Customer Reviews


1,319 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,082)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2,170 of 2,242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy of the year
(Please also see update at foot of this review)

Still undecided about whether to get the iPad Mini? Then maybe this will help, based on my own buying experience. By way of background, back in early 2012 I was looking for something small and portable, mainly to use at home whilst slumped in front of the TV, and for occasional use away from home via wifi...
Published 15 months ago by Steve at Barton

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IPad Mini - not such a good buy
Brought this item before Christmas and was disappointed with product. This unit was delivered with a US plug and not one suitable for Ireland/UK without adapting. This was not outlined when purchasing (unless missed by myself) and this appears to be a similar complaint amongst others who bought. Also, the build was not what was expected and felt slightly inferior to a...
Published 6 months ago by Alanj


‹ Previous | 1 2132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2,170 of 2,242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy of the year, 5 April 2013
By 
Steve at Barton (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
(Please also see update at foot of this review)

Still undecided about whether to get the iPad Mini? Then maybe this will help, based on my own buying experience. By way of background, back in early 2012 I was looking for something small and portable, mainly to use at home whilst slumped in front of the TV, and for occasional use away from home via wifi hotspots. There was less choice around then so in the end I took the cheapest option and got a 7" Android tablet. However, I was never completely happy with it, it seemed quite slow (1.2GHz chip), the capacitive screen was not very responsive, the wifi connection was a bit hit and miss, and I personally did not particularly like Android 4.0, so it spent most of its time in a drawer. In fairness, it was from the budget end of the market, and the instructions that came with it were absolutely useless, so I probably got off to a bad start, but first impressions etc.....

Move on a year and I came across an iPad Mini on display in a shop. (I had never previously owned any Apple products, so I did not start off with any preconceptions.) Anyway, as soon as I got my hands on the demo model I felt completely at home with it - very simple and intuitive to use, very responsive, and very solidly made. So, after a bit more research when I got home, I took the plunge and ordered one on Amazon.

Some tips: if you do buy online, then whilst waiting for delivery, download a copy of the instructions from the Apple website for a little light reading, and also set up an Apple ID as you will almost certainly need one unless you never want to download any Apps - even free ones need an Apple ID. You might also want to set up iCloud on your PC to get the most out of the Ipad and to synchronise with your PC. Go to the Apple website and search on iCloud and you will find the download page. (All of these things can of course be left until your iPad arrives, but why not get everything ready beforehand?)

When it arrived I switched it on straight out of the box - it was showing almost a full charge - and it went automatically to the set up routine - any decisions you make can be overwritten later via "Settings" so don't worry too much about getting it right first time. Some reviewers have commented that the written instructions are inadequate, but having already looked at the downloaded instructions I had no problems. Connecting to my wifi (BT Home Hub 3.0) was pretty much instant, and within 5 minutes I was up and running, initially browsing the web via Safari which I found to be very logical and easy to use (better than Internet Explorer? - make up your own mind). Setting up a few bookmarks (favourites) was straightforward having already read the downloaded instructions, but I then discovered that by opening the iCloud panel on my laptop (running on Windows 7) I could synchronise it with the iPad so that all of my IE favourites were automatically transferred to the iPad as bookmarks, including all of the folders/sub-folders, and in exactly the same order. Plus, any changes made subsequently on either machine automatically update on both - additions, deletions, renaming or re-arranging - which makes life much easier. Setting up eMail was my next task and here I did have some problems with my main email account which is with inbox.com, which I had to configure manually. However, after some trial and error with the server addresses I did manage to get it sorted, but if I had to do it again I would probably still struggle. But don't let this put you off, other email accounts may well be much easier (my BT and Yahoo accounts for instance were a doddle) and it CAN be done! Other stuff was fairly easy, downloading Apps is no problem, the camera is easy to use and pretty good, and whilst I am not into gaming or iTunes, so can't comment on those, I imagine they will be similarly easy to suss out. I have downloaded a few useful Apps, including Kindle, and now as well as downloads from Amazon I can also use the iPad to store and read Kindle books that I got from a bumper bundle DVD bought cheaply on eBay. As to the screen, I have not had any experience of the Retina version of the big iPad, but all I can say is that I do not have any problems with it, for its size it is very clear with no blurring, and the brightness can be set either manually or via the auto function.

