Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Priced Windows 8 I could find
Arrived early from Hong Kong well within the 22 day delivery window. Boxed, sealed genuine article and in pristine condition. With 2 disks, one for 32 bit Windows 8 Pro the other for 64 bit.
Published 13 months ago by Paul

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars W8 Not much of an advantage over W7.
Not 'swept away' by W8, like most people have restored the task bar. It is quick but has no other advantage over W7.
The package has no copy of the licensing agreement which I find to be wrong if not illegal.
The lack of being able to use it on your home pc and on a 'holiday' laptop without purchasing another license is outrageous!
Published 16 months ago by Brian H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars W8 Not much of an advantage over W7., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
Not 'swept away' by W8, like most people have restored the task bar. It is quick but has no other advantage over W7.
The package has no copy of the licensing agreement which I find to be wrong if not illegal.
The lack of being able to use it on your home pc and on a 'holiday' laptop without purchasing another license is outrageous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Priced Windows 8 I could find, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
Arrived early from Hong Kong well within the 22 day delivery window. Boxed, sealed genuine article and in pristine condition. With 2 disks, one for 32 bit Windows 8 Pro the other for 64 bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If Carlsberg made operating systems .... they would not make this, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
Delivery good, price cheap.

Product.... complete garbage.

Win8 can't decide whether it wants to be a tablet operating system or a proper desktop operating system. It will continually throw you from the tile interface to the old style menu interface. Tile interface is confusing to new users, e.g. scrolling mouse button up and down moves tiles from side to side!! Too many hidden "hot" corners and buried settings. "Charms" menu is complete joke. Not designed to work with a mouse unless you want RSI and have a second wrist joint!

Win8 apps are pants, crude and tacky. Can only view apps full screen in tile interface. Copy and paste between apps is now painfully slow and confusing.In particular, email app is dreadful. Internet explorer app is utterly useless.

Basically, a poorly thought out and confusing operating system which is not fit for any purpose. Stay with Win7.

Avoid, avoid, avoid. You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
This is the best value full product upgrade available currently. I'm delighted with the price and am beginning to figure out the product ;=)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Upgrade Too Far!, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
It is an operating system for tablet lovers which fails in certain departments. Take the sync option for those having a Windows phone, you would have better luck using bluetooth on wifi. If you are new to Windows it is a bit like Marmite, you will either hate it or you'll love it. It has an incredibly powerful search engine and one I would restrict to local or it will come up with findings from the internet as well. It supports Large Ram array. Windows 7 was restricted to 16GB of RAM. If buying the item as an upgrade you will be better off dowloading the ClassicStart8 menu from the internet and use that until you are happy with the Metro. I just drop directly to the desktop. Even when I am at home the weather and temperature are for somewhere else entirely. Hopefully they will correct this bug in 8.1 in October Or I will find my weather elsewhere. Iwould prefer to drop directly to the desktop when booting but am always presented with Metro. I am glad the Update 8.1 or Windows Blue has this fixed and I will be able to drop directly to my Desktop. Your Metro Browser Favourites do not transpose to your Desktop browser favourites.
On the good side it gives a better Trim setup to SSD drives and allows monitoring quite well and optimzes settings according to your SSD and SATA status. It doesn't hogg memory like Windows 7 or Windows Vista do. Windows XP was the beginning of the journey and sadly it is being retired. At least when it was a driver problem it would report it whereas in Windows 7 and 8 you are presented with Error codes which are very familiar to Vista owners. Sadly the BSOD still hasn't gone away.
Any other Pros: Well its new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arrived by retiurn post, 5 Sep 2013
By 
C Hyams "colinh" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
Fantastic value. The real thing in the box and 100+ cheaper than Microsoft. Very happy have got a second one from the same suplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
this does exactly what its says it would so if you want to upgrade then this is the one you need to buy ,and it is very cheep so what are you waiting for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just like Microsoft, they give us rubbish to sort out for them, and we pay for this!, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
I loaded it and all was fine, I then loaded my Microsoft LifeCam, it went on and it did an update for me, (that did not work). I loaded my printers and both would not work fully, no scanner on one and the other would not show CD and DVD printing? The Microsoft key board and mouse could not be found? Next I loaded Skype and could only get MSN Skype, no good to me as I had phone credit on the good version, and when I downloaded System Mechanics Pro....That was the best, the hole thing stopped working, there was nothing I could do to get it back or dump the program? The hard drive had to be formatted and Windows 7 put back on..... I will need lots of updated drivers before I put that SO on anything! I do hope you have more fun with it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy when you know how, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
Before I tried it I thought it was suitable for touch screens only, but I needed it because I'm a computer trainer and some of my clients started buying new PCs with Windows 8 pre-installed. For those without touch screens, navigation around the interface can be greatly simplified if you take the trouble to learn some of the keyboard shortcuts that have long been available in previous versions of Windows, but which many people are still unaware of. For anyone living anywhere near SE19, I can help if you contact vic@plumplanet.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro; 32-bit/64-bit; VUP; EN; Upgrade; Full packaged product (FPP); 1 user(s); 20480 MB; 2048 MB; 1000 MHz (3UR-00006) (DVD-ROM)
Took a lot of getting the right version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews