Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars139
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2013
I've been looking for a good urban fantasy series as I'm up to date on my Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs, and I have to say, I was really pleased when I came across this series last night.

Rylee Adamson is a Tracker, she finds the lost children when other people can't. This case hits too close to Rylee's past and it changes her world irrevocably. Friends become distant, enemies become allies and time is fast running out.

Rylee herself is driven. I like her fierceness and courage.

I immediately downloaded Book 2 in the series. Would have read Book 3, but it was 2 am!

I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a fun read to lose themselves in for a few hours.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
I happened on this book while checking out the kindle store, the cost of the book swayed me to some extent, in the end I just couldn't put it down until it was finished, then went back and bought the other 3! I cant wait to start the second book 'Immune'.
I'll definitely be reading Shannon's books from now on.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Rylee Adamson is a Tracker which means she helps to find lost children, usually when the cases have a supernatural element. She is also stalked by a cop who thinks she killed her sister. In this book she is trying to find a missing child.

Things I liked:

- The book is well expressed and easy to read

- Rylee was quite a likeable heroine, maybe just a bit too kick ass and not quite enough quirks and vulnerabilities, but still she did not annoy me or seem unbelievable.

- Alex! Loved Alex and the take on werewolves. I want an Alex.

- Interesting backstory for Rylee

Reservations

- Some grammar and punctuation errors, mainly with its and it's! Tut tut.

- We were supposed to like O'Shea and accept him as a love interest, but he was a bit of a stalker. Not convinced that a balanced, non-rapey bloke would act like that, or that he would have time to follow around a cold case suspect constantly and hold down his job. Not much going on with him in this book other than the inappropriate stalking, but I got the sense he would develop as a character.

- The plot development and information giving was a bit ham handed at times. Very quickly you were given all the backstory about the sister and information about everything. I think there would've been room for some more tantalising revealing of information, to get us guessing and wanting to know more.

A good book, definitely worth a read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
I really rather enjoyed this. There wasn't anything startlingly new or exceptional about it, but it was a fun read. It did twist a few of the mythological creatures in interesting ways. There were both day and night vampire, for example, and werewolves (at least her werewolf) seemed closer to a domesticated dog than a wolf or a man. But it all added a little flair.

I did wonder, with so very many mythological creatures running about, how no one noticed. And/or why was Mr. FBI guy suddenly able to see them? The editing could use one more pass, though comparatively, it really wasn't bad. The characters were a little underdeveloped (for example, Mr. FBI guy inferred that he never trusts a partner, but we have no idea why) and the plot was fairly point and shoot, with a lot left skimmed over (for example, after investigating/stalking her for 10 years Rylee and Mr. FBI guy seemed to have no animosity toward one another) but all in all, I had fun with it. I looked into the sequel. Probably would have bought it if my book budget wasn't so tight. Maybe I can find someone to borrow it from.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love coming across a new author in a genre I enjoy; I enjoy it even more when the first book hooks me in and I find I've stumbled across an established series that offers plenty more adventures. SM is exactly this type of author. Her supernatural world is peopled by a growing cast of interesting characters, leading lady Rylee is a feisty heroine on a mission, and despite all the action, there is a clear romance developing; although this in no way ever impedes the flow of action as Rylee faces death in a gung-ho fashion on an almost daily basis.

As a Tracker, Rylee can find anyone dead or alive; as long as they remain in the mortal realm and haven't been whisked through The Veil that separates oblivious mortals from the supernatural. The only person Rylee has never been able to find is her missing sister; snatched from a playground over a decade ago. Even now Liam O'Shea; the FBI agent who worked the case, thinks she's guilty of murder and has a tendency to hound her whilst she's on a salvage (code name for the rescue of an abducted child).

This is a dark gritty urban fantasy adventure, which heavy emphasis on the adventure. The scene is set well and key figures well established, but left with enough secrets and hidden motivations to make you want to steam roll your way through this series (I did - I'm taking a breather after reading the first 4 books back-to-back). Rylee is just the type of heroine I love; feisty, stubborn, stupidly loyal to those she loves and someone you definitely want on your side when you're in a fight.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
I was hesitant to buy this book due to the cover. But I gave in as it was ranked pretty high in the US Amazon charts. And I wasn't disappointed. The storyline was great and the heroine was kick-ass cool with great comebacks and attitude. The supporting characters were brilliant as well and I cannot wait for the sequel. If you like J. A. Saare's Rhiannon's Laws Series and Darynda Jones' Charley Davidson Series, you'll like this one too.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
The werewolf idea was somewhat unique and I still can't decide whether I liked it or not. The FBI element didn't really work for me but it has potential for development. As for the best friend, I really didn't like her at all. In fact the characters in general didn't generate much compassion from me. The story was entertaining and had a few twists and turns that kept me reading till the end. I'm not sure if I'll read any further in the series anytime soon but it's on my potentials list so I haven't completely ruled it out. I think it was the ending that left me wanting but it's certainly worth a look for fans of urban fantasy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
OMG Fab new find!!!

I read very fast and go through my books like an addict ... Ok so books are my vice sue me ... Better yet start reading this series! It's absolutely brilliant!!

I ran out of new books and series to read from all 30 of my fav authors. So I started to look at series that are in amazon or reader review recommendations based on my purchases. Some series from new authors started out well but by the third book some fell to poor standard same old same old plots, lines, phrases and scenes ... Which for a reader like me who like to run through a whole series back to back just meant reading blah blah blah.

But Rylee Adamson series like Jane Yellowrock and the few others I have listed is fab reading! Tried the first one which was a bit hard going, but I took the advice of the reviewers and got pass the first few chapters ... After that it flew by!

Supernaturals, myths, actions, twists, plots, romance, tragedy, soul mates and so much more is in these books. And yes you do need to read this series in order else it won't give you as good a read.

Well written, of course e-book errors are present .... But this is true of all ebooks I have bought and it doesn't detract from the enjoyment, written with humour and all that jazz and sizzles and heart pounding involvement when you read a good book and it draws you in.

I'm not giving the low down on the books' contents or their characters because all that is in previous reviews and book summaries.

I'm writing this review to endorse this new series I have found! I'm writing the review here and not in the 5th book because this is where the majority of readers will make a decision to buy and read this series or not.

Read these!! You won't regret it .... You'll just lack sleep like me!! Lol. Enjoy and thank you Ms SM! You've got yourself a new fan ... Can you write any faster?! I'm on the last available book!! ;) xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
A great read from start to finish can't wait to read the next book.the story just flows together just great I like all the characters just couldn't put the book down ..........
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Very good, hooked from the start. The story is fast moving and the plot has a lot more to give, hence I am off to download the next instalment XXXX
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.