So, I have now had my new toy for about 10 days and it is rarely out of my reach. I did find though that it was a bit too thin to hold comfortably for any length of time, and also that the aluminium back was quite cold to the touch, so I invested in a case which has overcome both of those problems and also gives good protection. (If you are after a decent leather style case at a very reasonable price of 1-99 with free delivery, have a look at my other reviews.) Battery life on the iPad is at the moment better than claimed - it is currently showing that I have had 3 hours usage plus 15 hours standby since last recharged and the battery indicator shows that there is still 73% remaining. I have also ordered a copy of "iPad Mini for Dummies" to help me get the maximum benefit from my investment. (See my separate review for this if you are interested).

If you have got this far, I assume you have found my comments useful and hope they will help you come to the right decision - buy one now, and enjoy!

UPDATED 7 May 2013
A month later and I can honestly say that I have absolutely no regrets about buying the "Mini". I now tend to use it for almost all of my browsing and emails, most days the laptop never gets switched on. I am still finding new features (the "Dummies" book has been very useful) so it is very much a voyage of discovery. I have not yet come across any problems, or found anything that I felt could be improved.

In conclusion, whilst the iPad Mini is the first Apple product I have owned, I somehow suspect that it won't be the last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,211 of 1,279 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The same, but smaller., 4 Nov 2012
By 
R. Forse (Taunton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The build of the iPad mini screams "quality", even more so than the iPad (3) which we also have. It's very easy to hold and the design is immaculate with the screen filling more of the tablet (almost) edge to edge.

I think that the viewing experience when using streaming apps (Netflix, sky go etc) does suffer with having to play on the smaller screen (compared to the iPad) but with the pixel ratio compressed in size, the detail is arguably marginally better again.

The device is ideally sized for my wife and step daughter as they have smaller hands but to me it does seem like it has a more slippery feel so a good case to protect it is an absolute must.

You know what you're getting with apple products and iOS specifically and it was that which was the main hook for the ladies in my house. I actually think its overpriced compared to other mini tablets on the market but that won't matter to those who already have iPhones etc and want to complete the apple experience. In fact, its only really the price that prevents this from being a 5 star review.

*Edit 08/11/12*
Now that I've used this for a more substantial period of time, I wanted to update the review to make it more useful and give a better idea of the iPad mini's strengths and weaknesses.

Strengths:
- The aluminium chassis gives the iPad mini a premium feel straight from the box.
- Light weight, comfortable and easy to hold. This makes it accessible, and useable, for every member of the family.
- Handles multitasking and all apps without lag or problems (apps used include Netflix, Sky Go, Facebook, Twitter, Sky news/sports news, BBC iplayer)
- As well as the 16gb (or 32/64) there is 5gb of cloud storage.
- Easy to use, familiar and probably every app you can think of is available.

Weaknesses:
- As I've stated in the main review, it feels slightly slippery in the hand. This is one downside of the aluminium case.
- The other downside of the aluminium case is that it back cover does mark and scratch easily. I cannot emphasise enough the importance of also getting a quality case.
- The battery does not last as long as the iPad 3. This is down to the capacity but due to the smaller screen and reduced processing power, we had expected it to be broadly similar to the larger version. It doesn't quite get to this standard and I would estimate that it lasts approximately a quarter of the time less.

While writing the strengths and weaknesses I kept thinking about the price. For me I can't get away from that thought BUT if you can justify the price to yourself (based on the iOS interface and available apps) then I can fully understand the choice of the iPad mini over the nexus 7 or kindle fire HD (both of which are significantly cheaper).

But the most important conideration is how it will link with the other technology in your life. I currently have an Andriod phone and it is frustrating not being able to link it with either the iPad or iPad mini. My main recommendation is that you chose a tablet with the same operating system as your phone to maximise the potential of the devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly light, fast and beautifully designed. Best tablet available., 30 Dec 2013
By 
John Ryan "One man and his Kat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This iPad Mini is not quite the most recent model (it's been upgraded to the "iPad Mini with Retina Display" and the full size "iPad Air"), but it's still an incredibly beautiful device. Oddly enough, it's so beautifully easy to use (my one year old daughter loves playing with it), it's almost doesn't feel like a computer at all.

