Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money. Some interesting ideas.
More of an essay than a full blown book, but clear and direct writing style. All of the ideas seem workable. as a martial artist it made me think and pick up a few ideas. A great start but feels like there is scope for expanding it. Took about half an hour to read. I recommend it strongly, and liked it a lot.
Published 22 months ago by Simon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good summary and staring point
I found this to be an interesting starting point for further research and considerations of the topic, albeit a little light and more like a long essay than a 'book'
Mr Mayhem makes a number of very valid points regarding what most folks are likely to be willing to do, and also bashes home the message about carrying weaponry in the highly-policed Western world...
Published 6 months ago by Lucas Pitcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money. Some interesting ideas., 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
More of an essay than a full blown book, but clear and direct writing style. All of the ideas seem workable. as a martial artist it made me think and pick up a few ideas. A great start but feels like there is scope for expanding it. Took about half an hour to read. I recommend it strongly, and liked it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great info!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
We do live in violent times and there are people out there who will do us harm! The author recommends we arm ourselves with everyday objects that can be used as a weapon rather than an actual weapon, and I can see the wisdom in this. As I braved the mean streets of my local town on new years eve, I was about to discard my cigar tin, but after slamming the edge into my palm a couple of times I decided to keep hold of it and did feel more safe on the street at 2 am! Thanks Johnny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as research, enjoyed as content, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
I bought this well-priced little tome as research for my own fiction (<a href="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Worked-Gabe-Rayner-Mark-Charteris-ebook/dp/B00JIVA44E">as Mark Charteris</a>) and ended up reading it cover to cover.

Pluses: it's well structured, first defining the classes of hand-to-hand weaponry and the basic grips and attacks, then going into detail about what objects can double as weapons, mostly bludgeon-type blunt instruments. There are numerous legal warnings about how the book is for information only, but no sensible reader will ever use these techniques for anything other than desperate situations where they're under attack; it's just useful to know what may be used against you. (The author seems to have experience on both sides of the Atlantic, mentioned the "Millwall Brick" popular in the 80s.)

Overall, an entertaining read at a fine price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
I was looking for information on self defense in a wtshtf scenario, this really fits the bill. If you are in any situation and need to defend yourself and your family but don't or can't (for legal reasons or choice) carry a weapon, this book gives a great insight into what everyday objects can be used effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good summary and staring point, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Lucas Pitcher "LJPitcher" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be an interesting starting point for further research and considerations of the topic, albeit a little light and more like a long essay than a 'book'
Mr Mayhem makes a number of very valid points regarding what most folks are likely to be willing to do, and also bashes home the message about carrying weaponry in the highly-policed Western world.
Overall, a god start - recommended for anyone without any experience or training in this field, and as a reminder and thought-provoker for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 1 Mar 2014
By 
S. YENDLE (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Quite an interesting book (obviously made for the US).
Being from the UK, it is still an interesting read.
Well worth the cost.
Quite a list of 'everyday' items to use for defence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Actually quite informative i was expecting a boring old type of picture diagra, But thera is a lot of useful information in here!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stating the obvious for some, 10 May 2014
By 
Tony (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
For me most of this guide was extremely basic indeed.
I personally was not surprised at any of the improvised weapons that were
suggested.
If you have never watch a violent American Movie or any TV this is for you...
If you have led a privileged life, went to university then on to a high flying career in the City this is for you.
For most part it was Blatantly obvious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting if not useful, 14 July 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
This is not an expensive book and more of a novelty read for me, however it is informative as well as being entertaining and if you have the slightest interest in this topic I think it is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revision, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Knowledge, life experience
Liked the 'discussion text' nature
Links are fine,kept the paranoia down. Thanks a lot respect to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews