Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2013
As usual, you get good value for money with this maxi-single release from Neil and Chris. Best track for me is the New Mix of Memory of the Future, however final track Inside is also a powerful new composition, while the balladic Listening makes a nice change from the frenetic pace of the CD, although it's fairly forgettable too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Bought both CD singles over a week ago but only just got around to listening to it last night (and I've been a PSB fan for 25 years)... The remix of the single is OK but I much prefer the album version, the real stand out track is 'Listening' not as epic as the version by Morten Harket but sung with a bit more sincerity by Neil, 'One Night' is probably a 'grower' as is 'Inside'... they don't hook you instantly but they aren't poor B-sides either, and that might well be the trouble with PSB today. There seems to be no real passion. The CD of Remixes are OK (Will ANYONE actually listen to them more than once?)...the strongest mixes are the Digital Dog Club and Dub mixes. Looking back over the singles released from the album (I presume this will be the last), the B-sides have been pretty damn good in most cases, but this will not be looked back upon as a 'Classic' PSB period.

This single has failed even to make it into the UK Top 100 chart. The writing was on the wall with the release of 'Winner' as the first single from the album, whomever PSB take advise from as regards songs for contention as singles should be fired, any chance of the album or singles from it being a 'hit' went right out the window with the release of 'Winner'. The packaging is again the cheap card slip sleeve but at least this time they are embossed with a glossy coating over parts with tiny 'cut-out' 'arrows' and 'crosses'. Oh!, and PSB fans who give everything a 5 star review... please BE HONEST, is this 'True Faith' by New Order rip-off really up there with 'West End Girls' 'Being Boring' etc ???
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
As ever, the best PSB singles are defined by the extra tracks. Why some of them never make it onto their studio albums, I will never fathom out. Trust me, these three are good. Unusually for Neil Tennant, they sound personal and NOT gloomy, for a change. Listening is a slow-paced ballad for a friend in trouble, distinguished by a lovely arrangement, interesting beats and sounds One Night is one of the boys' quieter clubbing songs ("Tonight could last forever/tonight you're one half of together") and sounds like it features some manly electric guitar from Neil. The piano-led closer Inside recalls Your Funny Uncle for me, and is a tender riposte to the ageing process in a loved one. The re-recording of MOTF is quite snappy compared to the version on Elysium, but I was never that much of a fan of the album version anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Learned long ago that any time the Pet Shop Boys offer a cd single with bonus tracks, it is worth the price. They know how to satisfy the long-time fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I know a great many people like this but for me, there was something lacking. I still enjoy it & I guess, that's what mattersas it's the PSB, you can't go wrong
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Once again PSB supply a single with extra tracks to keep thier single releases a thing of interest and well worth the money of a physcial release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
always love the pet shop boys. this is a great single. the other three tracks are fab too. good buy. recommend it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
This was bought as a present an really like playing it. If u like this type of music then it would be nice 2 have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
PET SHOP BOYS FOR EVER! GOOD JOB! THIS IS THE SECOND PERFECT SONG FROM THE ALBUM ELYSIUM BUT WITHOUT VIDEOCLIP!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Great value EP from the synth duo. Some brilliant tracks on this cd, and the artwork as ever is sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.73
£4.55
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)