I bought one for my daughter and she absolutely loves it. We sold the previous Android tablet as it just sat in a drawer not being used.

A word of warning - this review is written for people who've never owned an iPad before - and are wondering what all the fuss is about. Don't read this if you already own an iPad or Mini and are thinking about an upgrade - I'd recommend you simply buy a mini with Retina or an iPad Air.

Just what's all the fuss about?
--------------------------------------

I used to own a laptop for work, and (very occasionally), it'd sit on my lap on the sofa, and I'd use it for pleasure (eMail, watching films or playing the odd game). Then I bought my first iPad, and the laptop became redundant, a boring "work device". Hard to explain, but the fact the iPad is so small and light, and you navigate around with your finger by pointing and gently swiping the screen makes the whole experience a lot easier - a lot more fun.

Even my most "luddite" of friends have been won over.

It's incredibly simple and easy to use (it only has one main button), and everyone from my one year old daughter to my 85 year old dad have taken to without problems. It's size and shape also support using it like a book (literally to read a book or web page), but you can also watch TV and films.

Personally I'm also paranoid about my password getting "hacked", and someone running up a huge Amazon bill or buying stuff with my credit card on eBay. Well one of the benefits of the iPad (and iPhone) is it's "almost impossible" to get a virus - one of the most common ways to get hacked. This doesn't mean you shouldn't use strong passwords, (both Sony and Adobe got hacked), but it's reassuring to leave the Windows world behind.

Finally, I love the way these devices (iPad, iPhone, Apple TV, Apple Mac), increasingly work together. The fact you can start a Pages document on your Mac and edit it on your iPad, or take photos on the iPhone, and in seconds see them on the iPad or Mac and display them on the Apple TV.

The thing is, "it just works".

What would you use if for?
----------------------------------

* Shopping online. Obviously - you could be reading a review on Amazon about the iPad Air!
* Video Calling. With either "FaceTime" (to another Apple device) or Skype - you can make video calls to other people
* Reading web pages. As you can hold it like a book it's great to read the news online (my wife loves the Daily Mail Online).
* Reading Books. It's great for reading books from Amazon Kindle or Apple Books with the benefit of 1,000s of online book reviews
* Navigating web pages. Instead of clicking with a mouse, you gently swipe your fingers on screen to scroll around
* Watching Films. I use it to watch Netflix online videos (with an Apple TV you can send stuff to the telly)
* Watching TV. With the free BBC iPlayer app you can catch up or download BBC programs
* Reading and replying to mail. I use "mailbox" a great free app to read and reply to mails, but there's a free one included
* Showing and organising photos. Any photos on an iPhone are automatically available within minutes in "the cloud"
* Playing games. From fun puzzle games like "Cut the Rope" to fully fledged first person shooters.
* Listening to the Radio. With "Tune in Radio" you can listen to thousands of radio stations world-wide.
* Listening to music. I stream mine to an Apple TV, but you can also buy portable speakers or just plug into the AUX socket
* The list goes on and on.

Which model should I buy?
----------------------------------

I can't comment about Android tablets (apart from the Google Nexus 7 which is well regarded), but in terms of the Apple tablet line-up:-

iPad mini Size:-

* iPad mini is a lovely tablet. A 7.9 inch screen and astonishingly light and remarkably thin - it feels like a light-weight book.
* iPad mini with retina screen. Again 7.9 inch screen, but with the blazingly fast A7 chip and a "retina" (high definition) screen. Worth the upgrade if you can afford it. The HD screen is amazing, and faster chip means it will be a bit more "future proof".

Full Size iPad options. (much larger screen - makes a huge difference):-

* 1st Generation iPad. Seldom available new - best avoided - there's better options available
* 2nd Generation. Avoid the Apple iPad 2, it's a relatively old model, under-powered and with a lower resolution screen. If you really want an Apple but don't want to spend the cash, buy a 16g WIFI 3rd or 4th generation iPad from Amazon or eBay. Avoid this one.
* iPad 3rd Generation. First iPad with the "Retina" (high definition) screen. A5X chip. Excellent iPad - highly recommended
* iPad 4th Generation. With A6X chip. In short, not quite as fast as the latest chip but pretty zippy. Biggest difference is the smaller power socket and slightly faster processor.
* iPad Air. Same fast (A7) chip as the Mini with Retina - the latest and fastest iPad available. This has been re-designed to be even smaller than the iPad 2/3/4 and with the new chip making it even faster.

In terms of which to buy - if you want something REALLY small and light to read on the train, the iPad Mini or the latest version with the Retina screen is your best bet. Otherwise, the 3rd, 4th generation or iPad Air is your best option - depending upon your budget.

Me I've owned a 1st and 3rd generation full size iPad and most recently an Air. My daughter owns an iPad mini, and we've loved them all.

What are the Optional add-ons?
-----------------------------------------

Well, assuming you've dropped by the Apple Store or John Lewis (which I would highly recommend), and handled the iPad Mini (with/without retina screen), and iPad 2 and Air then your options are around memory size and cellular option.

Memory: Once bought, you can't add memory (space for apps, films, books etc). However, the basic price goes up a huge amount (+80 for the 16g to 32g iPad Air). But, having owned a 16g and then a 32g iPad - I can safely recommend the 16g unless you really want to store a huge amount of videos and downloads. Only you can decide, and if you're lucky enough that money is no object then splash out. Otherwise, 16g should be fine for most people.

Celular: Allows you to connect to the internet while you're out and about. This will add an additional +100 to the price and means you can slip in a mobile phone SIM card. This means (for an additional 7-15 a month extra), you can access the internet on the move. Alternatively, you can opt for the WIFI option, and use it at home or at at "hot spot" (eg. Starbucks, most rail stations and hotels etc).

Personally I'd buy (and indeed did), the 16Gb iPad Air WIFI. But again, it depends upon your budget.

Do I need anything else?
-------------------------------

Most people (me included) buy a cover. Apple (and now several copy-cats) make a "smart-cover" which automatically shuts down the iPad when you close it, and switches it on when you open it. There's versions which cover the back, or just the screen. Apple charge from 35 to 65 for their (admittedly) high quality fabric or leather covers, but there's many available from 10. Be aware, you do get what you pay for.

Personally,I think it's a pity to cover the beautiful aluminium industrial design of the iPad with a cover - but if you've spent hundreds of pounds you'll want to protect it from scrapes and bangs.

I also invested in a keyboard (25-80), as I tend to write a lot of mails and documents (remember it comes with a word processor). I'd recommend (for the iPad Air) the Logitech Ultra Thin iPad Air Case with Keyboard - Space Greyand the ZAGG Keys iPad Air Case Folio with Backlit Keyboard - Black although these are strictly optional unless you want to use your iPad as a proper laptop.

Word of warning: If you're looking for a case or keyboard be sure to buy the correct size (they're all different):-

1. iPad mini size
2. iPad 2, 3 or 4th generation (full size iPad)
3. iPad Air size (full size but designed to be smaller)

Finally, if you have another Apple device (eg. an iPhone, Apple TV or Mac) you'll find these work together beautifully. For example, you can create a reminder on your iPad and it appears on your iPhone. Equally, photos taken on your iPhone appear on your iPad, and you can stream music or videos from iPad, iPhone or Mac to an Apple TV.

One word of advice - make sure the entire family use the same "Apple iTunes Account" - but you all have a separate "iCloud Account". This means, when you buy an App, Music or Film on one iDevice its available to everyone, but you each have separate "Cloud Storage" to backup your iPad or store documents independent of each other. Incidentally, creating an iCloud account means your iPad is automatically backed up (no wires, no fuss) every time you charge it up. A wonderful feature - one of many.

Overall Opinion
---------------------

It's hard to believe the iPad version 1 was released just four years ago, and there's a huge raft of "me too" tablet computers to choose from, but the Apple iPad is still the one to beat. As "Which?" magazine put it about the iPad Air - "...the best tablet we've ever tested. Apple packs a beautiful screen and lightning fast processor into a slimmer-than-ever shell, and battery life is very impressive".

Yes, there are cheaper Android based alternatives, but the quality, design and beauty of this tablet just sets it apart. If it were a car it'd be a top of the range Mercedes or a BMW. Looking at the iPad 3rd or 4th generation, you've not quite got the "latest version" - but it's still a top end tablet computer.

Obviously, depending upon your budget, buy the latest iPad (full size or mini) available - but whichever one you buy you're sure to be delighted.

Highly Recommended.

PS. If you found this review useful, please click below. Feel free to comment or ask a question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


645 of 698 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Short And Sweet Review, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Katrina-UK (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've been waiting a long time for the iPad Mini to be released and now it has finally come I'm not disappointed. I've had it for the last couple of weeks and I can honestly say this is a top quality product as expected from Apple. I've tried other 7.9" Android tablet devices but as far as I am concerned this little mini device is superior to them all. I've been using this device more than my laptop round the house and when I'm out and about. Sure sometimes I wish I had gone for the cellular one (so I could access the internet when I'm not in a wi-fi zone), but I would have had to pay quite a bit more for it.

As far as I'm concerned I prefer the iPad Mini to the iPad simply because it's more compact, easier to carry around, and lighter to hold for long periods. The pixel quality is fantastic for watching films or tv programmes (BBC iPlayer, ITVPlayer, 4oD, 5 on Demand and many more are all free to download off the app store), or visit iTunes if you want to pay to rent or buy a more recent film. Of course it doesn't have retina display like the iPad, however for those of us who have never owned a tablet before and don't have an iPhone so know no different, I'm incredibly impressed with picture quality. Anyway roll on next year when I am pretty certain Apple will release a new iPad Mini with retina display.

And if you have any problems you simply visit Apple online and go to the communities section to get help and advice, or book an appointment with an Apple Genius at your nearest Apple Store.

A word of advice - check out the Apple Store UK for iPad Mini's price before purchasing off Amazon. As the iPad Mini has only just been released, Amazon seem to have hiked the price up a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super slim, stylish and blazing fast, 28 April 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am no Apple iOS diehard fan. In fact I have several android and windows tablets. Yet there's no denying that the iPad has revolutionised the computer industry by triggering the tablet era.

The iPad mini is just a smaller version of the iPad Air, and as such sports the same processor and options offered on its bigger brother.

------------------------------------------------------------
Now does the iPad Mini really live up to the marketing hype?

A quick answer is "Yes", thanks to new zippy 64 bit A7 processor, lovely "Retina display" screen and portability!
And what makes this the best tablet to date are the apps, which have been optimized to take full advantage of the powerful 64bit processor. As an example: If you have a 64bit operating system but 32bit software than the performance increase is negligible.

Apps written for iOS are generally superior to the android version. There are various reasons for this:
○ Applications are only available through the App Store, and are virtually virus free
○ Stable and reliable iOS platform
○ iPad is also targeted for professional environments

Pros:
+ Blazing fast, low consumption A7 (64bit) processor
+ Premium build quality sporting ever so stylish looks thanks to the precision engineered aluminium housing
+ Retina display. Great colour saturation producing stunning images
+ Super lightweight, WiFi version 331grams and WiFi+Cellular version 341grams
+ Vast choice of apps which can mimic laptop/desktop programs
+ Awesome battery life thanks to the new low consumption A7 processor. No other tablet manufacturer can match as yet

Cons:
- Proprietary hardware required. Ie: Bluetooth GPS, Airprint printers..
- Screen is not as customisable as Android
- No expandable memory
- No touch ID

I would have loved to see an improved version of the iPhone's touch ID.

------------------------------------------------------
So if that satisfies your requirements the next thing to consider is choosing the version which best suits your needs and budget:

I will first start with the common denominator. All flavours offer the same A7 chip, retina display and Wi-Fi.

So the options are colour, storage size and cellular:
○ Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, yet I do suggest a side by side hands on comparison.
○ Given the fast processor I would say go for the largest available storage you can afford. This could easily become your best carry around companion, so the larger the memory the better.
◘ Many think that cellular versions only offer data. This version also sports a GPS chip which works as good as the best GPS receivers. So this has to be taken into consideration when factoring the price difference.

Highly recommend to anyone on the move wanting an ultra portable, fast and reliable alternative to its larger sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


279 of 322 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive tablet?, 5 Nov 2012
By 
JB (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first thing you notice with the mini - apart from the size - is the diffence in weight from the other incarnations of the iPad. This thing feels like a credit card in comparison, and just as tempting to use. It's comfortable in the hand and unlike the iPad you can continue to hold it quite easily without having to put it down to rest.

