 4 hours of Vitaphone shorts.The Vitaphone shorts are themselves worthy of the price alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 20 Dec 2007
Well, this is a wonderful release. Most importantly, the sound is digitized from the original Vitaphone disc (not from inferior recordings from the 30's). The picture is nicely preserved and it is fun to watch Jolson sing again during the synchronized scenes.

The Vitaphone shorts included in the discset are examples of early sound but are musical performances from mostly nondescript perfomers and are more oddities than entertaining. Two important exceptions: 1.) the short, "Lambchops," with a young George Burns and Gracie Allen in fine form; and 2.) Jolson in "Plantation Act" singing some of his standards.

A truly welcome release. Hopefully other Jolson films, like "Singing Fool," will be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Historic Classic, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Bc V. Price "Bernard Price" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb film for any serious student of cinema to add to their collection. It is proclaimed as the first talking picture, Well, Yes! and No! The film was issued in that preliminary stage of giving the usual silent film treatment with sub titles etc. and also with the added bonus patches giving sound ! If you are not already familar with this film then a warning the sound parts are Jolson delivering his famous routines. I like them. However, it is not everyones cup of tea. Especially the scenes where he 'blacks up'. In todays society this will not go down well.I happen to agree with that. However, we have to view this film as a sign of its time, so therefore, I forgive it. It is a well produced film from the Warner Brother Stable. There are many extras to this edition which have been mentiond by other reviewers that make this edition the one to own for any serious movie buff.
Also, from an historical perspective the scenes involving the cantorial singing are both moving and worth buying the film alone IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD !, 15 Dec 2007
I bought this DVD a few weeks ago and I am delighted with my purchase. OK, the main feature is probably not the best film I have ever seen, but it is a milestone in movie history. The "Jazz Singer" is not a full talkie, but the first ever movie to feature some dialogues and songs. - Anyway, this DVD edition is a delight for any serious movie collector or film buff. It contains a carefully restored print of the "Jazz Singer" (including the German-dubbed version)and is crammed with great special features. Those features include a fantastic feature-length documentary about the advent of sound, a 1936 Technicolor cartoon which pokes a fun at the the Jazz Singer, a 1937 Technicolor short with Hollywood stars at the horse races (featuring Al Jolson and Ruby Keeler). Furthermore, there are several vintage shorts about the advent of talkies and trailers of several other Al Jolson movies. - I really wish for more DVD Edition like this one! How about a similar packaged special DVD-Edition about the first colour movie "Becky Sharp" (1935)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "You ain't heard nothing yet!", 2 Oct 2014
By 
M. J. Kensell (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Singer [DVD] [1927] (DVD)
Have had the VHS video for a number of years, but after a number of playings the quality is diminishing, so I took the opportunity to buy the DVD. It is nowhere as good as to the Neil Diamond version, but for its age carries well. Any movie buff should have this DVD in their collection in order to really understand how musical drama has improved over the last 87 plus years.

Joe Kensell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jazz singer, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. A. Hylands "ant" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie was a giant leap for the movie world, a great musical triumph for al jolson pathing the way for 80 years of musicals. I loved this movie because of the combination of the silent era and the exciting new sound technical marvel.It shows just how this was achieved in the documentury. This is a must for all movie buffs. You wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That old black and white magic, 10 April 2014
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Singer [DVD] [1927] (DVD)
Great to hear the original version of the Jazz Singer. Al Jolson still has the magic with his voice and musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars jazz singer, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Singer [DVD] [1927] (DVD)
I always wanted to see this, I liked it considering how long ago it was made. A mixture of talking singing and silent movie speech cards popping up to remind you that this was a pioneering film of its day. I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First talking Movie, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. Sue Alden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Singer [DVD] [1927] (DVD)
Good film ., not as expected because some parts they are not talking ., however great for a film buffs collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy Dad!, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Singer [DVD] [1927] (DVD)
I have bought this for my Dad as he is a huge Al Jolson fan, found it quiet difficult to get, so glad when I found it on Amazon, arrived promptly, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jazz Singer Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1927] [Region Free]
£9.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews