Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and off-beat
I really enjoyed this thriller. Like many foreign films that make it to DVD release in the UK, it really is worth checking out (as I did via Love Film). It's well plotted, well acted and has believable characters who carry the story and lend it a credibility that will stay in your mind. There's also a black sense of humour behind the plot that again the main players,...
Published on 10 Mar. 2013 by Jim 8888

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONE SICK MOTHER
And he's got one sick mother.Interesting little picture from the director of "rec".Slow burner and a movie to cuddle up to your partner late at night.Some good performances and definitely worth a watch.Psychological thriller more than horror but i found it fascinating and i think you will too.Cannot see where buying the blu ray would enhance the experience so stick to the...
Published on 9 Mar. 2013 by Vlad the emailer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and off-beat, 10 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this thriller. Like many foreign films that make it to DVD release in the UK, it really is worth checking out (as I did via Love Film). It's well plotted, well acted and has believable characters who carry the story and lend it a credibility that will stay in your mind. There's also a black sense of humour behind the plot that again the main players, including a teenage schoolgirl, pull off with aplomb. If you have enjoyed films like the French Tell No-one (Ne le dis a Personne) or Hidden (Cache) this is as good as the first and better than the second. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sleeping With The Enemy, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
The Co-Director of the first two [REC] films (Jaume Balaguero) presents us with this disturbing psychological horror which mostly takes place in a Barcelona Apartment building.
Cesar (Luis Tosar from 'Cell 211') is the caretaker with a chilling presence.A man who has failed to find happiness in his own life and so 'enjoys' inflicting his pain onto other people.
His attention is mainly focused on Clara (Marta Etura,also from 'Cell 211') the attractive thirtysomething resident with whom he has a friendly chat to every morning before she rushes out to work.
What Clara doesn't realize though is that each night she goes to sleep Cesar is only inches away from her,lying silently beneath her bed.
But this isn't the usual kind of stalking you may have seen in many other films of this type.Cesar feels no love and has no longing for this woman.He doesn't want to be with her for the rest of his life-but he does have a plan.
Unlike his previous outings Balaquero keeps us waiting for the gore to arrive,but when it does it is chillingly and shockingly horrific.
The dramatic conclusion to 'Sleep Tight' has left some viewers a little confused but believe me it does make sense.
I highly recommend this dark thriller from Spain, best to check under your bed afterwards though,just in case....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate 'check under your bed' Movie!, 13 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
Now then, we have a real gem on our hands here!

'Sleep Tight' is tense and twisted, funny and frightening and delivers the goods in a major way. Luis Tosar plays Cesar, a very depressed character who lives for making people as unhappy as him.

Tosar is supreme and hats off to Director, Jaume Balaguero who doesn't take the easy route of making Cesar a sterotypical 'baddy', but instead portrays a human (and it must be said witty) side to this most disturbed of men.

The detail of the plot doesn't need to be spelt out as you'll enjoy it all the more; what impressed me most though was the almost unbearable tension in a couple of key scenes. A difficult art, but masterfully executed. Because we know Cesar quite well by this point you find yourself rooting for him in an odd way....sounds crazy I know!

Perfectly paced, just the right level of 'action' and a class ending; I can't find fault with 'Sleep Tight' at all. I had to write this review to award the 5 stars and also for my own benefit; I wouldn't want to risk forgeting a great film like this!

There's so much more to 'Sleep Tight' than I could possibly write in a review; I just hope you find this useful and will be willing to give it a try as a result. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva la nutta..., 15 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: Sleep Tight (Amazon Instant Video)
Highly entertaining film with a cracking story and great suspense. Very different from the boring zombie fests. Twisting and turning with some good surprises along the way. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tosar creates a Fascinating Nightmare, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
'Sleep Tight' (Spanish: 'Mientras Duermes') is a Spanish psychological-horror thriller film that released in 2011 to a fantastic widespread response.

The movie centers around César (Luis Tosar) who is the head concierge in charge of a block of flats. The movie shows how he makes all the residents lives a misery in order to cure his unhappiness, which has been with him since birth.

The film starts in a calm manner indicating that we're in for a generic drama/thriller or something even less. Boy, was I wrong! The film gets creepy, sinister, weird and hits you on the head like a juggernaut. I was compelled with this fascinating cinema. The tension/suspense hits a high with so many twists. Combined with some humor, which oddly works, you're in for a thriller treat.

The feature only works because of Tosar's award-winning, vicious and disturbing performance. He became my favorite Spanish actor after his powerhouse acting in 'Celda 211' (Cell 211), which released in 2009. He does bad things in this movie, I mean really bad things, still you don't want him to get caught. The way he acts with his hypnotic eyes, the audience gets behind him, which shouldn't be the case ethically. In the end, like me, you'll end up being complicit in his crimes. That for me is a proper actor, one who has complete power and control over the audience (or just me). Marta Etura who is the lead actress, is beautiful and a joy to watch as the happy and innocent Clara. Another actor worth a mention is Iris Almeida who enacts the role of Ursula, the cheeky schoolgirl. She's Tosar's nemesis in the film. Their exchanges and mind games are a delightful watch.

The direction by Jaume Balagueró for me was of Hitchcockian style that flourishes. Some pivotal scenes have been executed with brilliance and leave a lasting impression.

There are negative points, first aspect is César's motives in what he does and to what lengths he goes to. I wasn't convinced with the extremities of his actions. The other point is the background music score by Lucas Vidal. The score sounded like you're watching a feel-good romantic comedy or something. In short, wrong kinda music, unless the makers were being intentionally deceiving for some reason.

'Mientras Duermes' is unsettling with a top villain making sure you'll never sleep tight again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impressively unsettling little sleeper that’s better seen than talked about, 27 Jun. 2015
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
It’s hard to talk about Spanish thriller Sleep Tight without giving too much away since it’s a film that draws much of its power from the way it slowly reveals its plot and motivations, but suffice it to say it’s the kind of film that Hammer’s misfired The Resident should have been, with a dash of Pacific Heights thrown in for good measure. Seen through the eyes of Luis Tosar’s concierge in an apartment building, it’s as much character study as thriller - it’s chills are of a slow burn nature, it’s shocks more sudden realisations that you’ve misinterpreted events by taking them at face value rather than moments to make you jump, though there is one terrifically tense set piece with one character locked in an apartment with an unwanted visitor and no key. The residents are the usual mixture: a lonely old lady and her dogs, an attractive young woman getting anonymous texts and letters, an enterprising and thoroughly evil blackmailer, the manager who is just looking for an excuse to fire him, and each in their way add to the unhappiness of a man who is unable to be happy himself and can only take comfort in the fact that others are equally unhappy. Jaume Balageuró’s direction eschews showy visuals and underplays in a way that manages to enhance the drama rather than making it disappear in an impressively unsettling little sleeper that’s better seen than talked about.

Sadly the UK Blu-ray and DVD releases have no extras - the US Blu-ray includes a 107-minute making of documentary, twelve minutes of deleted scenes and trailer - but has a good 2.35:1 widescreen transfer with burned-in unremoveable English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONE SICK MOTHER, 9 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
And he's got one sick mother.Interesting little picture from the director of "rec".Slow burner and a movie to cuddle up to your partner late at night.Some good performances and definitely worth a watch.Psychological thriller more than horror but i found it fascinating and i think you will too.Cannot see where buying the blu ray would enhance the experience so stick to the dvd.Buy if you like "Harry he's here to help" "lemming" and "cache (Hidden).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISERY LOVES COMPANY, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Cesar (Luis Tosar) is the concierge/super for an apartment building. He seems like a normal helpful person, however under it all he is not a people person. At night he has chloroform sex with Clara, an unsuspecting tenant. He confesses his misdeeds to his mother, who is bed ridden, unable to speak, only cry. He is also being blackmailed by a young girl (Iris Almeida) who espies him coming out of Clara's room (Marta Etura).

The film is not overly graphic and goes easy on the "perv" factor. You are drawn into the film to see how far Cesar will go to make everyone miserable. It is a well done production, unlike so many "B" films in this genre.

The film lacks any real good "B" horror. At the same time it is a "B" movie subject. I would imagine the niche is narrow for a fan base in this slow moving tale.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief sex, brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISERY LOVES COMPANY, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
Cesar (Luis Tosar) is the concierge/super for an apartment building. He seems like a normal helpful person, however under it all he is not a people person. At night he has chloroform sex with Clara, an unsuspecting tenant. He confesses his misdeeds to his mother, who is bed ridden, unable to speak, only cry. He is also being blackmailed by a young girl (Iris Almeida) who espies him coming out of Clara's room (Marta Etura).

The film is not overly graphic and goes easy on the "perv" factor. You are drawn into the film to see how far Cesar will go to make everyone miserable. It is a well done production, unlike so many "B" films in this genre.

The film lacks any real good "B" horror. At the same time it is a "B" movie subject. I would imagine the niche is narrow for a fan base in this slow moving tale.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief sex, brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISERY LOVES COMPANY, 5 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sleep Tight [DVD] (DVD)
Cesar (Luis Tosar) is the concierge/super for an apartment building. He seems like a normal helpful person, however under it all he is not a people person. At night he has chloroform sex with Clara, an unsuspecting tenant. He confesses his misdeeds to his mother, who is bed ridden, unable to speak, only cry. He is also being blackmailed by a young girl (Iris Almeida) who espies him coming out of Clara's room (Marta Etura).

The film is not overly graphic and goes easy on the "perv" factor. You are drawn into the film to see how far Cesar will go to make everyone miserable. It is a well done production, unlike so many "B" films in this genre.

The film lacks any real good "B" horror. At the same time it is a "B" movie subject. I would imagine the niche is narrow for a fan base in this slow moving tale.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief sex, brief nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleep Tight [DVD]
Sleep Tight [DVD] by Jaume Balagueró (DVD - 2013)
£6.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews