Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars89
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£23.25
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2015
I almost didn't read this. I heard Robert Greene speak on a podcast and was sufficiently intrigued to buy The 48 Laws of Power, The Art of Seduction and Mastery as audiobooks. I found the two earlier books pretty bad. There were some good insights but the readings were what I'd expect of a tabloid newspaper. They are probably far better in print where you can voice them yourself without adding a "sensational" kind of style.

Mastery is different. Again I have only experienced it from the audiobook which has a much better reader. It is so good I have now decided to get the print version so as to be able to refer back to it and make notes from it.

I have read literally dozens of self help books. This is one of the very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Great descriptions of how people have mastered particular fields and the struggles they went through to get there. Inspiring and enlightening. Debunks erroneous myths about genius and achievement.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Hi Guys,

I listen to this in audiobook format after recommendation from a friend.

** Good points **
Personally I found it very useful because I often have creative ideas/instincts/behaviours. I previously thought I was a bit 'off the wall' and sometimes different from others in some ways, this book talks about processes of creativity deeply. Some of which are simple and I do automatically, E.g. when you go for a walk you often get your great ideas, answers to a problem. Others were more deep, e.g. following your intuition/instinct is very often the path you should be following and he gave nice examples to illustrate.

** Bad points **
A minor annoyance, was the author often used the same examples up repeatedly throughout the book again and reintroduced the person.
eg Sally was a metal work artist, nobody believed she could make heavy metal statues because she was a girl.. Author will explain a point, then a few chapters later reintroduce Sally and half repeat exactly the same thing in different words, but then add another new idea.
I get what he was trying to do, but found it slightly annoying and got confused initially thinking 'hadn't he already talked about this person?'

Also, some of his ideas I didn't totally agree with, e.g. talking about how Google beat Yahoo and dominated search engines, and explained why, because e.g. they were doing x,y and z differently. But I felt that this 'backtracking is easy to do in hindsight. Actually , sometimes a few different twists of fate and it could have been Yahoo or someone else on top, sometimes the thing that made one company more successful over another was not the things the author emphasised but could easily have been a completely different set of circumstance.

** Overall **
Overall I enjoyed this book (I listened to on audio) and found it inspiring because it shed a light on my own creative processes that I did automatically without thinking. It also made me realise the importance of working really hard on one area to master it.

Hope that helps guys, let me know if it did and I can write more.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
“The brain that we possess is the work of six million years of development, and more than anything else, this evolution of the brain was designed to lead us to mastery . . .”

In Mastery, Robert Greene (bestselling author of 48 Laws of Power) tackles an interesting subject: the principles of success and intelligence.

There are many people who believe success is down to good fortune, or nepotism, or it’s accidental—a by-product of dumb luck. They also believe geniuses are born that way, as if their intelligence and ingenuity is hardwired into their DNA. But the truth is we’re all designed to succeed; we can all reach a level of mastery. It doesn’t take talent—not entirely—but instead, success and mastery requires tenacity and discipline; and above all, a thirst for knowledge: a deep-rooted desire to chase your dream and acquire all the skills (and more) in your chosen field.

And Robert Greene, with this in mind, delves deep into this theory, drawing from an exhaustive well of past-and-present high-achievers and geniuses, flitting seamlessly between stories of Mozart to Einstein to Edison and Darwin. Writing with depth and conviction, and fusing his own beliefs with examples of success (along with the occasional neuroscience and psychology facts), Greene not only delivers on his premise, but also paints a wonderful picture of historical (and present day) figures, making this both a self-help manual and an entertaining history book.

The continual insights into mastery, gleaned from hundreds of years of past successes, add weight to the words, and the sense of authenticity bolsters Greene’s opinions, giving them an authority and power that another author might have failed to serve. The book is engaging throughout and teaches the audience in a relatable way, without boring or preaching. And, ultimately, the stories work to inspire the reader with a deep and inarticulate yearning to succeed, whether it be in everyday life or your career.

If you want to succeed in a particular field, this book will push you on the right path. And if you don’t want to succeed (what’s wrong with you?), read it anyway. It’s worth the journey.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Seriously life-changing, excellently written, well worth the hype as really changes your plans in life - very motivating and great for both sexes but particularly men.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
A blueprint to success in any endeavour. The case studies of masters in fields from the arts to science are very revealing and set out the path to mastery.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
After Napoleon Hill wrote his book in late 30's i thought no book on the subject could surpass it, but this "Mastery" could be one of them!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Brilliant book. Couldn't put it down. Learned an awful lot about life from it. Recommend it should be on the school curriculum!
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Educational and enjoyable read, great to understand how the masters took a journey of experience. Well worth a quick read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
This is an AMAZING book. Very detailed, but please be patient and read it. It will transform your life whoever you are...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.