Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a very clever little film; a modern interpretation of an old Scandinavian folk tale about another race of fey woodland folk who live alongside humans, but are seldom seen.

Except it's not told from that perspective at all. Instead it starts out like a fairly standard schlock-horror movie, with two young lads cleaning up crime scenes (and one of them losing his lunch at the sight and smell of the gore). They go to the next scene in a remote forest location... totally isolated... uncover a secret subterranean complex underneath an old cabin... inside which lurks...
Ah. Not telling. You've got to watch it to find out.
The story then shifts from predictable Hollywood axe-murder horror to something far more subtle and rewarding. There are some truly tense moments (the cassette recorder playback scene had me squeaking), and the odd splatter of violence. But there's also some subtly snarky humour, and some genuinely affecting moments of quiet human connection.
Thale doesn't overstay its welcome, so it's quite short. The visual effects are obviously low-budget and a bit hinky, but they suit the overall weird / freaky / oddness of it all (as does the foreign language dialogue: be aware that this is subtitled in English).

A totally unexpected gem of a B-movie.
8/10
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Enjoyable low-budget romp through the Norwegian mythological undergrowth, with a few twists to the tail as well... The plot's a bit creaky at times, and the camera-work is not the best either, but that doesn't detract from the film at all. I also enjoyed the wonderful Troll Hunter [Blu-ray] and that's also low-budget, but brilliant. Thale is quite a different film to Troll Hunter, but is still a whole lot of fun. I won't give away any of the plot, but it is quite suspenseful and will keep you on the edge of your seat at times. Well worth a watch if you like something a bit different.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
if you're looking for special effects and Hollywood glitz, then I guess you'll be disappointed, but if you want to watch something with a little more depth, then give this a go. The two main characters really make this work; cleaner-uppers of crime scenes and body parts, one is so weak stomached, the contents of his lunch make more than a cameo appearance, and the other is a silent gum chewer with more issues than a therapist's note pad. Enter the mysterious, mythical young woman they find while searching a dead man's secret underground hidey hole. I didn't fully understand it all.. maybe some elements are lost in translation.. or maybe you need to know something about Norwegion folk law and the "huldrer" who live secretly in the forests. It's not really a horror but I did have to sit further away from the screen on occasions just in case something jumped out at me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
At first I was rather put off by the Horror label this is NOT a horror but it is a bit 'sit on the edge of your seat is something going to pop out at me' tense at times. I am a notorious scaredy cat and I really enjoyed this, after the initial slow start I got hooked. There were some questions at the end like how come a bath kept Thale so different from her sisters? but they evaporated when I remembered this is a fantasy and some things are better not being fully explained. This is apparently low budget like 'Ink' a film I watched yesterday and while quite different I really appreciate the extra work writers and film makers have to go through to tell their stories convincingly without super fx. Actually having said that the CGI in this is good and believable(mostly) and I enjoyed the relationship between the two lead male characters developing on screen and Silja who plays Thale is great she is magnetic and terrifying at one moment and lost little girl at the other.
In conclusion I would recommend this film to anyone who likes films that make you think and its a shame they had a small budget as I suspect the vision of this film could have been further explored and been even better. Having said that I am discovering I like low budget films here on Amazon.
Just watch it give it time to warm up this is a nice little mystery fantasy and it is so worth watching, you'll feel like you found a hidden Gem....hopefully!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Leo (Jon Sigve Skard) sometimes called Ray, operates a cleaning service for crime/death scenes. He is aided by Elvis (Erlend Nervold) who has a sensitive stomach. While on a clean up, they discover a hidden basement and a girl mysteriously alive. She is naked and does not speak.

From a flashback from a drone narration we know she was found and cared for by the dead Norwegian who lived there.

The film is an interesting concept. The characters started out interesting, but then became more boring as the film went along. Too much of the film is spent in the basement trying to unravel a mystery. The film has blood and some killing, but I would consider it more akin to sci-fi fantasy than horror.

This film is not for everyone.

Parental Guide: Nudity. No sex or f-bombs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
This is described as a horror movie, but it isn't at all. It's a quiet, haunting fantasy about creatures from Nordic folklore, forest creatures that appear to be beautiful women. It's low-budget, but very atmospheric with a fairytale feel to it. A very unusual, lovely little film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
After a first viewing - a lovely film, very strange, celebrating the unusual, the obscure. A film with a heart. I felt that the first part where they were trying to fathom the situation went on a bit too long and a bit samey, but generally this was a breath of fresh air and utterly devoid of the common denominator factors of mainstream film-making and marketing.

More sci-fi than horror actually. Personally, I would have liked more emphasis on the supernatural and mystical, rather than the science fiction, although the sci-fi did bring in a powerful conflict.

Well-acted and intriguing. One to watch again. Very atmospheric and artfully made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Interesting, well-acted, refreshingly low-key. Beautiful forests, weird creatures and two puzzled central characters. It won't appeal to fans of stupid American blood fests because it requires a little thought.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
This is the second Scandi film I've watched which focuses on myths and legends - the first was Trollhunter, also excellent. It's slow at first but really builds up the pace in the way old-school thrillers do. The cinematography is beautiful, lovely colours and shots. The acting is also superb. The only thing I didn't like was the super close up of someone blowing chunks in the first five seconds. Other than that, brilliant, and well worth a watch!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Makes one want a longer woodland elf version deep in a scandinavian landscape. Or similar type of film inthat genre.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)