Like the iPad 3 the mini is beautifully put together; the screen occupies virtually all of the surface area, whilst the back is of a satisfyingly quality finish. The squared off edges really make it seem like some kind of magic slate. Personally I prefer this to the sharper, tapered-off iPad, and details like these make it feel like a distinctly different animal, possibly even closer to the iPod Touch than the iPad. Whatever it is, one thing's for sure: yet again Apple have managed to produce a product with that indefinable something which makes it highly desirable, on aesthetic grounds alone.

Response speeds are not quite as flashily fast as on the later iPads, but really you'd hardly notice. There's no retina display, but iPhoto looks almost as impressive. Video is great too, though perhaps lacking that amazing crystalline quality which the bigger machine can deliver.

Mail, and most other applications are the same as on the iPad, and strangely enough the keyboard seems just as easy to use, even though it's smaller.

My kids report that the games are even better, though this could be because the mini is just so much easier for them to handle; certainly to me Cut the Rope and Draw Something looked brilliant, and they are having a brilliant time playing them.

In conclusion, I'd say buy the mini if you want something light and easily portable; it fits into a handbag and the weight is barely noticeable. The price is an issue of course, and it's essential to check out the rival tablets on the market before making your decision.

For me, it won't replace my conventional iPad: I value the retina display and consequent diamond-bright resolution and prefer a larger screen. Any comments about it being better suited to my ageing eyesight are scurrilous nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Rebecca Woodley "r s woodley" (somerset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love my Apple iPad can do everything on it, that I can do on my laptop, in fact I haven't used my laptop since I bought my iPad.. So much easier to use.. It's a great all rounder.. Only had it since dec 2013 and I'm still learning lots from it.. Wouldn't ever want too be without it.. Ps it takes fantastic photos.. Love it love it love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why i got it, 15 July 2013
The main reason i went for the iPad mini and and not the original ipad, was that my ipod broke and I was looking to replace it but found that getting the mini is actually only 40 more, so it seemed a definite upgrade and a steal for the price. I would suggest getting a case for the back as it scratches, but also get the smart case via apple as it works a charm. I would recommend this as a cheapish upgrade from an iPod and for people who will be using this for recreational uses as the screen would be too small to do any business work on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would give it 5 stars, except I think they're overpriced like everything Apple. Unfortunately, other tablets just aren't as good, so I guess you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 13 Nov 2012
Its my first ever Apple device, I have always shyed away from them because of there lack of integration with non-apple products, however, I love the size of this and as I was thinking of getting an Ipod touch, I thought this would be better as not only it does all that the touch does, but the browsing experience because of the larger screen would be better. Its also very thin, but still feels solid.

I was alarmed at first because my private pictures were available to anyone on my device without them having to put in the passcode! - So watch out for that!

Its a pain that you can't really get anything off of the device without connecting to ITunes via USB, I know it says it does it via wifi, but if your computer is asleep, it wont connect and who leaves their computer on all the time?

The screen is an ideal size for me, I would prefer the retina display though as sometimes its a bit of a strain on the eyes on some web pages. However, for 90% of them its ideal and you can read them without having to scroll sideways.

Its a little bit difficult to hold. You can't really hold it in one hand and so typing is difficult if you do not have a stand for it, balancing it on your leg is very tricky.

The main disadvantage over a laptop is that as you are using the screen as a keyboard, your finger smudges mess up the display so you end up having to clean it at least once a day. I found the screen wipes do a great job though.

A case is essential to make it stand up and protect it as its very precarious without one.

I got the 32Gbyte but took it back and upgraded to 64Gbyte. Its a real pain that apple do not allow SD card for additional memory, so being stuck with 32Gbytes would not be enough for my music collection and photos.

The icloud is quite good and you can get a dropbox account to transfer files from your Android phone. I couldnt get the bluetooth to work with my phone, although it worked with Airport express for streaming and also my Chord bluetooth music streamer....

so the one star down is for the following reasons:

No expandable memory
Bluetooth not working all the time
Difficulty in getting files off of the ipad
Display not quite sharp enough for small typefaces on web pages

Must say though, battery life is very good, Oh and the new lightning socket at the bottom is a pain, you have to pay 25 for an apple adapter so that it will work with docks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple iPad Mini 32GB Wi-Fi (Black&Slate)
Used & New from: 275.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews